We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trying to book again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cove of Lake Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cove of Lake Geneva to your Saves list
Cove of Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 (USD)
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“trying to book again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We just stayed June 14th and 15th 2014 for our Birthdays. My 52nd on the 15th and my hubbys
50th was on the 12th. We had a great time. We stayed in room 110. We were already to book again for a get away July 4th and 5th. Asked if we could have the same room they said no it was already booked. We asked if we could still have a room over looking pool and was told they couldn't tell us that until AFTER we booked...WHAT??? You don't know what rooms you still have
available? You obviously know that 110 is already booked! We felt the gal was really rude. We
walked away with the last impression being a bad one. What about appreciating a repeat customer? Saddened. I guess we will check around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Brenda, Thank you for your comments. We're glad that you have decided to return to the Cove. Please contact me personally at 262.249.9460 ext. 181 and I will be happy to honor your request. We are a Condo-Hotel so there is a rotation management system in place which is why the staff was unable to guarantee you a specific room at the time of your call. I look forward to speaking with you personally. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    70
    42
    34
    34
See reviews for
92
86
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were at the Cover of Lake Geneva from 6/12/14 - 6/14/14. This is our 11th visit to this resort. We have always loved the location of this resort because we do not have to drive anywhere once we get there, everything is in walking distance. This year's visit was a real disappointment. When we arrived we were told that our room was ready but we have to pay $20.00 for early check in, which never happened before at this resort, or have I ever had to pay for early check in at any hotel/resort that I have visited. We were given room #409 which was another disappointment. Room need some major updating. This was the worse room we have ever stayed in at the Cove. Also, the hallway carpeting is disgusting and needs to be removed. This is the same carpeting that has been there since our first visit. Also, at the Tiki Bar by the pool on Friday, there was very limited waitress poolside service. We actually had the lifeguard get her to come to the area our group was sitting. This was never a problem on previous visits. There is definitely a need for improvements at this resort since last year's visit. Hopefully this will be addressed so that when we return again we can write a positive review of this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I'm sorry your stay wasn't as enjoyable as it had been in the past. We are making every effort to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests. We hope to see you again in the future so that we can provide a more enjoyable experience. - Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPERVILLE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I made a reservation through Expedia in December. I was under the impression that it was a final price. I show up to the hotel in June and they hit me up for $25.00 :Resort Fee". I had a choice of paying the fee or leaving. After a 2 hour car ride I decided to pay the fee. However, next time I have a decision to make...should I come back to the Cove in the future? How do I know they won't hit me with higher up-charges in the future. This is not appropriate nor is it good business.

Room Tip: The rooms near the banquet rooms are very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We do charge a $12 per day resort fee which is typical of most area resorts. Included in the resort fee is parking, high speed internet and access to our 5 pools. We hope you decide to take advantage of our great location in the heart of Lake Geneva in the future. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed at the Cove with three girlfriends for a fun weekend. We range in age from 45-65.
We stayed in 418 which was adorable with a flip flop beach theme, two bathrooms new furniture and very clean. We overlooked the pool . We never moved the car all weekend- walked everywhere. Ate breakfast at Simple, Dinner at Tuscan, drinks and sunset at Baker House and more cocktails at Sprechers right in hotel. Pool chairs were super comfy. Entertainment by the pool was bad but we didn't mind. So nice to have a large refrigerator and microwave in the room. Lake path is half a block away. So much to do and the Cove puts you right in the middle of everything. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Loved 418 for decor and location if looking for a Belle Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hope1Chicago, Thanks for reviewing the Cove. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and experienced some of the best that Lake Geneva has to offer within walking distance of your room. We hope to see you again and again. - Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I didn't have high hopes, based on the reviews I read. I enjoyed my stay here and would come back. The location is the selling point. Once my car was parked, it never moved it until we left.
This is not the Ritz Carlton, and that's okay. Lake Geneva is lovely enough.
We arrived a little before 3PM and could not check in.
Because the location is so key, we were able to take a walk and come back.
We had the Belle Loft. It included 2 bedrooms, bathrooms and full living room.
There was also a full kitchen, which we did not use
It was really nice to have all the space, and a balcony.
The rooms are clean, and yes the decor is outdated.
The pool is huge, with lots of seating.
The staff was friendly and helpful setting up the free WIFI.
If you have realsitic expectations, you will be pleased with The Cove.

Room Tip: Spend extra on a room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Radiogirlsteph, We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Cove. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. - Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed at the end of May 2014. We have stayed there since they first opened, and have watched it degrade. The bathtub wouldn't hold water, so using the whirlpool was out. The room hadn't been updated since it was built. The staff is rude and really doesn't care. To top it off they had a photo shoot by the outdoor pool in affect closing it, because they wouldn't let you in the pool while they were shooting, it was affectively closed for an 1.5 hours. The GM's opinion was that it had to been done and at a time that was convenient for the crew doing the shoot. So it didn't matter if guest were affected. The sauna also has a sign on it that says it will be out of order until further notice. I've read a number of the reviews and it is clear that the "New Management Team" uses the excuse that they are new in every response. While being new may be valid for some things. It clearly has no affect on the issues that I've listed, nor is it valid after the first 30 days.

Hopefully, someone from the owners association reads this review. My advise to you is to bring in a professional organization to manage your property. Someone like a Hilton or Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We make great strides to ensure that our guests receive the best possible treatment during their stay at the Cove. While there's no perfect time to update a Resort's photo portfolio we were encouraged by the fact that we did not have to close any of our pools during our latest shoot. Sincerely, Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Please come in and see Cheryl and her fantastic staff at the Cove. They will take care of you. Awesome time here at the cove. This will be the only place I will stay at in Lake Geneva. Jared, Taylor, and Amanda are great employees at the pool bar. Made our stay a great one.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Amodio,
I'm glad you were able to meet some of the Cove team members during your stay. We have a wonderful group of associates that are always aiming to go the extra mile. I'm pleased that you had a great time at the Cove and hope to see you soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove of Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove of Lake Geneva

Address: 111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove of Lake Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning shoreline of Geneva Lake and in the heart of town, The Cove of Lake Geneva is the ideal hotel for everything from girls shopping getaways and family vacations to romantic weekends and business travel. Guests will find exceptional comfort in our all-suite resort featuring the areas most exclusive setting, all within walking distance to Lake Geneva’s main attractions.The Cove proudly offers 222 spacious suites complete with all the amenities you need for an exceptional stay. Our all-suite resort features fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spacious balconies or patios. Guests may choose from a variety of room suite options to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cove of Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Of Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Cove Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Cove
The Cove Lake Geneva Wi
Cove Hotel Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove of Lake Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.