We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for kids, families; enjoyed our first waterpark stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark to your Saves list
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great fun for kids, families; enjoyed our first waterpark stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Had a really nice time at Timber Ridge on Sun-Mon of Presidents Day weekend in what was our first stay at an indoor waterpark hotel. Our boys, 7 and 4, loved all of the waterpark - they had a very cool long tube slide that the 7 year old could ride alone and the 4 year old could ride with Mom or Dad; an activity pool with a rope bridge, slides and basketball hoops, and a lazy river that everyone could enjoy riding. We had a one-bedroom suite; we got a rollaway bed brought in for the 7 year old and the 4 year old slept on the pullout couch. The room upstairs was a little noisy, but we were all wiped out from the waterpark and slept fine.

Room was clean and well-maintained and reminiscent of a nicer Embassy Suites. It had a kitchen and we brought in our own breakfast food. The boys were happy to have hotdogs and pizza slices by the pool for dinner and lunch, but there is a BBQ restaurant onsite (and easy access to Grand Geneva resort for more upscale dining, the spa and ski area.) My only wish was that the waterpark would have opened at 9 instead of 10 on Monday. All in all, great family fun and the kids are already asking about when we can go back, which will be soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent post!

I am glad to read that your first indoor waterpark experience turned out so well and that you enjoyed the room and dining accommodations. It sounds like you were able to explore other parts of the property as well!

We look forward to welcoming back the entire family!

Leslie Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    284
    81
    55
    39
See reviews for
679
32
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I love this place. The kids ( 3 and 5) love it. They just can't get enough of the waterpark and arcade. They hate to leave. We stayed 2 nights and everything was fabulous. The staff is very friendly and attentive. 1-bedrooms are very nice and comfy with sofa sleeper. The fireplace is nice, but gets the room really hot. Best of all, it is only a short drive from Chicago.

Room Tip: Lower level close to waterpark/activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

I am thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful time. I agree it is great to be so close to Chicago. We look forward to welcoming back you and your family.

Thank you again for choosing Timber Ridge!

Leslie Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was our third stay at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark and we had a great time each time. We feel they have a great price for the room that includes the waterpark tickets for your room occupants for all the days of your stay. The rooms are very spacious. All include a kitchenette (everything except an oven), a fireplace, balcony, separate bedroom with door, and pull out sofa. It's great that the kids can go to sleep earlier and you can still have some privacy with your spouse or companion. The waterpark is small, but sufficient for a nice getaway from the Chicagoland area. The chlorine level is higher than anywhere else we've ever been, so beware of wearing your favorite swimsuit. Very relaxing though and very pleasant staff!

Room Tip: I honestly don't know if there's a bad room in the place. If you wanted closer to the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent post and your loyalty as a frequent guest!

I am happy to read that you enjoy the room accomodations and your family continues to create lasting memories at Timber Ridge.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Leslie Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This place is one of the best places for winter getaway from Chicago. We were there only one night but stayed next day until 3pm at the indoor water park. Everything was great - big rooms, service and food at the water park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Timber Ridge. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you were able to stay and enjoy the waterpark the next day as well. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you again for choosing Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark!

Leslie Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, In
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We were scheduled to stay Feb 7 - Feb 10, 2011. Unfortunately, we left a day early because there just weren't enough activities to keep our young daughters busy. Timber Ridge Lodge advertises both inside and outdoor activities, but the outdoor activities just didn't work out.
Waterpark was good. It kept our 2 young daughters busy for 2 days. However, I would not recommend going to the waterpark right when it opens during the winter because it seems to take awhile to heat up the air in the park (same for the water).
Biggest disappointment was the lack of sledding, skiing, and ice skating. It was cold enough to skate, but the on-site skating rink was closed. The sledding hill didn't make it's own snow (the staff told us before we went). But the staff didn't tell us that the small ski hill was only open in the afternoon and evenings during midweek. For us, this caused a problem with our children's schedule and we wish this information would've been passed during our booking.

We rented a 2 bedroom suite. It was clean and comfortable. Kitchen was properly stocked. The only downside was the heating units were a bit loud, making it somewhat difficult to watch television.

Overall, average resort for the money. But we expected more based on our conversation with the hotel when we booked this trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volo, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The Timber Ridge Lodge and Waterpark is a great family destination. With big, clean rooms, a great waterpark for our 18 month old, and customer service that is top notch, we will definitely return to this great destination.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent posting! It is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed the accommodations and experienced the customer service we strive to provide. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that we can help you to create lasting memories.

Thank you again for choosing Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark!

Leslie Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We just happened to bid on a stay at Timber Ridge in a silent auction at a charitable event we had attended---neither of us was familiar with the resort until we visited this past weekend. What a great place!!! So much more than I expected . . . we've paid twice as much for a stay at a hotel with an indoor waterpark without a suite-style room (separate bedroom, living room, dining area, and full kitchen). Yes, the waterpark is smaller, but there's SO MUCH more to do than just the waterpark---that's just one very small part of the whole Grand Geneva Resort complex. There are several excellent on-site restaurants (we highly recommend both the Grand Cafe and the Geneva Chophouse), a full spa, fitness center with free classes, a ski hill and lodge, free ice rink and sledding hill, horse stables with a free petting zoo, and tons of activities for kids. Who knew?!? LOTS of fun things to do there, both with and w/o kids.

Our only complaint (tho minor) was the pitiful pillows that were in our room. They could stand to be replaced.

Other than that, we absolutely loved it. We'll be going back again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! We strive to provide fun and memorable experiences for our guests and it sounds like you were able to explore the property and participate in some of the activities we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you again for choosing Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark.

Leslie Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
5.5 mi away
Geneva Ridge Resort
Geneva Ridge Resort
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baker House
Baker House
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.