We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like everyone says-Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Baker House to your Saves list
Baker House
327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Like everyone says-Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I surprised my husband with a weekend at the Baker House for his birthday. The house is amazing, as is the service of the staff. We stayed in the Champagne suite, which I chose because of the amazing shower in the bathroom. The room itself is very nicely appointed, although it would have been nice to have some more sitting areas besides the bed. We stayed during the Winter Festival weekend. Even though the house itself was busy, we always had a table ready in the restaurant and it never felt overly crowded. Also, the common areas for the hotel guests were really nice and comfortable-amazing views of the lake. If you can, stay over on a Saturday night. Their champagne brunch on Sundays is literally the most sumptuous brunch I have ever seen! Seriously, I wish I would have fasted the day before so I could have done justice to everything they offered.

Complimentary champagne when you check in, wonderful butler service and they helped us dig our car out when we left on Sunday morning in the middle of a blizzard-really wonderful! It is quite pricey so I'm not sure we will ever stay there again, but we might make the trip to Kenosha for brunch.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manteno, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Our stay last week was wonderful. Everyone there was great, food and drink perfect. With only four suites you are waited on in a very special way. My wife and I can't wait to return, great couples retreat !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms great, some face the lake .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

What a STUNNING property! The Baker House holds so many treasured memories in my heart and it all started last December. My boyfriend took me to tour the Maxwell Mansion and visit the Baker House as future venues for our wedding. Little did I know, he was going to propose in the Baker House once the tour was over. It was magical and I was blown away at the beauty of everything!! We knew that this was where we would say “I do” in October of 2014. We locked in October 11, 2014 and was able to secure our ceremony at the Baker House!

The Baker House is immaculately decorated and kept in the most pristine condition. From the décor, to the glassware to the unique tables, it offers such a variety of vintage touches. The food at the Baker House is absolutely delicious! Each dish is made with love and consideration and you can tell it’s all made from scratch and from recipes that are unique. Their pretzel bites are to die for!!! So delicious and simple; it was one of our late night snacks at our reception at the Maxwell Mansion.

Everyone at the Baker House makes your stay absolutely luxurious and perfect…there is no middle here. It’s all high end service. On the day of our wedding, our guests sat outside, in the front yard. The landscaping of the property was gorgeous and didn’t need any additional help from our florist. There was no need when everything looked like a fairytale to begin with. With the sun shining, no clouds in sight and a beautiful afternoon, we couldn’t have asked for a better day. The Baker House was able to accommodate our larger wedding (175 guests) and they all sat comfortably.

The day after our wedding, we went to the Baker House for their famous Sunday brunch. What a feast! Their spread of food was incredible. From their beef stews, to the French toast, to the pastries… the list could go on and on. It was a great way to end the weekend with family and friends!

The Baker House is such a fantastic bed and breakfast, venue for weddings, place for dinners and brunches, and you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Small property overlooking Lake Geneva. Rooms are very nicely done, butler service throughout the hotel, formal but very fun. Only stayed one night as I was passing through on a business trip, but can't wait to return for a long weekend. Excellent service throughout the entire property and a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel. it's a great hotel. Thank you for a wonderful stay.Room is very nice and i like your breakfast. The location is also very good. Staff are so friendly and well trained. We will absolutely go again

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Had a wonderful weekend at the hotel. We were in the Champagne Suite which was GORGEOUS. Loved the fireplace and shower (big enough for two). Loved having a butler available when we needed him (which wasn't often). Were greeted with a complimentary drink (try the mint spritzer -- tastes like a mock mojito! DELICIOUS!). Brunch was complimentary on Sunday morning and was also delicious. They had a table ready for us anytime we came down, so no reservation is necessary if you're staying in the hotel. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful. Gave fantastic recommendations for things to do locally (like the museum which is NOT what you expect for a small town museum!). They sent us home with water and cookies which were much appreciated for the drive home. Am looking forward to going back!! Was just the romantic hotel we were looking for!!! (Especially for lovers of Victorian decor and hats!!)

My only *complaint* would be that the room service breakfast wasn't much. I like having some sort of protein in the morning and all you get is coffee/tea/juice, a cup of fruit and a couple of croissants each. Granted, everything was delicious, croissants were warm... but it wasn't very filling if you prefer a more substantial breakfast you may have to go into town.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong. There are four rooms and if the others are anywhere near as bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

this very charming hotel with a real soul at the borders of lake geneva is more than worth a visit ... the lovely owners and personel make you feel at home in a minute. breathtaking vieuw over the lake, tasty breakfast, steamcabin ... you have everything to relax and be happy!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House

Address: 327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's NEWEST, MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion.Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco dining & cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms.BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Baker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.