We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   7037 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Orange Lake at Lake Geneva)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fall getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed Nov 18 for 2 nights. Very nice property. Bed was very soft. Very pleasant staff on site.
Disappointed no fireplace in our unit (212)

I was thrilled to find out the Grand Geneva was holding their Country Christmas light ceremony that evening. Over 1 Million lights, entertainment, hot chocolate and cookies, and ended with fireworks! What a great event. They also had trolley tours to see the lights on property twice per evening. A must see!

My only complaint was the "cleaning fee". I could understand if there was daily cleaning service, but there was not. My understanding is if you stay a full week, this fee is waived.

Would definatelty return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi there. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing all about your vacations. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in the Christmas Light Ceremony. It’s always wonderful to take advantage of local traditions when you are on vacation. We understand your concerns regarding fees and no fireplace in your unit. We encourage our guests to let us know of any issues that you encounter during your stay, as we want to make sure you have the best vacation experience possible. We appreciate you staying with us, and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
40
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was looking for a hotel for me and my 4 other friends. The problem is that there is a law in Lake Geneva that you can not have more than 4 people in a room. Good thing my friend told me about this place! It was perfect for a get-away. It had a fully stocked kitchen, an electric fireplace, a balcony and a clean room. We had a view of the golf course. It was not "close" to downtown Lake Geneva but it really doesn't matter. We could have also used the Grand Geneva's hotel amenities.

I would go back for sure even if I had less than 5 guests.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace....especially during the fall/winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for letting us know about your vacation. We understand that occupancy laws can be tricky for traditional hotels rooms in Lake Geneva. This is why we are proud to offer our guests more value and room to spread out while they are no vacation. How wonderful that you and your friends were able to enjoy a vacation together and still relax. You give a great tip about having a fireplace in the winter, they sure are cozy. You couldn't give us any higher compliment than a return stay, we can’t wait to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We are currently on day 3 of our "vacation" and disappointed. Parking lots are fairly empty so might have been nice to stagger the rooms to cut down on noise from above and sides to make the thin walls and flooring less obvious. In addition, the water park runs $21 per kiddo and $5 for each parental observer. That's not crazy but seems like something worth comping to make up for the closed pools due to season. And I did see the nice warning note on the table but still disturbed by the bug infestation. When you are eating breakfast and they fly at your face, it's over the line. And bed looked amazing but caused back pain. I was happy get out of it in the morning. Thought Id look forward to hot tub to ease my pain but guess what... didn't work.

Room Tip: leave your kids at home.. you'll complain enough on your own so probably dont want to hear how b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for your review. We understand that it can be difficult to enjoy many of the outside amenities while on vacation during the colder months. Luckily, we have been able to partner with the Grand Geneva resort for our guests to be able to take advantage of their many inside amenities. We always encourage our guests to let us know of any issues that they experience while they are on-site with us. We also take the issue of pest control very seriously. We have attempted to contact you through private message to find out more about your specific unit, to check it for treatment. We are constantly hearing rave reviews about our beds and understand that they may differ from your beds that you are used to sleeping on at home. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

TERRIBLE SERVICE.. Our experience was truly one of those horror stories you see on Dateline. We had just two nights to celebrate our anniversary. We booked through Hotels.com... when they wouldn't accommodate the room we paid for, Holiday Inn Reservations and the Grand Geneva Liason were unwilling to help. Over 10 hours wasted on our vacation just to get the room we had reserved. The "customer service" rep DAWN should find another job... she has no clue what hospitality means. The Holiday Inn Staff, especially Dawn, said "oh, gee I'm sorry you're getting screwed by hotels.com.. that's your problem not mine". This is not the type of experience Grand Geneva would EVER let happen and their name is getting tarnished because of their relationship with Holiday Inn. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. Thank goodness Grand Geneva management took over! When GG Manager Aaron finally took over, we felt like our voice was finally being heard and someone actually cared about us as guests. I will NEVER stay w/Holiday Inn Club Vacations again. The site is beautiful, the service in the Grand Geneva restaurants, bars, and front desk are all wonderful. We will pay the extra few dollars to stay with GG next time, to have service and hospitality the way it should be.

