We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasently surprised.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove of Lake Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cove of Lake Geneva to your Saves list
Cove of Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasently surprised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Read the reviews over the years and thought this was going to be a big gamble. But the last minute change of plans gave us no choice but to book our anniversary night at this hotel. the place was great, rooms clean and larger (Studio suite) then most rooms offered by more expensive hotels. Pool was great and the employees and manager also very polite. Was so impressed I booked two more nights to go back, upon check out. take another look. Also a stones throw from where you want to be, downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Front Office Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
On behalf of the hotel we thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your experience on your recent visit to THE COVE. We are pleased you were pleasantly surprised!!! We here at The Cove prides ourselves on customer service and look forward to your return on your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    75
    44
    38
    35
See reviews for
102
91
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked an Anchor Suite at the Cove through a Groupon for Father's Day weekend. The price, booking and online information seemed to be too good to be true. Upon arrival, our check in was swift and friendly. We were able to check in a few hours early, even if the room wasn't ready they offered to allow us access to parking and the pool while we waited. Once we figured out which door to enter in (there are several doors to enter once you have a key and often parking can happen closer than the front desk) we opened the door to the room and were shocked.

The room was huge, clean and decorated unlike other hotels (safari themed). A large bed with its own tv, a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi/shower combo, a kitchen complete with fridge, sink, stove top, microwave, dishwasher (AND DISHES!), followed by a living room area with a tv and sliding door to the patio facing the pool area. We were pleasantly shocked and wished we had booked the room for more nights.

As a family of three (with a baby) the space was more than enough. It would be great for a family up to 6 if the kids are okay sharing the pull out couch, or even a group of 2-4 adults sharing beds. There were plenty of towels and even extra bedding in the closet. Noise-wise, we didn't really hear anything disruptive. The water from another room ran right behind the headboard but it wasn't super unusual for a hotel room. They had a live musician at the pool area that was a bit loud but our room was right there so again, not super unusual.

The pool area is pretty basic but not super crowded. We brought our infant into both pools and only got splashed once (which is a pretty big deal if you have ever tried to swim with a baby at a public pool). The lifeguards were present but not super involved so be sure to keep an eye on your kids just in case. The bar area is interesting. The bartender was overly friendly and we were able to use a 2 free drink ticket given to us at check-in for two mixed drinks by the pool.

The hotel location is great because you can walk everywhere. We walked around downtown and never drove once since the weather was beautiful. The beach and boat launch are just across the street but there are fees to use them.

We will definitely be returning, especially if we can get a great deal again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Sales Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful response in reference to your stay at The Cove of Lake Geneva!

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we strive to meet each guest’s expectations, it is feedback like yours, the reason we take pride in our customer service and accommodations.

