We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice waterpark, nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice waterpark, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We (self, husband and 9 yr old son) stayed at TimberRidge over Thanksgiving. Our room was comfortable and very clean, with complete kitchen, pans and dishes included (full size refrigerator, microwave oven, dishwasher, electric cooktop but sans oven). Gas fireplace kept us cozy and jacuzzi tub was a bonus. Two flat screen TV's kept us all happy, one for football and one for cartoons! The water park was fun with 1 tube slide, 1 body slide, lily pad/basketball pool, small zero depth area, lazy river, indoor/outdoor hot tub and an adult-only sitting area and hot tub. One more water feature would be an improvement, but I don't think they are planning to expand. The staff were very pleasant although the life guards could be more attentive. Forget the coffee - even the gift shop served a bland diner brand. This was our second stay (we stayed in August when the outdoor pools were also open) Get on the e-mail list - Timber Ridge offers discount deals through email.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Carolyn B ~ Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It sounds like you enjoyed all of the amenities Timber Ridge has to offer. I was thrilled to hear that our rooms had everything your family needed to make your stay comfortable and memorable. I have shared your comments with our aquatics director on where we can make improvements in training our waterpark associates. Please continue to check your email for special promotions and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    217
    65
    48
    29
See reviews for
500
22
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were staying for 3 nights with 7 yo and 16 mo boys. It was our first visit to Timber Lodge.
It was great. Good price and a lot of activities (including the climb wall, tennis, etc in fitness building). The atmosphere was very nice. All staff were very polite and attentive. We felt very comfortable and relaxed. Definetely we will return. It is a great place for the families with the kids for 2-3 nights. We also liked a restaraunt in Grand Geneva. The waitresses were absolutely amazing (despite the mess that our 16 mo has created around our table).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
elena s ~ Thank you for sharing your Timber Ridge Adventure! I am glad that the whole family was able to enjoy many of the fun activities to do on property. We understand how cherished family time is, and appreciate that you chose Timber Ridge as your family destination. Please make sure to sign up for our email blasts to inform you of our special offers so that we can welcome you back to Timber Ridge soon! Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It is a very good waterpark for little children clean, safe and very warm. The rooms are roomy and clean. The prices are fairly high and food and drink are far too expensive. go into town for dinner and bring breakfast and lunch. You can prepare those in your room as each room has a kitchen. Know ahead of time a 15 dollar a day campus charge!

Room Tip: If you don't want a smoking room say it right away. ours smelled like it was a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Trenlaur~ Thank you for your comments. The Resort Fee includes a number of amenities (on campus transportation, daily bottled water, coffee in room, arcade credits & wi-fi, to name a few). In regards to the smoking comment, I apologize for the odor that you experienced in your room. Timber Ridge is a 100% smoke free facility and I am very sorry that you experienced that. I have notified my housekeeping team to recheck the room for any odor. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Timber Ridge again soon. Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I were ask to watch one of our daughters 4 sons for a 2 days that they were off school and she had to work. They range in age from 3 to 14 years old. We enjoy water activities in the summer, and Timber Ridge gave us away to that in the fall. It is several days past our stay and all four are still talking about how they enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Bring with some food to cook or snacks. The full equipped kitchen is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Kawamw~ Thank you for choosing Timber Ridge as a place to enjoy special time with your grandsons. Our team takes great pride in making lasting memories for our guests, and I was glad to read that your whole family enjoyed their time with us. We hope you continue to come back for future family getaways for years to come!

Thanks again for choosing Timber Ridge Lodge and Waterpark! Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Timber Ridge. It is located very close to the Chicago suburbs, only about a 45 minute from us, which makes it a much easier trip than the Wisconsin Dells. The rooms are spacious, we've stayed in both 1 and 2 bedroom. The bathrooms are nice with a big jacuzzi. Toiletries include shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. No body wash. Soap, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, bath provided. The kitchenette comes with everything you need: stove, dishwasher, frig, microwave, coffee machine, coffee, blender, toaster, paper towels, dish soap, sponge, pots/pans, salt&pepper, ice cream scooper, wine bottle and can opener, utensils, cups, plates and bowls. The only thing missing is an oven. The living room has a queen size sofa sleeper (not very comfortable, but I have yet to find a comfortable sofa sleeper) and there is a separate bedroom with a king size bed. There is a 6 person dining table with additional bar stools at the kitchen counter. Walls are thick so pretty sound proof.

My biggest complaint is the internet and cell phone service. The brick walls are thick so I am never able to get much reception with my cell phone. The wireless (which is included in the resort fee) is so spotty is very difficult to use. I have to disconnect and reconnect every couple of minutes. Better to find another source of wifi.

Timber Ridge offers arts and crafts activities and movies. There is also an arcade, pony/horse riding, lego session for additional cost. In the winter, there is skiing. From Thanksgiving week through New Years, you can view the light show. We loved all the lights!

The water park is not as big as Wilderness or Kalahari in Wisconsin Dells, but the kids still enjoyed it. There is an adult only hot tub, as well as a family hot tub that connects outside. There are two large slides, one is a body slide, the other is for tubes, double or single. There is a toddler area with little slides, water sprouts, etc. Another area for older kids with basekball hoops, etc. Also a lazy river for everyone. Pools towels are provided, although they are small and thin. You can purchase food, drinks, and snacks. Bring quarters for lockers if needed.

We first visited 2 years ago, and for our third visit, my kids at the ages of 9 and 6 still have a lot of fun there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Lori~ Thank you for your recent post, and for your loyalty to Timber Ridge! I was thrilled to read how much you enjoy your getaways to Timber Ridge Lodge. Our team prides themselves in providing activities for the entire family to enjoy and by the sound of it you have experienced many of the amenities our property has to offer. I will share your comments with the team members to further enhance our guest experiences and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose Park, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've been coming to Timber Ridge for the last 5 years. It's great value for the money and our kids look forward to our annual trip. Many places have "Things" to do but what separates Timber Ridge from the rest is their customer service. It starts with the telephone reservation to check-in to check-out and everything in between.
We also stay at the Grand Geneva a couple of times a year and their customer service is just as outstanding. Whoever hires and trains the staff does a fantastic job. We stayed at Timber Ridge but went for lunch at the Grand Geneva. The reception agent (Lynette) remembered us from our summer trip and asked if we were going to try and get a round of golf in---they do know how to make you feel welcome to say the least. Congrats to the staff---Jack & Nancy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Jmtobin44~Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Timber Ridge Lodge and Waterpark. I sincerely appreciate your loyalty to Timber Ridge. We do pride ourselves on the personalized service of our associates and I will share your comments with our team. Our guests are very important to us and we look forward to having you back again soon! Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our second trip to Timber Ridge & we loved it again! Our first trip we didn't realize that they offered horseback riding, skiing and the spas to the Timber Ridge Waterpark guests as well. I thought it was for the Grand Guests. so on this trip we took advantage of the horseback riding! It was a beautiful day (the last day of 60's weather too!) and I must say our guide Alex was great too! The price was great! (definately cheaper than in the 'burbs of Chicago) I would definately reccommend this lovely place to everyone - And they always run a special package just when I need one! Like the report card special! (hint...hint to Timber Ridge!) It'll fit your budget and is worth every penny!

Room Tip: You can bring your own stuff to eat - like snacks, microwave food or if you want to cook you can bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Christine C ~ Thank you so much for your positive comments about your recent stay at Timber Ridge Lodge. I am glad that you were able to enjoy several of the amenities that our property has to offer our guests. If you haven’t already please sign up for our email blasts so you are aware of our upcoming specials on room rates. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.