We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Geneva Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Geneva Motel to your Saves list
Lake Geneva Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   524 Wells St., Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Wichita
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“worst place ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Be warned, do not stay at this resort.......sucks big time its not a family friendly place. too much noise at night and people are smoking in non-smoking rooms. Better choice elsewhere. When to complain to staff, they make out they will send someone to investigate, but that never happens.

Room Tip: all rooms are bad........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find. This little gem is a few blocks from the lake and the center of town. A beautiful pool and very hospitable owners. Our California relatives loved the place, said it seemed so retro! We will be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for the first time in July and had to come back in Aug.
This was a very nice motel that accepted dogs, which was perfect!
Stayed in a cozy little cottage that had a microwave oven, a mini fridge, and a coffee pot.
Coffee was provided in the room.The cottage was very nicely decorated and updated.
The grounds were very well maintained and the pool was clean and refreshing.
They had flower pots all around, with solar butterflies and hummingbirds that were placed in them.
This was a very nice touch,as they changed color at night.
The owners were very nice and welcoming.All around this was a very nice experience and will be coming back again.

Room Tip: A quiet and relaxing place to stay with motel rooms and small cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were not disappointed in this motel. We read reviews on Trip Adviser and they were right on. Mr and Mrs Z were great hosts. The motel was clean, comfortable and quiet. The owners were not afraid to ask us if we were having a pleasant stay. They knew about the area and gave us good references for meals, shopping and sightseeing.
We stayed there with two other couples and are planning to return next year. Do not be afraid to stay at this property because it is small and not a chain.
Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I went to Lake Geneva with a friend of mine and we had a wonderful stay at Lake Geneva Motel. The owners were welcoming and told us how to get around. The motel room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom seemed newly remodeled and the room itself was inviting. The beds were very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. The price is quite reasonable as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

During my Lake Geneva getaways, both for business & leisure, I've been staying at the LGM exclusively for almost 15 years now. It's the best motel in town, by-far. Location is excellent, just a couple blocks from the lake and downtown. Restaurant and mini-golf are adjacent to the property. The heated pool is exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Several cozy cottages are available in addition to the main rooms. The management/owners are very hospitable, helpful, and continually making upgrades to the rooms in order to maximize the comfort of their guests.

I can't afford the exorbitant rates at the Lake Geneva hotels & resorts...but even if I could, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The LGM is a terrific value for the money. Close to downtown, safe, quiet, cozy property, a clean pool, memory-foam mattresses, flat-screen TVs with hundreds of channels including free HBO, clean rooms with clean microwaves & coffee-makers, etc, etc. It's not "the Hilton"...but if you prefer clean motels with a friendly atmosphere rather than high-priced, impersonal castles, then look no further. The LGM is one of those rare motels which feels more like a hotel...and I've met many fellow quests who have been coming back for many years. That says a lot about a motel. And I speak from experience, since I prefer to stay in motels only and have stayed at many different ones throughout the upper-midwest. The LGM ranks at the top of my list.

Room Tip: The little cabins are especially cozy (not available during the winter months, unfortunately).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Lake Geneva for our wedding anniversary and did not have a reservation. All hotels were booked and very expensive. Lake Geneva Motel still had vacancy and we were very pleased we stayed there, as the room (cabin) was nice and clean, the place was quiet and the staff very pleasant. It was exactly what we were looking for. There is also a mini golf on site and a nice pool. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Geneva Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Geneva Motel

Address: 524 Wells St., Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Geneva Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only few steps away from lake & downtown. In-room coffee, wireless internet, outdoor heated pool, cottages, kitchenettes, rooms very well maintained, set on 2 acres park like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your Lake Geneva Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Geneva Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.