We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Purchased a simple bday party package through the resort at $15 a child. Included admission into waterpark, food and tokens. Thought it was a great value and a really nice resort for younger kids. My child is 3 and loved it! Was able to go on almost everything including the large slide with me. Booked through email and a couple calls and they even refunded me extra tickets that weren't used.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Heather T. ~ Happy Birthday to your child! We love being able to create wonderful moments and memories for our guests. We look forward to celebrating their 4th birthday next year! Thank you for choosing Timber Ridge.
~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    231
    71
    48
    31
See reviews for
524
24
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lake Geneva is a great place to visit for a weekend and has many nice places to stay at. After reading many reviews I settled on the Timber Ridge and was very disappointed overall. It is not the most expensive place to stay in Lake Geneva but it is definitely not one of the cheapest either. The towels were extremely stiff and they actually give you the option of buying them at $25 a piece! The bed pillows were the hardest and flatest pillows I have ever seen in my life. I had to go to Target to buy pillows for us to sleep on. The waterpark is mediocre at best even for smaller children. The hallways and especially the elevators were extremely dingy. They do a great job at trying to be a "green" hotel but the lighting in the rooms is extremely poor. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
KKramer57 ~ I am sorry to learn that we failed in meeting and exceeding your expectations. Your candid feedback allows us to see areas where we may need to improve. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail please feel free to contact me directly by email or phone: lesliejohnson@timberridgeresort.com or 262.249.3450.

Kind regards,
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Well let me start by saying when you check into a hotel room and you put your luggage down and set off a mouse trap you might worry a little. After calling the front desk they said it was preventive measures since the hotel is located close to the horse barn. When the engineer guy came to remove the two baited traps he said they usually remove them before guest come. The room is your typical average condo style family room. It is vary spacious but the furniture is outdated. They did have flat screen tv's and internet thats a bonus. The resort is nice and lots to do. Being attached with the Grand Geneva adds some value. All in all next time I will probably pay the $100 more to stay at the Grand Geneva Property. The BBQ rest we ate at was mediocre at best. Have a great day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the water park. If not lots of walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Squared99999 ~ Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Timber Ridge and for bringing this to my attention. I am so sorry for the poor first impression you were given. I will be speaking with my engineering team to ensure this does not reoccur. Thank you again.

~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently booked two nights at Timber Ridge Resort and we loved our mini vacation. The water park had something for everyone but catered to the little ones. Very family oriented and clean! Everyone is super friendly and the place is well maintained. There is free trolley service to take you all along the great property including a petting zoo and of course the Grand Geneva. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Very spacious and well equipped. The layout was perfect. The only negative was the noise levels in the hallways and between the rooms. But this is a family resort and noisy active little ones come with the territory. We will be back and we can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Mommyofsofa ~ We love having the petting zoo on property, its such a fun thing to do as a family and I am happy to learn you got to experience it! Please be sure to sign up for our email blasts to learn about different packages and opportunities to save. Thank you for choosing Timber Ridge!
~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed one night and had such a great time. Our kids loved it. The inside water park was super warm which was a very nice change from some of the wisconsin dlls insid water parks. They had activities for younger kids such as craft projects and pajama story time where they provide milk and cookies. We stayed in the suite which provided a great place to store all of our snacks. This is a very family focused hotel, you will not find groups of people sitting around drinking inside the water park which was a nice change from the kalahari.
This is probably not for older children (older than 15 or so), but a fabulous place for little kids.
They keep the water the warmest near the toddler slides which was a refreshing change from every other place we had been where it can be so cold for little one and adults.

Room Tip: We chose a suite so we could keep snacks, milk etc. inside a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Mary R. ~ I am happy to hear the water temperature was enjoyable and that you and your family were able to participate in some of the other experiences we offer. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!
~ Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Family of 5 stayed for 2 nights in larger condo. Great room, had 2 bathrooms. Waterpark was great, plenty to do and fun to just lounge in the lazy river. Had breakfast at Smokey's which was good and reasonable priced. Staff was attentive in the waterpark, lifeguards very visible. I do not remember names but staff in the arcade was awesome and the person taking my reservation was very accomodating and patient with all of my questions. Check in was a breeze. Great family fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Frank P. ~ Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Timber Ridge. We strive to provide all of our guests with excellent customer service and I am happy to learn we achieved that during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!
~Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had never stayed here before and figured we would give it a shot since we wanted a few days away at the end of summer and a water park for the kids (7 and 9). We looked at the Dells, but Timer ridge was closer and the rooms were cheaper. Glad we did since we will be going back for sure.

The water park is small but entertaining enough. Best for kids overall. The lazy river is great. Best of all the water temperature is awesome and warm. The indoor/outdoor hot pool was entertaining for the kids. The outdoor pools and areas were basic but fun nonetheless.

They had kid activities throughout the day - Karaoke, bingo, crafts, movies, etc. all for free along with some paid stuff out front of the water park entrance. The game room was also fun. We dint even need to buy tokens since we got enough free ones spending a little time at the kid activities (you get tokens often for participating in things).

The BBQ restaurant was good. Not great but definitely worth checking out. The beef brisket sandwich was huge and awesome. We just drove down the street a couple of miles to the downtown area and ate there most of the time.

Having the horse stables close by was a real treat. The kids loved feeding the animals and we even did a horse back ride one day.

The room was great. Lots of space and having a kitchen was wonderful. We hit the big Walmart down the street for groceries and had a good breakfast every morning. The only bad thing were the pillows. They are flat and crappy. Ask for a lot of extra's or bring your own like we will do next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
JAhlbeg~ Thank you so much for taking the time to share your family’s experience with us at Timber Ridge! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please be sure to sign up for our email blast to learn about exciting offers and promotions. We look forward to seeing you again.
~Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.