We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, peaceful, serene.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Cloud Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy Cloud Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lazy Cloud Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   W4033 Highway 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic, peaceful, serene.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What an incredible place to stay! We stayed in the Starry Nights suite, and it was incredibly beautiful. The giant jacuzzi was right next to a beautiful fireplace...it was just perfect. We had our own private back patio, where we sat under the stars sipping on the champagne that came complimentary with our room. There were also muffins, chocolates, and an apple pie waiting for us when we checked in.

And if all that wasn't enough, the staff there was just incredibly friendly! They were so accommodating and had endless recommendations for places to eat, and things to do and see. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGenevaLady, Manager at Lazy Cloud Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
First of all, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and then taking time to write a review. We are honored that you did both. There is nothing quite like the glow of the fireplace as you sit inside the Jacuzzi, is there? All of the cares of the world just slip away!

Having a private balcony to enjoy a glass of wine and chocolate covered strawberries while sitting under a blanket of stars, is about as perfect an evening as you can get. We are delighted that you were able to experience this…..

Secondly, we love our staff! Each Innkeeper strives to go above and beyond when it comes to being welcoming and hospitable. One of our goals is to make each guest feel valued, appreciated and welcome. It sounds like we succeeded on your visit.

Thank you again for visiting us. We can’t wait for you to come back again…each season has its own beauty, so anytime is the “right” time to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    28
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
173
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockton, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We would recommend Lazy Cloud to any and all lovers who would love to get away for a wonderful get away, Anytime of the year,Very friendly staff candles around the whirlpool for two,and wine or champagne your choice,and some yummy carmel apple pie, Looking forward to a return visit during the winter time to get full use of the fireplace and yes the whirlpool while viewing out the window at what mother nature has givin us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We would love to have you stay again in the winter!! Winter in the woods is beautiful, especially if it snows. If you come on a Monday-Thursday from December 2 to December 23, you will have a full-size Christmas tree in your suite, decorated according to that suite’s theme. Even better, this is our December Special period, during which the suite rates are the lowest of the year!! The trees are usually kept up at least through the first week in January, and add even more romance to your cozy getaway. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your kind comments!! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

So friendly & personable!!! From the first contact with Sandi who booked our reservation who has literally become a friend over the phone, to Kim that checked us into the room. Kim took the time to look up & give us directions to Alpine Valley where we saw Jimmy Buffet perform only about 20 minutes from Lazy Cloud.

After the concert back to the room to relax & unwind... The room was beautifully appointed, large Jacuzzi, fireplace, chocolates, & wine. The room refrigerator had a "honor bar" that had a cheese spread & crackers that "hit the spot" for a late night snack out on the large deck. Sitting on the private deck in the moonlight next to the woods we felt like we were "way up north" at cabin in the woods. We left the two sliding glass doors open so the sounds of the woods lulled us to sleep & the filtered sunlight woke us up in the morning. And did we sleep! Best sleep in months! The next morning we enjoyed our "Continental Breakfast" with fresh coffee we made in the room.

There was nothing we would have wanted to add, or nothing that wasn't thought of like shampoo, conditioner, bubble bath, shaving cream, sun tan lotion should you forget to bring something with you... It was all there and in this tasteful, beautifully furnished retreat. And a treat it was...!!!

And the grounds complete with a large pond full of water lilly's in full bloom stocked with 100's of large gold fish where beautifully & tastefully maintained.

We would "Highly Recommend" the Lazy Cloud Inn!!!

