We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Inn on Lake Geneva” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker House

Save Saved
You added Baker House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Baker House
327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Elegant Inn on Lake Geneva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My first time in Lake Geneva, chose Baker House at the recommendation of a friend who grew up in the area. Perfectly located right on the lake, gracious old school hospitality, stunning, sumptuously designed suites. Complete with butler. The only place to stay in town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Baker House is a slice of luxurious heaven in the Midwest. This is the quintessential when old meets new. Imagine the dream of being transported back to the 1920s, to live in a gorgeous Victorian home sitting on the shores of the breathtaking Lake Geneva, with a gracious, discreet staff catering to your every whim. Then, add to that picture, the most extravagant decor, as if you are basking in your lovely Parisian flat, and the most glorious steam showers to wash your every care away. The attention to detail from the decor to the staff's service is impeccable. The gracious hosts, Bethany and Andrew, throw a roaring 20s dinner party in the restaurant, complete with wonderful music, with a "Sun-downer" toast in the delightful garden watching the sun slip down over the lake. Ahh, when I die and go to heaven, this is what it will be.

Room Tip: I adore the Versailles Suite, but you cannot go wrong with any of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This Hotel is amazing!. The rooms are so beautiful with elaborate details. The bathrooms are exquisite!
We stayed in the Versailles Suite. It's a perfect, romantic setting with two beautiful chandeliers, a fire place and a sitting area overlooking the lake.
Jonathon, our butler, was so attentive! He surprised us with a Crème Brulee waiting for us after we came back from dinner and it was delicious! Having homemade croissants in the morning in our sitting are overlooking the lake was priceless!!
Thank you so much for a wonderful, relaxing time!
We can't wait to go back and try a different room; they are all beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We are generally "downstairs" people -- regular jobs, working hard, nothing too fancy. Our recent stay at Baker House made us feel like one of the "upstairs" elite. Employees pampered us and catered to our every request. Our suite was beautiful and luxurious. The sheets smell good. The bathroom floor is heated. We came back each evening to chocolate-covered strawberries waiting for us on the bed. Dinner was wonderful, Sunday brunch incomparable. You owe it to yourself to stay at Baker House.

Room Tip: All the suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

6 stars! My wife and I stayed at The Baker House for a memorable and incredibly pleasant 20 hours. Upon arrival Jonathan our butler gave us a tour of the house, settled us in our room, and brought champagne on a silver dish for us to enjoy. It is a beautiful space filled with all sorts of antiques, books, and every type of old fashion hat. It is like being in a museum (decorated for Christmas of course), except you are encouraged to touch and play with everything! We stayed in the lovely Champagne Suite. Very luxurious and comfortable. We cleaned up for dinner in the large bathroom with the shower affectionately called ‘The Car Wash’ with 6 shower heads. Dinner was a delicious affair, we were seated in large arm chairs in front of a fire for our multi-course dinner of shared small plates. Started with crab soup, followed by baked brie, chicken sliders, and of course the highlight, a dessert of milk chocolate fondue with many things for dipping. Our cocktails were strong and varied, with the whole dinner managed by our attentive butler. Following dinner we settled into lounge chairs in the upstairs window seat to watch the perfect snow storm from the warmth of our second floor window.

After a wonderful night sleep in the comfortable bed we arose to enjoy, simply put, the Best Morning Meal of Our Lives. It was far beyond a breakfast or brunch, the buffet ranging from breakfast favorites like made-to-order eggs benedict, biscuits & gravy, thick cut bacon, and the best French toast I have ever had (with a bananas foster syrup) to lunch fare like crab cakes, artichoke dip, and roast beef. Of course you can’t miss the variety of colorful dessert tables over-flowing with decadent treats. As we finished our 6 or 7th plate we were visited by Santa, who roamed the tables with warm ho-ho-hos and Merry Christmas wishes.

After packing our bags and preparing to head home, we came to our car to find it had already been brushed clean of all the snow from the previous evening. The service was amazing and the scenery impeccable. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Wow! We stayed in the Versailles Suite, and it was worth it. We relaxed in the suite in the turret, which has large windows facing the lake. We sipped wine and watched the sun set after we checked in. Jonathan, our butler, had placed rose petals throughout the suite, had our chocolate covered strawberries and had lit the fireplace for our arrival. I recommend this upgrade.

The steam shower is amazing. And so are the sheets and pillows on the bed. You will feel so pampered. Everything about the experience is top notch. Having coffee in the room in the morning was fantastic.

Have dinner and breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. The food is great and everybody serving you is having fun, so you can't help but enjoy yourself.

The only downside is that we had to leave at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: The hotel only has four guest rooms. All suites. Explore them all online, but if you really want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwoods, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After staying at the Baker House almost 2 years ago, we were hooked on their amazingly attentive service and luxurious accommodations. Not a detail was missed and we felt like royalty. Bethany, the owner, has the most amazing taste in the decor, and her staff dotes on guests like family. This beautiful venue immediately came to mind when we considered places to hold our wedding. Katrina, the general manager, was so excited that we picked their hotel and helped us with every detail: flowers, music, a local minister, a personally planned and prepared dinner, and a whole list of ideas for us after the ceremony: a horse drawn carriage ride, a wine tasting with picnic basket provided, a private dinner overlooking the lake for me and my bride, a lake cruise, and a chauffeured ride in a vintage auto were just some of the choices they brought us to consider, rain or shine. We had a small ceremony upstairs in the lounge overlooking Lake Geneva and Katrina made sure every detail was perfect. It rained all day (good luck we're told) so they chaufeured us to the winery for a nice tasting and picnic then returned us to our room to freshen up for dinner. Chef Ellie planned and delivered an amazing meal just for us, complete with a personalized menu that we brought home to keep. She even baked us our own small wedding cake to enjoy and save for our first anniversary, which we definitely plan to celebrate with our friends at the Baker House. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making our wedding day so special!

Jack and Susan

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House

Address: 327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's NEWEST, MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion.Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco dining & cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms.BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Baker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.