We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back at The Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The overall experience at the cove was amazing. I was here with a friend that is a owner. The barista was very polite and the cabana girls were also great, but a worker by the name of Lexi was beyond rude. And she was also ignorant to fellow employees. I had to wait for my latte at espresso bar because she was making herself a coffee and left a mess for the barista. The barista did give me a complementary coffee for inconve. Which i appreciated. Otherwise wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent visit to The Cove of Lake Geneva. I greatly apologize on behalf of the unprofessional customer services you received at the Alterra Bar during your stay. The Cove employees strive to create a wonderful guest experience in all areas of the hotel, and value your business and your feedback. I will follow up on your concerns and ensure this is not repeated in the future. I am happy that your overall experience was amazing and look forward seeing you in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed again at this hotel on June 6 and 7, this will be our 9th year coming to this facility. When we arrived our room was not available which was no problem because we wanted to walk around in town anyway. When we returned at 2:00pm our Bella Loft Suite was available, we just love this room if there are only 2 of us. It is nice not to have someone above you make noise. Check in was a breeze as always. We went down to the lobby bar on Friday evening and enjoyed some drinks with April (bartender) she was very nice and enjoyed talking with her. Only thing that can be improved would be some cleaning to carpeting and painting done. It was noisy on Friday night around 2:00am due to bachlorette parties. Management needs to address the noise issues as not every one is there to party, we like to come for some quiet and relaxing time. Enjoyed the new Tiki Bar drink menu, prices are more reasonable than last year. Always enjoy the music by the pool, not many people out that day but still enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, well appointed, suites and that our staff was able to make your stay most enjoyable. We have new security personal on property to help control the noise issues you expressed. Thanks again for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the future! Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had such bad customer service at the hotel and I did not even stay there. The front desk is horrible!!! Rude, unpleasant, and make you feel very unwelcome. I have never wrote a bad reveiw before on a place, but this just made me because the service was just that made. I am getting married and was looking at hotel accomdations. The front desk front desk was so rude to me and my mom that I will not be back there again or even allow my guests to stay there. I could not believe how rude and unproffesional they were. Not only to me and my mom, but even to this older couple in their 70s or 80s that was there by the front desk as well that was asking them questions. I believe they were guests at the hotel. The first time that I was there as well to receive contact information of the sales manager to block my rooms, the front desk girl was not that pleasant either. I am just very astonished on how such a hospitality place can have such poor staffing. I went to all the other top hotels downtown and received wonderful service from all plus got to look at all the room options available and the whole hotel. The other hotels were so nice and helped with all my questions that they could answer and giving me their sales manager information on top of it. The two front desk girls would not even allow me to look at any of the facility or look at the rooms. I came back again about an hour after just to ask a simple question about the rooms and to see if I could look at a room. They told me to come back at 2pm and I could look at a room or two. I went back at 2pm and they said I could not look at a room and to come back in the middle of the week. I was very upset and they were not even willing to accomadate me in anyway or even be able to assist me.
Horrible, Horrible, Horrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Front Office Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter our attention. This past weekend the hotel was sold out. On Sunday morning when all our guests are checking out & also preparing for our check-ins at 3pm it’s very hard to promise a room prior to 3:00pm on a sold out night the evening before. Our check in time is @ 3pm for our arriving guests for the day that we guarantee the room ready by 3:00pm. This allows our staff to prepare the suites prior to any arrivalsl and services stay overs. I would like to offer you a personal tour of the property to all of our 7 types of suite for you to review for your upcoming event. We can set up an appointment that works with your schedule give me a call at 262 249 9461 x 181
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Cove because there was a deal on one of the online sites. This hotel is a bit dated. It rents as a time share unit with a minimal kitchen and a hotel sized room. There was nothing wrong with it, but this is not luxury accommodations to say the least. The TV was small, the bed was a bit old, and the kitchen was really a waste of time. But the location is great, right on the lake in Lake Geneva. I would stay here again, though it's similar in quality to a nice Motel 6.

Room Tip: Lake view is great if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Since the change in management at the hotel in late 2012, the owners and the management company have working together to make some upgrades to the hotel. New bedding package, new linen services for our guest rooms, upgraded in-room guest amenities, higher wireless internet speeds, Alterra Coffee bar in our lobby, and owners units upgrade, is just a small taste of what to come. Visit us again soon and give us opportunity to show you more that The Cove has to offer. We appreciate your business and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was planning to spend the night with my girls at the Cove of lake Geneva. I got a deal through groupon and wanted to go for my 19th Birthday. When they told me I had to be 21 to check in the hotel I asked to see the manager and he was nothing but RUDE. He told me to leave his hotel, said he didn't care what happened from there but that I should leave. (My mother, who is obviously over 21, was willing to come stay at the hotel as well, because she was local enough, and as I mentioned this to the lady at the counter she told me "No, we wont check you into our hotel" Happy birthday to me?
The New General manager, Tony, refused to help my mom cancel her other ($1,000+ worth of) Hotel rooms after this disappointment. she had to do it online.

I get it, I'm mature for my age as a 19 year old, but This man is so immature. Unless tony leaves, My family and I wont ever come back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Hotel next door are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
It clearly states in the Groupon you purchased that you must be 21 or older to check in. It also states on the Groupon that a 4-day cancellation notice is required prior to check-in or reservation is non-refundable. In regards to your future reservation that you made through a Third party. The reservation must be canceled through that third party you booked your reservations with. I have received the cancellation request from your third party provider and have cancelled your reservation on our system. It is my duty as the General Manager to enforce the policies and producers of this hotel to be consistent with all my guests, to protect my hotel and owners assists. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove of Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove of Lake Geneva

Address: 111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove of Lake Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning shoreline of Geneva Lake and in the heart of town, The Cove of Lake Geneva is the ideal hotel for everything from girls shopping getaways and family vacations to romantic weekends and business travel. Guests will find exceptional comfort in our all-suite resort featuring the areas most exclusive setting, all within walking distance to Lake Geneva’s main attractions.The Cove proudly offers 222 spacious suites complete with all the amenities you need for an exceptional stay. Our all-suite resort features fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spacious balconies or patios. Guests may choose from a variety of room suite options to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cove of Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Of Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Cove Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Cove
The Cove Lake Geneva Wi
Cove Hotel Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove of Lake Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.