Room Tip: Check in early to spend as much time there to enjoy the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
One of the best perks of being in this business is the opportunity it affords us to meet such a wide variety of the very nicest people! And when they have only wonderful comments, it makes it even more fun, although we are always open to constructive criticism. Our staff members truly enjoy helping our guests make the most of their stay at Lazy Cloud. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again and often!! We assume you will be back next August, when, hopefully, Jimmy Buffet will return to Alpine Valley!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

No regrets and wonderful memories after spending our anniversary in the Dream Catcher Suite. The suite is rustic and romantic and yes the whirlpool is big enough for two. We lit the candles they provided and lit the fireplace. Had the picnic lunch when we arrived, it was all they said it would be and we couldn't finish it all, the best fresh hot bread, cheeses and wonderful cheesecake. We also enjoyed the wine on arrival and apple pie. Don't miss out on sitting on the back porch. We covered the wooden swing and just sat out there and enjoyed. Great staff, welcoming you and showing you everything in the room when you arrive. Provided tips for what is going on in the area and getting around the area. Everyone made us feel welcome. My only two suggestions: updates in bathroom shower area and new towels.

Room Tip: Remember some rooms do not have a TV and no phone in our suite.(Not that we needed a phone) If you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband found the Lazy Cloud Inn on the Internet searching for log cabin lodging in Lake Geneva and the Lazy Cloud Inn popped up.. We searched your site and was very pleased with what we saw. You are very detailed on your website so we pretty knew what to expect. All the rooms pictures are very detailed so for the reviews above that talk about updates probably should have checked the website out a little bit better. Thank for a detailed website.
Now more on our stay, We were celebrating our 30th Anniversary and were very much looking for relaxing, rustic and romantic. Exactly what we got. All the extras were so nice, the chocolates, the wine, the apple pie was so delicious, the candles, and all the little extras to make us feel special. I absolutely loved the journals of everyone's stay and my favorite was the treasure Hunt. (Guest - Please leave the treasures- reside them if you want but DO NOT take them with you) I had so much fun hunting because when you read the journals they give you hints and you can't stop looking. Loved it!
The hot tub was great, comfortable bed and loved the hammock outside. I believe your stay is what you make of it, we have done a lot of traveling and some of it is a little older but I knew what to expect from the website. We loved our stay at Lazy Cloud and will be back and suggest it to friends! Thank you to all the staff! You were awesome!

Room Tip: Loved the Mossy Glenn Suite. Private, relaxing and you have to find the new treasures I hid. Have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this in hopes that the 13 of 175 reviews that are bad may consider how ridiculous your complaints seem. The suites look lovely. The green carpet makes it appear rustic and cozy. Would a 2pm check in time be great sure! Plan around it and eat an early dinner most places offer a 3pm check in anyhow so what's the big deal. The wine glasses are plastic! Wow! If that is a concern atleast you and your significant other were able to focus your negative energy towards something trivial instead of one another. " Its far away from the lake" Its inbetween two of them and what couples getaway is in a city. Get away being the idea here. "the patio furniture was dirty" unless it had been part of a mud fight perhaps you could wipe it off.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the Dreamcatcher Suite in to celebrate our anniversary. Based on photos from the website we had high hopes for a romantic getaway in a quaint room set on a spacious property. What we experienced was a spacious room in need of many updates in a strip motel just steps from a state HWY.

Overall, the accommodations, "amenities" and experience do not support the room rate.

Pros:
Spacious room
Private entry and private deck
Whirlpool tub and fireplace
Delicious pie from the Elegant farmer!
Small number of guest rooms
Pleasant desk staff

Cons:
Outdated décor throughout; fake flowers/vines over the bed and on the walls are extremely dusty
All towels provided were well worn, faded and had pulled threads all over
Wine glasses provided were well worn, cracked plastic (plastic is fine - they were just in need of being replaced)
Property located close to state HWY - more road noise than expected based on website photos

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Cloud Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Cloud Inn

Address: W4033 Highway 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Cloud Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Cloud Inn is a small romantic getaway hotel for couples. There is a whirlpool for two with a view of your fireplace in every suite. There are many complimentary amenities, including at least a dozen candles, scented bubble bath, bath pillows, bathrobes, dorm size refrigerator and microwave, bedside chocolates and even, champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. We try to anticipate your every need. We are located about three minutes west of Lake Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lazy Cloud Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Cloud Hotel Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Cloud Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.