We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF Time Was Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn

Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn
N2009 S Lake Shore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
+1 262-248-5680
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 80 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Discover extraordinary cuisine at the Grandview Restaurant and Lounge.Savor a breathtaking, panoramic view of Geneva Lake and experience delicious combinations of texture, flavor and aroma.The Chefs at The Grandview Restaurant and Lounge take great pride in the process by which excellent food is created. Recognizing that quality of ingredients is paramount in the achievement of spectacular cuisine, we use nothing but the best and freshest available. LIVE Music every Friday and Saturday night, and Sunday Brunch.BREAKFAST: Monday - Saturday 7:30am - 10amLUNCH: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pmDINNER: Monday - Saturday from 5pmDINNER: Sunday - from 4pmSUNDAY BRUNCH: 10:30am - 2pm
Lake Forest, IL
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“IF Time Was Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Four friends meet for lunch every year in Lake Geneva. This year's stop at the Grandview Restaurant proved to be a disappointment. The restaurant name was authentic enough; we had a very "grand view". The event was downhill from there. Upon being seated at about 12:45 pm , we waited about 15 minutes to get menus. Our waitress seemed quite surprised by this. After our orders were taken, we waited about 45 minutes for 2 Cobb salads and 2 crab cakes. We even asked our waitress if our order was coming out soon, but then waited an additional 8 minutes for the food to reach our table! During our waiting time, we asked for a coffee and water refill and then later decided to go to the serving station to get coffee and pour our own. There was no apology, so we assume that this standard operating procedure since there were many waitresses walking about. The food was okay, but nothing special; it was a little pricey for what we received. We were happy to have a year's worth of catching up to do to occupy our time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your dining experience at The Grandview Restaurant. We are truly sorry that our service was not the quality you expected and deserved, and we will continue to strive to provide great service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Overall Experience Not Quite Up To The Level Of The Grand View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had dinner there on a recent weeknight. Service was attentive and accomodating. We enjoyed drinks on the patio as the sun moved toward the horizon and truly appreciated the great view. Weather was a little warm for dining outside so we moved indoors and were promptly seated at a nice table by the window. Venetian blinds of tinted material reduced glare. My dining partner requested an additional glass of wine and the waiter happily agreed to split it between two glasses for us.

The soup of the day was a puree of sweet potato with jalapeno pepper was good. A Caesar salad came with creamy Caesar dressing, lettuce and thinly sliced cheese but no croutons. I had the New Zealand lamb chops and they were good. The chops were accompanied by garlic mashed potatoes and what were described on the menu as Spring vegetables but were actually more like Autumn root vegetables. My partner had a dinner portion of the Caesar with grilled chicken on top. The chicken was prepared with a peppery preparation that was not unpleasant.

Despite being assured that our patio drinks would appear on our dinner bill, we had to ask the waiter to adjust the bill so as to add the drinks.

The view from the patio as well as the dining room is indeed "Grand" and the food is fine but I would not describe it as a truly memorable meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you! We appreciate your kind comments about our service, food and ambiance.
We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' dining experience and our menu changes with the seasons, so please join us again to see what the chefs are featuring now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch and magnificent scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The service (by Tanya) was excellent! We 4 had the Shrimp Tacos and they were delicious!
The special lemonade cake, suggested by Tanya, was delectable!! The dining room has large picture windows facing Geneva Lake--magnificent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review!
We are so glad you enjoyed the meal, and we will again feature Shrimp Tacos on our new lunch menu... coming soon!
If you sign up for our email specials (the link is on our website and also on our facebook page) we will send you the new lunch menu when it is ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norridge, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have a condo at the Cove of Lake Geneva and always try to have dinner at the Grandview whenever we are in town. Over the years, we have met many of the staff and have always had a wonderful time thanks in great part to them. The food is fantastic, the ambience is so relaxing and elegant, the views are so beautiful and the people from the Grandview are first class! Having dinner at the Grandview is a must!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are truly blessed to have so many regular and loyal guests!
We love our professions, and making guests happy is our pleasure.
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“elegant and exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Terrific service and excellently prepared and presented meals. A real treat

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you! We appreciate your kind comments about your dining experience at The Grandview Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn also viewed

Lake Geneva, WI
 

Been to Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Restaurant at The Geneva Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.