We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland bagel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boatyard Bagel Co.

Boatyard Bagel Co.
846 W. Main Street, Lake Geneva, WI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 80 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Cuisines: Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: We strive to enhance your dining experience with the use of organic and all natural breakfast ingredients, organic salad ingredients and sandwich condiments. Stop by for breakfast or lunch, served all day long. Offering a truly authentic, 100% organic kettle-boiled bagel is our mission! Try one today with one of our unique homemade organic cream cheeses! We make our soups daily from scratch and proudly serve Boar's Head Meats and Cheeses and Intelligentsia Coffees and Teas.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bland bagel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The place was okay. The bagel had no taste at all. I did order a plain one for my sandwich. There were no egg bagels and they were out of the asiago bagels. The sandwich itself was tasty, I had The Keel. My father had the chicken with Brie etc. The chicken looked like turkey. You get bagel chips with the sandwich. If you want potato chips you can pay a dollar for a small bag. Personally when you pay $8 or more for a sandwich, throw in the chips. Keep the stale bagel chips for something else. If you want a fast sandwich or something to take to the beach, this is good. Otherwise go to a restaurant and be served.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delavan, WI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My daughter and I had lunch today at Boatyard Bagel Co. and enjoyed our food. She had Club bagel, and I had the Anchor Bagel with Boar's Head turkey, Brie cheese, an apple slice, arugula and honey mustard. We loved every bite . . fresh and tasty. Coffee was piping hot and delicious. Service was very prompt, and we were greeted with a great smile from the young lady. We waited at an outside table for our order, which was delivered quite quickly. Daughter left with a strawberry smoothie that she liked. We would definitely stop here again, either for breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Over the course of two summers, we have been fairly regularly here. We like how every bagel sandwich is made to order with additions or substitutions . Lots of combinations to select from or kinda create your own. Sometimes one may wait 10+ min for the order but again this is not Dunkin Doughnuts. Only minor complaint is when one orders a coffee drink, it may not come up in the order in which it was ordered. This seems to confuse customers and I have seen multiple times a person grab the wrong drink (or my wifes' ) and walk out only to have to re clarify to the "barista" what happened. Decor is pretty cool, keep wondering if I bring in a busted boat propeller if I'll get a comped meal. (if you have been or will visit you will understand the last comment).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent sandwiches. Bagel sandwiches with unbelievable ingredients and flavor combinations. The quantitiy of food is just as impressive as the quality.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The bagels are superior, but ya gotta MAKE them and OPEN to serve them!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Too bad the bagels are so good, otherwise I'd simply give up. Not the first time we've tried, but come on owner, wise-up, or is it GROW-UP. Put hours on the door, THEN STICK to them. Here's an idea for staff, do your job, or at least try to LOOK like you actually want a job. To be fair, not all of the employees were lifeless bodies, but come on. If you say you open at 7, open at 7, if you say 8, then 8, if you can't say 'cause you may or may not be out late the night before, umm, then you shouldn't own/run a business, you go work the grill or fry machine at McDee's.

We get that they're "hand-crafted" and take some time - but stop hiding behind that and get real! Guys, someone has to re-teach you an assembly line, specific tasks/stations, and breathe some life into wasted steps & time. This place could be SOOOOOOOOO much more, too bad the owner can't see that or figure it out.

Maybe try making a dedicated and responsible baker, then actually paying them enough (or firing when they fail) to come in, on time, make enough bagels to fill the bins you have. Maybe have 2 or 3, again, dedicated, responsible persons come in, EARLY, get the place set-up and ready, decide and post hours on the door, so folks know if your 7am opening really means 7, or 8:17 as was the recent case on Saturday. I cannot tell you how much business you lost with a huge WALK fund-raising event held not 500 feet from the place, but you weren’t open. Caribou and Egg Harbor got your business that day, and I imagine many similar days if the chat among those that did wait for you to finally open was any indication. "They're on their own time...."; "Kids need to wake up and run a business". "Just like Lake Geneva..." "Whadda ya expect..."
Set a timer for every 12-15 minutes, and assign someone to bus and clean tables. Assign someone for each task/prep station, so they're not all running, or lazily, walking, around not being productive.

Too bad, it's the only bagel game in this neat little down-town area, and could be such a great place if it had some consistency. Well, I guess it currently does, it consistently under-amazes, and under-performs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatyard Bagel Co. also viewed

Lake Geneva, WI
 

Been to Boatyard Bagel Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boatyard Bagel Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.