We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Valentine's day visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geneva Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Geneva Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geneva Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   W4240 Hwy 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Lodge at Geneva Ridge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Ridge Savings - 15% off
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pre Valentine's day visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night at the hotel in early February. It was extremely cold when we were there so we really couldn't take advantage of any of the outdoor activities they have available. They have an ice rink and will lend you cross country skis if you want them, but again, way tool cold to be outside.

Overall we thought it was a very nice place. We had a lakeview King. The bed was very comfortable and as other people had mentioned, it looked as if the bathroom had just been remodeled. The TV was a little small and they didn't give you a channel guide. We didn't watch much TV, but when we tried we couldn't find any of the channels as they must have some kind of satellite with many channels and several that are repeated etc. Our stay was marred a little by very inconsiderate members of Christian Women's group who stayed up talking, very loudly, until about midnight. Not the hotels fault.

In the morning, I went down to the hot tub. The pool/hot tub area is very nice. Its very clean and modern with nice tile etc. We also had drinks in the bar overlooking the lake. The drinks seemed a bit expensive but I kind of expect that at a resort.

We did not eat at the resort, we went into town to the Baker House hotel, which was very interesting. Go if you get a chance

We had never been to Lake Geneva even though we only live a couple hours away near Chicago, of course many things were closed due to the time of year, but we were still able to do some shopping and siteseeing (in the car). We definitely want to come back in the summer and fall (I think the leaves will be amazing in the fall)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Geneva Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You'll love our outdoor patio and fire feature. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    35
    29
    17
See reviews for
46
98
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in mid-November, a quick getaway before the holidays. My first impression was that the hotel seemed old. The hallways had an overwhelming smell of bleach, which I assume was from the pool. Our room was a lakeside king. The decor was fine, kind of an "up north" theme. The bathroom seemed a bit newer than the rest of the room, but there were areas where the wall seemed stained (looked like mildew). It seemed like the room would benefit greatly from some new carpet, new window dressings, and a fresh coat of paint. As it was, it just seemed kind of dark and dingy.

The first evening, we stopped at the hotel bar for a drink after returning from dinner. The bar was nearly empty, but it was off-season and a Monday, so that wasn't particularly surprising. Bartender seemed friendly, but we were the only ones in the bar and figured he wanted to close up, so we left after one drink. We visited the bar again the following day for happy hour. As he handed us our bill, the bartender made sure to inform us of what our drinks would have cost without the happy hour special; I realize some people might not account for that when they tip, but I just thought it was a little tacky (thought the generous tip we left him the evening before would have signaled that we understand the concept of tipping). Anyway, it wasn't a huge deal.

I wasn't impressed with the workout facilities; since the hotel was somewhat deserted, I think it would be nice to offer guests the opportunity to use the workout facilities at sister hotel the Inns of Geneva National. I asked about this at the front desk, but they declined. The girl at the front desk wasn't initially sure whether this was permitted, so she poked her head into the office right behind the front desk to ask her manager. He told her no, and she came back to inform usI do understand that it could be detrimental to have different policies for the busy season vs. off-season; I just thought it would have been easier to accept if the manager had taken the time to walk five steps and explain this to us himself.

I have a feeling the overall experience would have been better if we came here during the warm months, when we could have used some of Geneva Ridge's outdoor facilities. They handed us a newsletter upon check-in, but since it was off-season, there really wasn't much for them to report. The whole place just felt a little depressing during this slow time of year, making it a so-so experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Geneva Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are in the planning stages of some very exciting renovations. We take all guest comments seriously so we can continue to provide unique and inspiring offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for New Years eve as well as the following two weeks after. We had heard good things about the resort and found our experience to be positive as well. Due to our length in stay we ran into some small inconsistencies, we meet with Todd the General manager and he was guick to correct the stuation. We now have our daughters wedding booked with them and it is going smoothly as well. This property is showing some great improvements, renovations are beautiful, and their commitment to service excellence is what is keeping us coming back. This property has a lot to offer for families, couples and business travelers. Thank you, we are looking forward to a beautiful wedding and a great stay this summer.

Room Tip: Their suites are very roomy and two have kitchens in them. Well worth the little extra you pay to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I LOVE THIS PLACE! The staff was great, rooms were clean! I went to the outdoor bar they have twice while I was there! Such fun! The manager,I think his name was Ryan..great leader! and the young man was very genuine,the world could use more people like him! I will be returning in July


5 stars!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Geneva Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your enjoyment of Geneva Ridge Resort. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Todd Baior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've stayed here on several occasion over the past few years. I was very disappointed this time. The New Years Eve packaged was advertised to include the room, dinner, drinks, and entertainment. When it came time to check out they added a whole lot of hidden fees (resort fees, service charges, gratuities, etc.) and charges not included in the package price. The staff were extremely uncooperative. There was a line of other surprised unhappy guest at the front desk at check out. This place is rip off. Visiting Lake Geneva???? Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Geneva Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Jon,
Thank you for your comments. Like most resorts our front line price does not reflect taxes, resort fee or gratuity for special events. We appreciate that you have enjoyed staying with us in the past and hope that reconsider again staying with us in the future.
Todd Baior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I recently stayed at Geneva Ridge with a group of friends. We all had a great time. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We can't wait to come back in the summertime and enjoy the beautiful pool area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Geneva Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Courtney, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your weekend at Geneva Ridge. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Todd Baior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We decided to plan a girls weekend in Lake Geneva in November and our stay at Geneva Ridge was great! The room was spacious, beds were comfortable and clean, there was a mini fridge for convienence, and we had a great view of Lake Como.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Geneva Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you in the Spring.
Todd Baior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Geneva Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Ridge Resort

Address: W4240 Hwy 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Lodge at Geneva Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#5 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Geneva Ridge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneva Ridge Resort welcomes you to enjoy all that Lake Geneva, Wisconsin has to offer at our full service resort. Managed by and in partnership with Geneva National Golf Club, we offer you beautifully appointed guest rooms, modern meeting and banquet space, creative wedding rooms, a full service spa, indoor & outdoor pools, access to our marina and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Geneva Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Geneva Ridge Hotel Lake Geneva
Hotel At Geneva Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geneva Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.