We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine but be prepared to pay to taste.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Winery

Studio Winery
401 Sheridan Springs Road, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
1 262-348-9100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 Activities in Lake Geneva
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Studio is an Urban Winery. We are one part Art Gallery, one part Recording Studio, & 100% delicious! We put our Hearts & Souls into creating the best wines. Visit us and taste for yourself. Come in and enjoy a tasting, glass or bottle. We have two tastings to choose from. Our Musician series tasting is $5 for 5 wines made from locally grown fruit. Our Premier tasting is $10 for 4 wines made from West Coast fruit. Bottle prices range from $14 to $48, and glass prices are from $5 to $12. Our wines range from sweet, fruity whites to bold, dry reds. Live music Saturdays from 4-8pm, and from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day, Sundays from 4-6 for our Sunday Original Concert Series.Wine tastings and wine by the glass available daily 11-6 and Saturdays 11-3. No reservations necessary except for groups of 6 or more. Open M, W, Th, F & Sun 11-6 pm, Sat 11-9 pm, closed Tuesday.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good wine but be prepared to pay to taste.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Studio Winery was a disappointment. They charge $5.00 per person for the tasting of the "Musician" wines, there are 5 Musician named wines, so 5 tastes. The best news is that the wine is very good and reasonably priced. We did spend $64.00 on wine and were hoping that they would credit us for the $10. tasting fee but that is against their policy. There was only 2 people working the day we were there and a dog. The wine server was knowledgeable but the dog was a nuisance looking for a snack of oyster crackers from the tasting bar. Buy the wine and forget the tasting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A work of Art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

What a Gem of a place , off the beaten path , my 2. friends and I were going to see the fun we had in Lake Geneva as young adults but this was our first stop , the 2 from Napa in California and I from Texas , we would meet our other school friend from Wisconsin and see it taste it then go else where , Lordy we stayed the whole day , the owners were awesome and we had the taste then picked our own favs. and sat outside for the wonderful entertainment that day , and we laughed and visited and so relaxed , the staff they have were great and made sure we had all we needed , the artwork was so cool that I did bring back quite a bit , something for everyone , the four of us agreed it was an awesome day , almost like when we just turned the drinking age ;) don't miss this place if u can help it and for the guys who don't enjoy a glass of wine , I do think you can find one of the beers they serve to your liking :-) wish they had it on tap at our winery's , more men would join in the fun in Texas . Thank you all at Studio winery !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice and atypical for Lake Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Found them online and gave it a try. Ordinary on the outside but warm and friendly on the inside. Interesting art, depending on your taste. Wine is good, not great (whites much better than the rather young reds), but overall a great stop if you're in the area. Not far from the main tourist area of Lake Geneva. Remember to ask for Count Chocula.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place for an afternoon of wine tasting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I nice place off the beaten path of Lake Geneva. Kathy was a wonderful young lady who knew her wines. A very fun afternoon, relaxing and a chance to buy a couple bottles of wine from a Wisconsin winery. I don't know much about wine, but it was a cool place to look at some very cool art work and drink some wine for a couple of hours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Studio Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I am so old now, all of my kids are over 21. We took them to Studio to introduce them to Ms. Kathy, and for a taste of the good stuff. Afterwards, we proceeded to Popeye's (Hamburger Paradise also in Lk G.) for lunch and then to Yerkes Observatory in nearby Williams Bay for a tour of the "Largest Refractory Telescope left in the world." Getting Back now to Studio. What more can be said about the fun factor? Kathy is such a doll! She gave us a quick tour of the facility and then treated us to wine and even a craft beer from nearby that made my son (Just home from the War) delight to a taste of something he really missed a lot from being over there for so long. Kathy makes everyone feel like they are a guest in her world. Frankly, I like that as much as I love her wine list. Hendrix is the BEST! (pardon my shameful opinion here...)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio Winery also viewed

 

Been to Studio Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.