We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and amenities for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Geneva Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Geneva Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Geneva Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   W4240 Hwy 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Lodge at Geneva Ridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
1 review
“Great place and amenities for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were looking for a place to have a short getaway not too far from home. Came across a groupon for the Geneva ridge resort for an inexpensive price. The room was very up to date very clean, beds were comfortable. The pool a decent size, TV, DVD player and fridge everything we needed. The only problem we discovered was there were water bugs in our room which we discovered that morning we were leaving not one or two, but 7. When we called the front desk no answer let the phone rings more that 15 times on more than one occasion. When we checked out we notified the front desk of the bugs the receptionist simply apologized, no eye contact what so ever then simply said your all set!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    73
    45
    36
    20
See reviews for
55
112
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was there for a 5 day convention and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The front desk staff was a delight to speak to. The bar and restaurant areas are well constructed. The wait staff was extremely courteous and helpful.

The room itself was great, as it had touches that went the extra mile: in room safe, craftsman style woodwork, solid wood crafted furniture (compared to particle board veneer), stone countertop for the vanity, tiled shower surround, etc. The bed and couch were fluffy and comfortable.

I didn't go try the pool or workout area, but the pool looked huge and was constantly in use. There was about 2 feet of snow outside, so I wasn't able to walk around the extensive outside areas behind the hotel.

Really the only negative about the place that I could come up with, was the side entry doors were unlocked. Meaning someone not staying at the hotel could come in and walk around the hotel without having to pass through the main entrance - possible security risk.

Beyond that, I loved the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was on a girls weekend escape and thought we would stay here again as the last time we were here it was recently under new management. The check in was efficient and we were very happy with our rooms. The pool and hot tub were great as usual. We checked out the dinner menu and it was very blah, not much variety, and very unimagitive so we went and ate elsewhere in town. We came back to the hotel as we were informed that there was live music only to find a very depressed old man playing horrible saxaphone music. The more he drank the more he hit on us and was kind of creepy so again we decided to go elsewhere. Keypads on the ouside entry doors would be a plus for when returning after hours. We needed some extra towels on Sunday morning and housekeeping brought them to us very quickly and our checkout was efficient as well. Overall the hotel is very nice, just some of the additional services need to be tweaked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

At first I was excited about the hotel when we walked in. The lobby is very inviting and looks like a lodge. However when we went down to our room on the first floor, it felt like we had just walked into a whole different hotel. The carpet looked dated and was coming off of the floor, the ceiling tiles looked like they were caked in dust, the outside doors were not secured, and the heaters in the stairwell were caked in dust. The housekeeping was not up to par. The room was not vacuumed, our supplies were not replenished and nothing was wiped down. The only thing they did was change our linens and towels, and emptied out our garbage. When we went to the bar to eat for lunch the service was terrible. We waited forever just to get drinks and our food. There were lots of staff but only one of them was serving. They made it seem like they had a whole other room full of people, but when we looked in there there wasn't anyone in there. Did not find this place relaxing and the staff seemed unprofessional and numb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a great overnight "parent" escape at Geneva Ridge in Feb 2013. Rooms very clean. Great location. Could have spent a couple of nights here. Would also come with the kids using interconnecting rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend at the Ridge Resort and enjoyed it. There is plenty to do even in the winter months.

Im guess its beautiful in the summer.

Only real complaint that could be fixed would be too offer breakfast or somthing to eat on week days even a muffin to buy to go with the free coffee would of been great. The only other problems deal with the property being older (pool was a little dirty, hallway noise was loud, could add keyed entrace on doors) but there was plenty of staff always around working and fixing stuff.

Like i said no real problems but plenty of good. I heard the food in the resturant was good. The bar friday night was fun and very very entertaining /one guy singing and lots of people dancing. There is a little game room always a plus. The spa seemed nice, i didnt use it but seen many happy people. The ice rink out front looked awesome at night and if we had our skates would of skated and got some great pictures. The pool was nice, the hot tub was big, the pool bathroom was very nice, they have a sauna (never really hot but we also never asked if they could turn it up) and the steam room (not sure if thats what its called) was awesome!! I spent a lot of time in there

The rooms where nice, kind of wished my two bed room would of been queens instead of doubles but it was fine.

Overall we where happy with the stay and the kids had fun. I would like to check it out in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I purchased a Groupon for a stay at Geneva Ridge Resort on Valentine's Day weekend. The hotel is conveniently located between Lake Geneva and Williams Bay.

My wife and I were greeted by friendly staff at the front desk and check-in was was quick and easy. Our room was nice with all of the typical amenities (king bed, couch, table) and a third-floor view of Lake Como. The bathroom was updated with a very modern, upscale design. My only complaints are that there were no instructions on how to use the DVD player (which I eventually figured out) and the DVD remote had no batteries. Also, when the heat in the room turned on it was VERY loud.

With the Groupon, we received a 20% coupon for the spa which we used for massages. The spa was a bit cramped and outdated, but offered a full menu of services and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did not eat at the on-site restaurant, but did use a $25 dining credit (which also came with the Groupon) for room service breakfast. The food was fresh and arrived quickly.

We definitely enjoyed our stay at Geneva Ridge and would certainly recommend staying there. We have already talked about returning with the kids so they can enjoy the large indoor pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Geneva Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Ridge Resort

Address: W4240 Hwy 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Lodge at Geneva Ridge)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Geneva Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneva Ridge Resort welcomes you to enjoy all that Lake Geneva, Wisconsin has to offer at our full service resort. Managed by and in partnership with Geneva National Golf Club, we offer you beautifully appointed guest rooms, modern meeting and banquet space, creative wedding rooms, a full service spa, indoor & outdoor pools, access to our marina and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Geneva Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Geneva Ridge Hotel Lake Geneva
Hotel At Geneva Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geneva Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.