We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique and Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baker House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Baker House to your Saves list
Baker House
327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Cantrall, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Unique and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our son got us a package to spend the evening here for the "trip back in time" experience. I must say it was rather unique. There were many vintage items. The staff really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The willingness to do a little extra to make our experience more enjoyable was everywhere. We really enjoyed the brunch on Sunday morning. The food, the setting and the view were all excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a fabulous and unique place to stay!

We have just spent three days in this delightful hotel, staying in the Provence Suite. The service and attention to detail was top notch.

We were greeted by Bethany, the owner, who was dressed in period clothes, as were all the staff. They all made us feel very welcome and more like honoured guests than customers. All staff took time to greet us and Check if we needed anything throughout our stay. Particular mention must be made of Jonathan, our designated butler, who happily tended to all our needs throughout the day and evenings.

The decor is just fantastic, with many period furnishings and accessories, especially many vintage and retro hats, which guests are encouraged to take advantage of at mealtimes.

It is also (primarily?) a very popular restaurant and there is a great atmosphere around the various busy dining rooms and the bar, but a table was always made available for us immediately we put in an appearance. We particularly enjoyed the 'small', sharing plates that were an option on the menu, and the sunset toast when all diners were invited outside into the gardens with a glass of sparkling wine.

Did I mention the steam shower? Bliss.

Being based in Britain, it is somewhat out of our normal range, but we would just love to go back, especially for one of their speciality evenings which I am sure would be beautifully organised.

If you get the chance to stay here, do so. We were delighted with our stay.

Jim & Caroline

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A beautiful setting. Dinner was more of a unique experience than an epicurean delight. At how many restaurants do you get a 5 stars welcome? From Katrina to every other staff member we were well treated. The restored architecture was wonderful. The food was very interesting. Our group of 8 concentrated on appetizers for dinner. It's definitely a place to experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After reading the reviews on The Baker House my wife and I decided to give it a try. Needless to say the reviews had it right. What a wonderful experience. We drove in early to have their Sunday brunch before checking in to the hotel. Katrina greeted us at the reception area and from then on we were treated to wonderful food, a fantastic suite and outstanding service by the staff. Katrina gave us a tour and some historical highlights of the property before seating us at our table. Brent was our butler and he made the stay at Baker House a journey back in time. He showed us to our suite and the second floor lounge areas for guests with the wonderful antiques and period décor. It captured a snapshot in time when the house was at it's prime and how the people might have lived in such elegance even if it was only their summer cottage. Brent was always available and provided us with fantastic service during our stay. Both brunch and dinner were excellent and the sunset toast was a delight. Check out went smoothly and we received a little treat basket for our drive home. During our stay we were treated more like family than a guest in a hotel. Will be back to the Baker House again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Baker House is a fabulous place to stay.
We went there, my husband and I, to spend 3 nights in this unusual place.
We received a 5 stars welcome. The butler was particularly friendly and welcoming.
We had a complete visit of the House and they gave us a glass of champagne.
Our room (Bordeaux room) was fantastic. Each detail was carefully thought.
It is really a place out of time. The staff is dressed up and it is really nice.
There is a background music which is very nice and relaxing.
You have really the impression to be a VIP.
The breakfast is particularly good: great coffee, fresh fruits and especially good croissants, and pains au chocolat.
We had the opportunity to taste also the restaurant and the food was really good too.
Of course, the price is expensive but having this experience once in your lifetime is priceless!!!
If you go to Lake Geneva, do not hesitate to stop at the Baker House. It is worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Step back in to restored elegance in Lake Geneva, Wi. when you arrive at this beautiful property on the shore of Geneva Lake. Guests are greeted by a friendly staff eager to serve you and help you enjoy your experience to the fullest. In particular Jonathan and Bethany are there to ensure your visit is unique and unforgettable. We were also fortunate to meet an amazing staff member from the culinary staff named Debbie Mindham. An honorable mention goes out to Kelsey as well. Trust me when I say you've never been to a place like Baker House because there is no place like Baker House.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been to Baker House for their Sunday brunch - fabulous selection, never stuffy, very fun especially since we got to select our own chapeaus! Been there for a Girls' Night Out for dinner in the summer - wonderful food. A sweet ritual of toasting the sunset on the front lawn with champagne and live music - some of the women wore their own fascinators! If you didn't bring your own - they have ones you can wear. Great menu with small and large plates. One of the downstairs parlors had a pianist who sang and she was great - wonderful to enjoy a drink and the music.

However, best of all - we stayed in the Champagne suite a couple Fridays ago- waited on by two butlers - Jonathan in the evening who started us off with champagne and Brent in the morning. The room was divinely decorated, the bed so wonderful, you never wanted to leave it. Lovely fireplace and in-room music. But you have never seen such a bathroom, gigantic room - smoked mirrors, chandeliers, a show with a hand-held spray, and overhead rain shower and various shower jets. There is also a surprise that gave us a laugh in the bathroom. If there wasn't a tiny bit of silliness to the place it would be really stuffy. However, it was never stuffy. Jonathan was delightful - very friendly and took care of us in the evening; Brent was wonderful - brought us our coffee and croissants along with fruit in the small sitting room facing Lake Geneva - great view no matter what time of year. If you want to be pampered but might be afraid of trying something so grand - don't be scared. Walk - no, run to Baker House. We'll be going back in the fall. Can't wait to try all the rooms. It's a 7 hour drive for us but definitely worth it. Thank you, Baker House owners and staff - we're coming back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House

Address: 327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's NEWEST, MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion.Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco dining & cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms.BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Baker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.