Room Tip: rooms near elevator are loud with an awkward layout. Be careful reserving w/Holiday, they are separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. We are shocked in reading your review, as this is not the level of service that we demand from our employees, or that our customers have come to expect. In an attempt to find out more about your specific situation, we have attempted to contact you through private message. We value each and every one of our customers and are constantly striving to make sure that they have the very best vacation experience possible. We look forward to hearing from you to help make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for one week on an RCI extra vacation and were quite pleased. Our unit overlooked the #1 hole of the golf course and it was clean and very well appointed. Although the kitchen was quite small, it had everything you would need for a comfortable week here. The unit was long and narrow and you walked right into the bedroom from the hallway. The fact that all the amenities of the Grand Geneva were available to us ,made our stay even nicer. The fitness and spa area were superb and we used it 4 times during our stay. The restaurants at the Grand Geneva resort were all top quality and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. All the staff seemed happy to help. We played both golf courses, the Brute and Highland and felt they were very challenging and yet friendly. The trees were all turning color which made beautiful pictures. We would stay here again and had a hard time leaving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, and welcome home from your recent stay with us. We always love welcoming our RCI Exchange friends to our properties. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us, after all that’s why we’re here. It’s so great that you were able to really relax and take advantage of so many amenities available to our guests. We believe that is the ultimate way to relax on vacation. We’re glad you also got to see some of the beautiful fall colors. You give us so many compliments in your review, we would love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The accomodations are very much like the newer accomodations at Orange Lake in Orlando Fl. They share amenities with the Grand Geneva Resort(originally the Playboy Club at Lake Geneva). The Cafe restaurant has an interesting menu and is reasonably priced. The two golf courses are very well maintained and interesting to play. We did not take advantage of the pools or fitness center but from what we saw they appeared to be excellent facilities. The signage around the property leaves a bit to be desired, but that is a minor point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
It’s great to hear from you about your vacation getaway with us. We always enjoy hearing about how our guests spent their time. You are correct that the property has had many historical tenants who we are glad to share a history with. We’re pleased to hear that you were able to view and or enjoy many of the amenities around the resort. It’s always nice to take advantage of those. We appreciate your comments about the signage. We’d love to host you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Its having been 35 years since I had been at Lake Geneva -- and that to view what is now the "Grand Geneva Resort" of which this is a part, -- I did not know exactly what to expect. Staying for only two nights to attend a wedding nearby was not the most favorable light in which to evaluate this property. Lake Geneva is a lovely town, the people at this resort were indeed exceptionally nice, but I was looking for a "hotel room" and while our room was a pleasant (though very small rooms) small suite, it lacked the daily maid service that I expect when I am staying at a hotel. The 10:00am checkout was not so desirable for the day after a wedding reception.

Room Tip: I would not refrain from using this because of my rating if you are staying for a longer period than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there and thank you so much for your review. We’re happy to have been able to host your return to Lake Geneva. You are correct in that we are unlike a traditional hotel room. We offer more space and more value for all of our guests. You are also correct in that we do not offer daily maid service, however services are available upon demand. Many of our guests enjoy the added privacy this allow them. We always encourage all of our guests to let us know if we can do anything to make their stay more enjoyable, this includes late checkout. We would love to host you gain for a longer period of time, to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Address: 7037 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Orange Lake at Lake Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort is a premier resort offering spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas complete with amenities such as fully equipped kitchens, dining areas, living rooms with fireplaces, and everything a guest might need to enjoy their Home away from Home ! With access to all the amenities of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa , Holiday Inn Club Vacation guests can enjoy amenities such as indoor and outdoor swimming pools, multiple dining options, a Sport Center with tennis, basketball and volleyball courts, a rock-climbing wall, two championship golf courses and more options to keep your vacation full of new experiences. From skiing, golf and horseback riding, to tennis, snowboarding, and a full service spa, this resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.