We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway for Kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Getaway for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent three days/two nights on a Sun thru Tue over Presidents Day. Great value if you can avoid peak times, otherwise make sure to find a good package. Our kids (3 and 5) had a great time and the water park was appropriate for them for all except the solo tunnel slide (some stuff needed accompaniment by adults at thier age/height). The resort is set up to make it an easy experience. Arcade can get loud at busy times, and pricey, but still fun for the kids. Did not have a chance to try the onsite restaurant or the nearby faciliteis at the rest of Grand Geneva, but suspect that is a great option for the adults if the kids are self-sustaining age back at the room. Rooms are nice and set up well for bringing your own food. You get water park passes for each of the days you are there, including check in day and check out day (check out time is 11 am). So if you can get in your room early (check in time is 3 pm), you can get some good water park time for the kids. We avoided the last day as the hassle of packing up and being "transient" seemed difficult, although they do have changing areas and lockers. Probably easier in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
DSandJK~ Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Timber Ridge. I was delighted that your family had a great time during your recent visit. I hope that you will be able to come back soon to enjoy some of the other activities that we have on property. Please sign up for our email blasts that will keep you informed on any special rates/packages we will be running. Regards~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    216
    65
    48
    29
See reviews for
499
21
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wauconda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a great time. Our kids are ages 3 through 8. They had so much fun! Though it's not as big as the Dells, it wasn't as crowded and it was close to home. The room (the two room suite) was large and had everything we needed for meals. We will be going again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Laurel B~ Thank you for your recent post. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent getaway to Timber Ridge Lodge. I am happy that our suites accommodated the needs of your family. I hope you have signed up for our email blasts so that you can be aware of any special rates/packages that we are running. We look forward to having you back soon. Regards~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been staying at Timber Ridge for several years, and with every year the staff becomes more unfriendly. This time we called in advance required the room in the South wing of the building (the North wing is noisy because of the load dock on the corner) - and were assured that the room is already allocated as we wanted, with the view on the stables. During the checkout, we were given the room in the opposite wing, and told that no rooms in the South wing are available. All attempts to refer to the prev. conversation were to no avail - "we have no rooms". After quite a scene, requested to speak to the manager, and guess what, the room has materialized right away.

This lying staff however is apparently highly trained to provide "security". In the previous years one family member was making the reservation, another checking in, never a problem - but now it became one. "For security purposes". If I call the room, I have to spend 2 minutes being interrogated by the operator, have to spell last name of the person who made the reservation, or they won't connect. "For security purposes". Every caller must know who made the reservation?

Enjoy your security, Timber Ridge, it was last time we stayed in your place.

Room Tip: Choose South wing
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Vadim R~ Thank you for your recent posting. It is our goal to make certain that all your expectations are met and exceeded during your stay. I apologize that your request was not immediately honored upon check-in. I am glad that in the end it was resolved for you. The safety and security of all of our guests is a priority to us. We do have procedures in place to ensure that our guest’s privacy and security are never compromised. If you would like to discuss your stay further I can be reached at 262-249-3450.~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife, 3 year old daughter, and I went Sunday-Tuesday. Our daughter loved the water park, and we found the staff to be extremely helpful. Had an in-room babysitter one night, who our daughter really enjoyed. Had a great dinner at the Chophouse. The fold out couch in the one bedroom suite is not extremely comfortable (probably all right for kids). We have been several times, and have always had a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Martin M~ Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that your family had another great experience at Timber Ridge Lodge and that you and your wife were able to enjoy dinner together at the Chophouse. I am pleased to announce that we are currently in the process of replacing all of the sofa beds and lounge chairs in our suites. The project should be complete by May. We hope to see you again soon! Regards~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We live approx. 20 miles from Timber Ridge and for about 6 years now we have made one-night reservations for our family to stay overnight on the Sunday before the Monday in February which happens to be a no school day (due to teacher in-service). We still go even though our oldest child has moved out on her own, and are pleased to observe that the waterpark and resort continues to be well maintained, offers a variety of food choices and were glad to see this year that the arcade has updated and simplified its point reward system to eliminate all those paper tickets :) The oly thing this time was that when we arrived on Sunday, the waterpark was jam-packed and in talking with some of the people there, it seems to be a result of a popular local church fundraiser event that they hold there. However, the crowd thinned out by early evening and on Monday it was not so crowded.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
mushrooms106~Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your loyalty to Timber Ridge Lodge. I was delighted to read that your family has been coming to Timber Ridge for the past six years. Since you do live close by, I hope that you have signed up for our email blasts which will alert you to any special rates/packages that we are running. Our arcade has recently switched over from using individual tokens to a points card system which has been very popular with our guests. We are always looking for ways to improve the Timber Ridge experience. Thanks for noticing! Regards~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thought I would share my experience. Today, I called to book a 2 bedroom suite. I had started the booking process online so I knew the various prices. I called to reserve so I could ask questions. The person I spoke to quoted me a rate that was approx $150 more than the online rate. I told her what the online price was. She said, "oh, I don't know about that, no I don't think so, oh wait, yes I do see that rate." Are you intentionally trying to rip off hard working families? We were planning on staying one night. So I asked her what time the water park is available. She informed me that you cannot enter the water park until 1pm on the day you check in. I responded with surprise, and she immediately asked if I would like to book a room for 2 nights. Absolutely not! I have small children, mornings are key, I'm not going to drive to your resort and sit around a restaurant or game room for hours waiting to get in. If this place does not have the capacity to allow guests checking in to use the water park on arrival, then the price needs to be greatly adjusted, I was completely turned off by this encounter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We live in Chicago and we were looking for a place to take our two year old and seven month old children, we definetly found the right place. Our stay was pleasant, we played board games, which we checked out for free at the front desk by the fire place. We also spent lots of time in the kiddie pool which was warmer than the lazy river and the other pool, which was great for our seven month old. Overall great experience, can't wait to go back next year and take the oldest sking.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
martianed~ One of my greatest joys as a General Manager is to read that families came to Timber Ridge and were able to have quality family time which is so precious in today’s busy lifestyle. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back in the future. Regards~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.