We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claridge's in Lake Geneva?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker House

Save Saved
You added Baker House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baker House
327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Claridge's in Lake Geneva?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were greeted by name by our 'Butler' Robert as we stepped out of the car and we realized quickly his job title was not an affectation and would be solidly embodied and earned through our stay. He offered us a tour of the Baker House before settling in and we received a true tour - not just of the rooms but also of the mission of Baker House in its current incarnation which is, essentially, the hotel is operated as a 'home' and guests should feel as if they are at home while they reside here.
I am not a fan of the Victorian style or, usually of B and B's. Baker House is a beautifully wrought restoration of a historic property that pays lavish homage to its history but is also modern and comfortable and cool. And it should not be classified as a B and B. This is a great small hotel. The only organically comparable eccentric lodgings I've stayed at in this country would be the Tabard Inn in Washington, DC and that is a high compliment.

The stars might never align quite so rightly again but, during an extremely unseasonable burst of mid-summer weather in March we were the sole guests. Robert offered to leave all 5 suites open so we could tour at our leisure and explore all the rooms (which are much more handsome and detailed than they appear in BH's website photos). So we loafed from one themed suite to the other feeling like movie stars.

The hotel has two hundred hats hanging around and guests are encouraged to wear them. Reading about this I thought it was impossibly corny. In practice it was fun and natural. I should know, I wore my captain's hat through our dinner in the guest dining room.

The bartender brought up some of his own homemade limoncello when we requested Amaro (which they didn't have but that's no knock). The small bar was a great, atmospheric room, as was the guest lounge upstairs.

And...paradise. The hotel has no TVs in their rooms and Will Not Accomodate Children or Pets. Those are three very good things for this reviewer. We stayed in the Burgundy suite, which I would site as my favorite with the Versailles a close second.

The food we ate was good, well prepared, pretty much exactly what it was presented as and priced accordingly. I'm in the food biz and couldn't help imagining a more ambitious style cooking - something like Milwaukee's 'Hinterland' or Chicago's 'Publican' - making this place even more sublime but that's not a knock either - just my 'magination.

I feel like I found a mini-Claridge's in Lake Geneva (not that I've had the pleasure of staying at the original). Think I'll go back for a week over the winter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful house for two nights. We stayed in the Versailles Turret suite which was over-the-top amazing! We also had the pleasure of touring the other suites. The champagne suite was also very nice, it actually has a much nicer bathroom than the Versailles Suite which includes the Baker house famous "car wash" bathroom. I want one of these in my shower! The service is what really sets this place apart from other resorts/hotels. Jonathan the butler pampered us with service I've never experienced anywhere before. I've noticed a couple other reviewers have mentioned him as well-He really is that good!! The whole 1865 step back in time concept of this hotel is truly something unique and special for anyone who has the pleasure of experiencing it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My fiancé brought me here as a surprise trip for a week to escape city madness in Chicago. Little did I know he was bringing me to the greatest place on earth. We have been all over the country and world and no place and I do mean no place compares to the Baker House. The experience was phenomenal! The home is a historic landmark and the owners really do transport you to the turn of the century age of elegance. We did the tour de France (which I highly recommend) where you stay in all the hotel rooms and each room is different. Because there aren't many rooms you get an exclusivity that you don't get anywhere. Also, Bethany, the owner has decorated the room with grand elegance and impeccable attention to detail from the grand owstimer mattresses to the heated bathroom floors to the furnishings and texture on the walls. This place is beautiful inside and out and you will not find grand elegance of this caliber anywhere. Beyond this the staff is incredible from the hostesses to bartenders (especially nick and Jeremy) to the wonderful butler Jonathan. I must talk about how wonderful Jonathan is. I have never had a butler but if I did have one he would be like Jonathan. He along with the owners and home made our experience unforgettable! His professionalism, attention to needs, dependable service, care, and overall personality was the icing on the cake. He is not only fantastic at what he does he is a great person! I can't say enough good things about him or the staff. The environment was great because the owners are fantastic themselves! It was such a pleasure hanging out with Bethany and Andrew. They truly go out of their way to get you what you want and need. Their personal touch and dedication is unmatched by any hotel in this country or abroad. In addition to all of this the restaurant is great and serves great food and drinks. And let me not fail to mention that the staff wears turn of the century outfits and you can participate by wearing one of the many eclectic hats they have and enjoy the fun in one of the many rooms in this mansion or outside facing lake Geneva in their cabanas or on the patio. Best experience ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The Baker House instantly transports you back to a time when hospitality was individual and meant something with rooms that are beyond compare, whether its the comfy bed or the one of a kind showers in each room! Oh and the view! A sunset to close your day in the front lawn garden and waking up to the calming lakefront view. Service was individual with each staff member treating you like you were a guest in there home.
I wish I had more room to write!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

From the beautiful, intimate ambiance of this jewel, to the friendly staff, to the Incredible lake views, to the delicious food served ( Brunch is fabulous) we always seem to find our way to the Baker House where we know we will have a lovely evening and enjoy a night out in Lake Geneva. It is historic and beautifully maintained. I am always impressed with each visit and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates the very best. A must stay while in Lake Geneva!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west dundee, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Baker House is the nicest room I have ever stayed in. The bed and steam shower were amazing and the home and service were great. The home is beautiful and very cool to stay inn. The restaurant is great also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a steam shower if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is an historic mansion right on the Lake. They wear hats and period clothing at their very popular restaurant and started offering a few rooms up stairs for overnight guests about 2 years ago. I picked the steam shower vs. the soaking tub and was very impressed. I'd say this is more of an upscale B & B rather than a hotel. A butler greeted me at the door, carried my bags, brought me a cocktail and gave me a tour and filled me on on the history of the place. The rooms are newly restored and very fresh and appointed with antiques. The bathrooms are classic with modern and very upscale plumbing. If you are in this area, stay here instead of at a vanilla hotel. You'll be very glad you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House

Address: 327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's NEWEST, MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion.Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco dining & cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms.BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Baker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.