We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   7037 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Orange Lake at Lake Geneva)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
cary illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in a 2-BR lock off for 5 nights, bldg 4, top/3rd floor. The accommodations are very nice and updated. There's plenty of space for 8 people to sleep. One dishwasher and a coffee maker were not working but these were attended to immediately by the staff. It would be nice if the resort put in an outdoor staircase from the vacation condos up to the Grand Geneva resort lodge for those who would rather walk than take the trolley.

Room Tip: Each building has 3 floors and there are elevators and luggage carts. The top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your recent vacation stay with us. It’s always great to hear from our guests about their trips and that they enjoyed the resort. Thank you for your suggestions about what would make your vacation that much better. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
40
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norridge, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently went to take the kids sledding. The room was nice with view of I believe of the golf course. It was spacious and the kids had plenty of room. Only problem was the people above us were super loud but the front desk took care of us when we left. The kids loved the sledding hill. Will go back in the summer to explore more of lake Geneva.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello and welcome home from your recent vacation stay with us. We love hearing that your kids were able to enjoy sledding and the winter weather. We appreciate you letting out staff know of any needs or issues that you encountered during your stay, as we want to ensure that you have the best vacation experience possible. We can’t wait to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I made this reservation through the priority club. We are owners but did not make the reservation through the vacation club. I was promised a villa when I made my reservation and paid for it six weeks in advance and got a basic hotel room with no daily maid service. When I called to the front desk to complain I was told I needed to call the vacation club in Florida. The vacation club told me I needed to call the priority club. The priority club told me I needed to work with the hotel. In other words, I had to call all over the United States just to get fresh towels. And the circle continued for three days. I paid $215 per night for this decent hotel room and received no daily services whatsoever.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We apologize for any confusion that you underwent through your reservation and stay. In an attempt to find out more about your specific situation we have attempted to contact you through private message. We always want all of our guests to have the best vacation experience possible. We are unlike a traditional hotel that we do not offer traditional daily housekeeping services. We find from our guests that they do not always feel the need. Also they enjoy the privacy of not needing to leave the room for daily housekeeping services. We look forward to connecting with you and would love the chance to host you again in the future to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heyworth, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We just got back from four nights, five days at the Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort (The Grand Geneva really IS grand!), and we could not be happier with the experience. The Christmas in the Country light show -- fully a MILLION lights -- would have been worth the trip alone. Couple that with primo villa accommodations (a two bedroom lockout translates to two fully equipped villas with an adjoining door), free wifi, a world-class spa and sports center, access to all the resort activities at the Grand Geneva, unique area shopping and fine dining, and I cannot imagine how one could wish for anything more. We especially enjoyed the "spill the beans" history of Starbucks event and the horse drawn carriage ride through historic Lake Geneva. Breakfast with a breathtaking view was memorable; the pool and hot tub were well maintained, and because we were there during the week, they were not crowded. The health club facilities and amenities were up-to-date; one could spend an entire day there and not run out of things to do. Inside the Grand Geneva, I was reminded of days gone by when Marshal Fields' Christmas windows mandated an annual pilgrimage to the Loop. In the future, we may have to make a trek to Lake Geneva a regular part of ramping up for the holidays. The decorations and displays were wonderfully over the top! Oh -- and if you opt to dine off site, be sure to hit Bistro 220 and the Tuscan. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ground floor villas are easy access -- perfect for unloading and loading the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi there. It was so wonderful to read about your holiday stay with us at Lake Geneva. You give your fellow TripAdvisor community great ideas about fun activities to help you get the most out of a stay with us. It’s always so great to immerse yourself where you are staying and find out as much as you can about the local culture. How nice that you were able to reminisce of holidays gone by. We loved hearing about your stay and we hope to be able to host you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed Nov 18 for 2 nights. Very nice property. Bed was very soft. Very pleasant staff on site.
Disappointed no fireplace in our unit (212)

I was thrilled to find out the Grand Geneva was holding their Country Christmas light ceremony that evening. Over 1 Million lights, entertainment, hot chocolate and cookies, and ended with fireworks! What a great event. They also had trolley tours to see the lights on property twice per evening. A must see!

My only complaint was the "cleaning fee". I could understand if there was daily cleaning service, but there was not. My understanding is if you stay a full week, this fee is waived.

Would definatelty return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi there. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing all about your vacations. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in the Christmas Light Ceremony. It’s always wonderful to take advantage of local traditions when you are on vacation. We understand your concerns regarding fees and no fireplace in your unit. We encourage our guests to let us know of any issues that you encounter during your stay, as we want to make sure you have the best vacation experience possible. We appreciate you staying with us, and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was looking for a hotel for me and my 4 other friends. The problem is that there is a law in Lake Geneva that you can not have more than 4 people in a room. Good thing my friend told me about this place! It was perfect for a get-away. It had a fully stocked kitchen, an electric fireplace, a balcony and a clean room. We had a view of the golf course. It was not "close" to downtown Lake Geneva but it really doesn't matter. We could have also used the Grand Geneva's hotel amenities.

I would go back for sure even if I had less than 5 guests.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace....especially during the fall/winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for letting us know about your vacation. We understand that occupancy laws can be tricky for traditional hotels rooms in Lake Geneva. This is why we are proud to offer our guests more value and room to spread out while they are no vacation. How wonderful that you and your friends were able to enjoy a vacation together and still relax. You give a great tip about having a fireplace in the winter, they sure are cozy. You couldn't give us any higher compliment than a return stay, we can’t wait to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We are currently on day 3 of our "vacation" and disappointed. Parking lots are fairly empty so might have been nice to stagger the rooms to cut down on noise from above and sides to make the thin walls and flooring less obvious. In addition, the water park runs $21 per kiddo and $5 for each parental observer. That's not crazy but seems like something worth comping to make up for the closed pools due to season. And I did see the nice warning note on the table but still disturbed by the bug infestation. When you are eating breakfast and they fly at your face, it's over the line. And bed looked amazing but caused back pain. I was happy get out of it in the morning. Thought Id look forward to hot tub to ease my pain but guess what... didn't work.

Room Tip: leave your kids at home.. you'll complain enough on your own so probably dont want to hear how b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for your review. We understand that it can be difficult to enjoy many of the outside amenities while on vacation during the colder months. Luckily, we have been able to partner with the Grand Geneva resort for our guests to be able to take advantage of their many inside amenities. We always encourage our guests to let us know of any issues that they experience while they are on-site with us. We also take the issue of pest control very seriously. We have attempted to contact you through private message to find out more about your specific unit, to check it for treatment. We are constantly hearing rave reviews about our beds and understand that they may differ from your beds that you are used to sleeping on at home. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Address: 7037 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Orange Lake at Lake Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort is a premier resort offering spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas complete with amenities such as fully equipped kitchens, dining areas, living rooms with fireplaces, and everything a guest might need to enjoy their Home away from Home ! With access to all the amenities of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa , Holiday Inn Club Vacation guests can enjoy amenities such as indoor and outdoor swimming pools, multiple dining options, a Sport Center with tennis, basketball and volleyball courts, a rock-climbing wall, two championship golf courses and more options to keep your vacation full of new experiences. From skiing, golf and horseback riding, to tennis, snowboarding, and a full service spa, this resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.