We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families with young children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark to your Saves list
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Hainesville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good for families with young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This water park is suited for families with young children rather than families with teenagers. The water park is small when compared to Wisconsin Dells parks (about 30000 square feet, compared with 125000 for Kalahari) or even Key Lime Cove in Gurnee. One advantage is that it has the Grand Geneva facilities available for your use.
The room was "suite style", with ample room for my family, which includes my wife and two sons, 8 and 5. It had a fireplace, a whirlpool, a full size kitchen with stove and fridge, and dinner table, so you can save some money by preparing some meals in the room. The room also has a small balcony.
The Smokey's restaurant is just average. Nothing really special, but not bad either. The service at the restaurant was good as they were very attentive to everyone's needs.
One night there were some teenagers running around the halls and it was very, very loud. We had to call the front desk and they made sure the kids stopped very quickly. We were happy the staff handled it quickly, but also disappointed that the noise travelled so easy. I would suggest requesting the top floor to minimize noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. Noise from kids running/playing in the halls travels easily to lower leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Luis T ~ Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at Timber Ridge Lodge. Many would agree that our waterpark is geared towards younger children, which is a benefit to those families who feel comfortable in a smaller environment. Also, we are not open to the public like a lot of other hotel waterparks are. I apologize for the noise issues you experienced. I am happy to hear it was resolved quickly. I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon! ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    239
    72
    49
    32
See reviews for
553
29
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've been to Grand Geneva twice before. Our friends wanted to go skiing as they are from Texas. We decided to stay at Timber Ridge and were pleasantly surprised. Our kids are 10 and 7 and haven't been to a hotel with a larger waterpark. They loved it!. Our friends who have been to places like Great Wolf Lodge thought that the waterpark was great too and the slides were also fun for them. The kids enjoyed the arcade area. We ate at Smoky's and thought the food and service were excellent! We booked a kids eat free one meal deal. We stayed in a 1 BR suite and we enjoyed the extra space. The small balconies were a nice touch to step out. We would probably stay at Timber Ridge instead of the Grand Geneva side the next time we are in the area as we still had access to the spa/fitness center. We were able to go over there and play basketball. There was a Facebook promotion with 10 dollar lift tickets and all the kids had a great skiing/snowboarding experience. We didn't have a problem with bugs or noise. Our rooms were countryside and on the second floor. We had a view of the fields and a barn. The bed was a little on the soft side. Our 10 year old was comfortable on the sleeper sofa and our 7 yo said it was a little uncomfortable. The kitchen area of the room was well stocked incl dishes, toaster, coffee maker, and dish washing soap. We used the microwave and full size refrigerator. There was a coffee maker and toaster. The bathroom had a large whirlpool jacuzzi bath with seats. We stayed one night and were given bracelets to go to the water park the day of check in and the next day we checked out. We used the locker room facilities and they were comfortable with several showers.

Room Tip: Our rooms were countryside and on the second floor. We were two families travelling together and wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
PLEC_13 ~ Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay at Timber Ridge Lodge. It certainly sounds like you and your friends were able to enjoy many of the amenities that we have to offer on property. I am delighted to hear that you will stay with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first experience at the Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark. Our stay was very relaxing. The customer service was stellar. Shortly after our arrival we noticed that our toilet was leaking all over the bathroom floor. I called the front desk and they fixed it right away.
We ate at Smokey's Bar-b-que House for dinner and breakfast. The prices were comparable to a non-resort restaurant, and the portions were large.
While at the waterpark, we had snacks at Hungry Moose Food Court. It was a nice change to not see outrageous waterpark snack bar prices.
During our stay, I only have two complaints. The first was the size of the waterpark locker room. It was so small that if more than 3 people were trying to change, there was no room for anyone else. And second when the people in the room above us flushed the toilet, it shook our whole room like an earthquake.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are not actually pool side. Our room had views of the electrical meters, and was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
NorthernDesign~ Thank you for taking the time to share your Timber Ridge experience. I am happy that you were able to relax and enjoy yourself while you were our guest. I apologize that you had an issue with your toilet but I am happy we were able to resolve it immediately. I hope that you will be able to visit us again soon. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed here twice, last year and this year. Last year our room was in the Grand Geneva, which has much nicer facilities overall. If you come here, I recommend staying there. It is a short shuttle ride away from the water park, but the hotel is much nicer.

