We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Baker House to your Saves list
Baker House
327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Louisville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Better than perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It seems as if our experiences just keep getting better all the time. I have to attribute that to trip advisor and steering clear of problems. This place is great! The staff are super friendly and do whatever it takes to make your stay a great experience. We stayed in the tower room and it was perfect. The steam shower is something to experience. One of the neatest places we have been to and will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I could not have been more pleased with my time at the Baker house. From the food to staff to accommodations we were pampered and cared exceedingly well. This is the kind of place you don't want to miss!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Baker House for a long weekend. The staff was amazing and treated us like royalty. The rooms were decedent and the food was fantastic. Although it was very classy and Victorian, the staff was fun and relaxed. It was the perfect combination of high class and lots of fun. I would go back in a heartbeat ...

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and they are all fantastic. If they have sold out, they will put you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My ex and I visited here in Feb of 2012. He was showing me around the area that he grew up (as i am from the Appleton/Green Bay area). We didn't have dinner there or stay there, but even so the service and the staff were completely awesome and interactive! I had even told him that we should have had our wedding there! It is a wonderful, beautiful place! I wish he and I had not had too many differences! Wonderful area!. Absolutely wonderful place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our second stay at the Baker House in 3 months. It is such an amazing place and the staff is so accommodating and friendly.

This details in the house are so unique...from the woodwork to the lighting to the fabric covered walls. It's so warm and comfortable you won't want to leave. The staff is delightful, especially Johnathon. He's one of the butlers who takes care of all and any needs. He's absolutely attentive and genuine.

The food is great as well. Very high end, fresh and delicious.

I've traveled all over the world, stayed in many high end hotels, but have never felt so welcome. We are heading back in February and can't wait! Support this wonderful establishment. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular. We really love the Versailles Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a special place! Impeccable attention to every detail, from museum worthy decor to impeccable service to the finest ammenities. Friendly, elegant, comfortable, accomodating. Worth every penny, very unique and special. We LOVED the Provence Suite, and would choose it again, it couldn't have been more comfy or beautiful. And the food was outstanding (which was an unexpected and delightful surprise since they made sure we were informed that their restaurant was not intended to compete with the former fine dining Gilbert's). Certainly more informal dining than Gilbert's, but really top notch food. Oh...and the cocktails are amazing! And everything is absolutely beautifully done. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Provence Room was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Does the rating scale really only go to 5? Honestly, I'd give it a 10 if I could! Some girlfriends spent the weekend at the Baker House to celebrate a big birthday, and we were treated like movie stars.
The house is absolutely oppulent- so many beautiful antiques, yet the most modern amenities possible including a steam shower! If you can't spend the night, at least have a meal on the front porch with a fantastic view of the lake. Everyone was absolutely fantastic, but I have to single out Bethany and Jonathan. Thank you for giving us memories to last a lifetime!!
Pam Grimes
Oak Park, Illinois

Room Tip: Try to get the 2nd floor room with the lake view. It seems to be a favorite of honeymooners and cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House

Address: 327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's NEWEST, MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion.Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco dining & cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms.BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Baker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.