We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family food rest.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Popeye's on Lake Geneva

Popeye's on Lake Geneva
811 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
262-248-4381
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 80 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hartland, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great family food rest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really great food-we stop here every time we visit Lake Geneva! The chicken, fish, and shrimp are also good...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    158
    145
    74
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was great and the price was pretty reasonable. It was a bit noisy for me. We had a party of about 20 and the service was pretty good

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Old school that got too big to keep up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Went here at the recommendation of different friends and we will not be back.

They will not miss us as the location alone will keep visitors flocking, but if you're looking for good service and/or attention to detail, skip it.

Our server was sweet but awful. No drink refills for yrs. Forgot my husband's on the side salad dressing & did not bring it until he was finished. We asked for more silverware as we were 2 short and she forgot. My kids ate with their hands.

We brought all 4 kids and the wait for our food topped 45 minutes. I not one for drama, but this RUINED our day. My 2 yr old was falling asleep. 3 yr old cried forever and the other 2 kept asking where the food was. Who knows?

While the food itself tasted above average, this family will never return. Too many other better options. Don't get sucked in by the location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

So many people recommended this place to us, that it had to be the best place for dinner. Great bloody Mary and seafood :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We actually ate here, twice, in our weekend get-away. Each time we enjoyed outdoor sidewalk seating & were lucky to have beautiful weather :-)
First visit I had the Cobb Salad & it was the half size....plenty big & loaded with good toppings!
Second visit my husband & I split some fried cheese curds, cheese/broccoli soup, a cheese/bacon burger, & seasoned fries.
Prices were typical of the area - higher than I'm accustomed to...but no additional fee to split the meal, which was PLENTY.

Service on 1st visit was good. Second visit the server was forgetful....we had to get our own forks, knives, etc....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popeye's on Lake Geneva also viewed

 

Been to Popeye's on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Popeye's on Lake Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.