This year, the water park was full beyond any reasonable capacity. It is hardly a lazy river when people are squeezed in like sardines. Generally, Timber Ridge has fewer slides and other options than the major Dells water parks. On the other hand, if you stay at Grand Geneva the hotel experience is much nicer than any in the Dells.

Our room at Timber Ridge (a one-bedroom suite) was nicely sized, with a kitchen and nice seating area. We liked the gas fireplace.

Service is also excellent. Everyone we dealt with was polite and helpful.

Unfortunately, there are bugs. Not one or two, and not nice-looking little bugs. Both in the middle of the night and in the morning, the bathroom was overrun with black ugly critters. They appeared to be coming out of the sink, but may have come from other places as well. I think I ultimately killed six or seven.

The hotel seems to know there is a problem. They put a little sign on the coffee table saying that certain bugs are native to that region. That's fine - and understandable for a hotel in the woods. But this appeared to be a large infestation of bugs that could be dealt with by an exterminator. It made the place feel dirty, even though housekeeping does a good job.

I cannot recommend this hotel until they fix this issue.

Room Tip: Stay at Grand Geneva.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
cfsmythe1 ~ Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do appreciate your honest feedback. Southern Wisconsin is a highly populated area for box elder bugs. Therefore, we have the cards in the rooms explaining what box elder bugs are for our guests who may not be familiar with them or who come from areas in which they are not prominent. We do contract a pest control company to keep them at a minimum as box elder bugs are considered nuisance pests. This is especially a problem during the cooler months, when they invade the indoors and other man-made structures seeking warmth or a place to live. I want to apologize that you had to experience them during your stay. We value you as a guest and I hope that you will come back and visit the resort again in the future. Regards ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just returned from our 4th stay at Timber Ridge. We were very sad to have to cut this trip short and leave early, but my son became sick (literally) at the restaurant. Thank you to the kind supervisor who brought a stuffed animal, ginger ale and saltines to our room. You made a sick 4 yr old boy happier. We will be back next month to redo this trip when everyone is healthy. I have stayed in both a 1 bdrm and 2 bdrm suite at TR and have never had problems with the room, it's comfortable and the kids really enjoy it. We tried the Dells over Christmas and it was just too much for our kids who are 2 and 4. We are happy with Timber Ridge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Michb_10 ~ Thank you for your Trip Advisor posting and for your continued loyalty to Timber Ridge Lodge. I am sorry that your trip had to be cut short due to your son’s illness. I hope he is feeling better. I did let Sara, our supervisor in Smokey’s Bar-B-Que know that you appreciated the gift basket. We love to take care of our guests here at Timber Ridge. Since you are planning a return visit please make sure you sign up for our email blasts that will inform you of any special packages /rates that we will be offering. See you soon ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our first stay (Mar 1-3) at Timber Ridge Lodge and we are family of four. We had 1BR unit that was clean and comfortable with a nice fireplace. My only complaint is that the walls are thin. The first night we had a family above us that was incredible noisy until about 2am and a call to security did not help. Otherwise, the second night was fine. There is a quiet hour policy of 11pm-7am. The water park is clean and well staffed with life guards. It can get crowded in the afternoon. The resort had a craft activities and movies on Saturday for the kids, and a nice bedtime story event Saturday night. There is also a Chuck E. Cheese style game room with arcade games. Overall, we had a nice time and plan to return in the future. As an aside, there was a big Irish dancing event this weekend and the place was jammed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
ChicagoToddd ~ I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Timber Ridge Lodge on Trip Advisor. It is always nice to hear that our guests, especially first time guests like yourself, had a nice time and plan to return. I do want to apologize for the noise issues that you experienced. I am sorry that the issue was not resolved for you during your stay. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Regards, Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We are currently staying here and it is absolutely horrific. We have a 2 bedroom suite. The room is cramped and not as large as expected. Poorly positioned couch and tv making it difficult to watch. Fireplace, when turned on left a gassy smell and havent used it since. All 3 beds gave us all itches and hives. Sheets are itchy and had holes. If i am going to be paying 300+ per night i want some decent linens.

Room Tip: Just dont come here, the rooms are crap and overpriced. Better off driving extra 2 hours to wisconsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
figs35805~ Since you are still a guest here at the hotel I would like to discuss your stay with you and resolve your situation immediately. Please contact my office at 262-249-3476 or come down to the front desk. Regards~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.