We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of ruined the trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Geneva Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Geneva Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Geneva Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   W4240 Hwy 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Lodge at Geneva Ridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kind of ruined the trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

At first I was excited about the hotel when we walked in. The lobby is very inviting and looks like a lodge. However when we went down to our room on the first floor, it felt like we had just walked into a whole different hotel. The carpet looked dated and was coming off of the floor, the ceiling tiles looked like they were caked in dust, the outside doors were not secured, and the heaters in the stairwell were caked in dust. The housekeeping was not up to par. The room was not vacuumed, our supplies were not replenished and nothing was wiped down. The only thing they did was change our linens and towels, and emptied out our garbage. When we went to the bar to eat for lunch the service was terrible. We waited forever just to get drinks and our food. There were lots of staff but only one of them was serving. They made it seem like they had a whole other room full of people, but when we looked in there there wasn't anyone in there. Did not find this place relaxing and the staff seemed unprofessional and numb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    48
    36
    20
See reviews for
56
115
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a great overnight "parent" escape at Geneva Ridge in Feb 2013. Rooms very clean. Great location. Could have spent a couple of nights here. Would also come with the kids using interconnecting rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend at the Ridge Resort and enjoyed it. There is plenty to do even in the winter months.

Im guess its beautiful in the summer.

Only real complaint that could be fixed would be too offer breakfast or somthing to eat on week days even a muffin to buy to go with the free coffee would of been great. The only other problems deal with the property being older (pool was a little dirty, hallway noise was loud, could add keyed entrace on doors) but there was plenty of staff always around working and fixing stuff.

Like i said no real problems but plenty of good. I heard the food in the resturant was good. The bar friday night was fun and very very entertaining /one guy singing and lots of people dancing. There is a little game room always a plus. The spa seemed nice, i didnt use it but seen many happy people. The ice rink out front looked awesome at night and if we had our skates would of skated and got some great pictures. The pool was nice, the hot tub was big, the pool bathroom was very nice, they have a sauna (never really hot but we also never asked if they could turn it up) and the steam room (not sure if thats what its called) was awesome!! I spent a lot of time in there

The rooms where nice, kind of wished my two bed room would of been queens instead of doubles but it was fine.

Overall we where happy with the stay and the kids had fun. I would like to check it out in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I purchased a Groupon for a stay at Geneva Ridge Resort on Valentine's Day weekend. The hotel is conveniently located between Lake Geneva and Williams Bay.

My wife and I were greeted by friendly staff at the front desk and check-in was was quick and easy. Our room was nice with all of the typical amenities (king bed, couch, table) and a third-floor view of Lake Como. The bathroom was updated with a very modern, upscale design. My only complaints are that there were no instructions on how to use the DVD player (which I eventually figured out) and the DVD remote had no batteries. Also, when the heat in the room turned on it was VERY loud.

With the Groupon, we received a 20% coupon for the spa which we used for massages. The spa was a bit cramped and outdated, but offered a full menu of services and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did not eat at the on-site restaurant, but did use a $25 dining credit (which also came with the Groupon) for room service breakfast. The food was fresh and arrived quickly.

We definitely enjoyed our stay at Geneva Ridge and would certainly recommend staying there. We have already talked about returning with the kids so they can enjoy the large indoor pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wife and I used a Groupon in Jan. Very quiet and relaxing. Hotel staff is friendly and rooms are very spacious. Has a bar and restaurant onsite which was ok. Located right outside of downtown Lake Geneva which was perfect. I would stay there again and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a Great lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossmoor, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

While I will second the comments about the spa being dated and a little shoe-horned into the space, I was more than happy with the treatments. This was a spa day for my 50th birthday, and it was difficult to choose between the various spas in the area. I am very glad I chose Geneva Ridge.
I began with a salt scrub. While the dry brushing portion could have been a little longer/more aggressive, it was overall a relaxing experience provided by Kim.
Next, I had a hot stone massage with Levon (sp?). This was absolutely fantastic. I have had hot stone massages in the past, but never where the therapist used the stones to execute the massage, which was done after my muscles were relaxed with a regular light massage.
Next, I had a green coffee wrap with Tara. Again, fantastic.
After that, back to Kim for a spa pedicure. I wish they would have done a little foot shaving, but I'm not sure if this is legal in WI. This was nice, but probably the weakest of the services.
Lastly, I had a facial with Heidi. Again, fantastic.

Each service included even more massage and relaxation technique than advertised, which I really appreciated. I felt pampered and thoroughly relaxed when I left. Even though I did not have any coupons or specials, when I told them it was a birthday gift from my husband, they gave me a much appreciated discount.

The resort really needs to invest in their spa, and build a new space, or refurbish an new area for them. They are providing a great service, and really need a newer, more relaxing area to work in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 13 women for a spa weekend in February 2013. Both spa and hotel get two points ratings as I was unimpressed with both. Check in was very quick and easy and the man working the front desk was very nice. The room was a standard hotel room. The bathroom was newly updated and nice. The linens and comforter on the bed, however, were cheap feeling and the sheets had stains on them. The indoor pool area was nice, but crowded with kids (this hotel may be good for families). I had four spa treatments at the Spa on Saturday morning/afternoon. My spa services were overall very good (highly recommend Diana for massage and Tara for a salt scrub). The spa itself, however, was extremely dated and not as relaxing as I would expect. The woman that seemed to be running the spa also did not seem very professional. We were all asked to wear the "Hello my name is" name tags on our robes so that the therapists knew who we are. I get that they wanted to avoid having to call out peoples names, but it is not a big spa, and the name tags were simply tacky. Also, while I was waiting for a treatment she was talking to another employee asking her if she would stay late for a treatment but the employee said know--the tone was irritated and it was awkward for me to witness. These conversations should not be held in front of guests. The worst part, however, was that when I was checking out after my services, she was eating two hotdogs on a plate with ketchup. The last thing I want to see and smell after a morning of spa treatments is hotdogs. You should never eat in front of customers, period, and that was just gross. Overall, not a very professional atmosphere at the spa which distracted from the services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geneva Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Ridge Resort

Address: W4240 Hwy 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Lodge at Geneva Ridge)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Geneva Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneva Ridge Resort welcomes you to enjoy all that Lake Geneva, Wisconsin has to offer at our full service resort. Managed by and in partnership with Geneva National Golf Club, we offer you beautifully appointed guest rooms, modern meeting and banquet space, creative wedding rooms, a full service spa, indoor & outdoor pools, access to our marina and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Geneva Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Geneva Ridge Hotel Lake Geneva
Hotel At Geneva Ridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geneva Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.