We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Baker House to your Saves list
Baker House
327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful house for two nights. We stayed in the Versailles Turret suite which was over-the-top amazing! We also had the pleasure of touring the other suites. The champagne suite was also very nice, it actually has a much nicer bathroom than the Versailles Suite which includes the Baker house famous "car wash" bathroom. I want one of these in my shower! The service is what really sets this place apart from other resorts/hotels. Jonathan the butler pampered us with service I've never experienced anywhere before. I've noticed a couple other reviewers have mentioned him as well-He really is that good!! The whole 1865 step back in time concept of this hotel is truly something unique and special for anyone who has the pleasure of experiencing it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
56
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My fiancé brought me here as a surprise trip for a week to escape city madness in Chicago. Little did I know he was bringing me to the greatest place on earth. We have been all over the country and world and no place and I do mean no place compares to the Baker House. The experience was phenomenal! The home is a historic landmark and the owners really do transport you to the turn of the century age of elegance. We did the tour de France (which I highly recommend) where you stay in all the hotel rooms and each room is different. Because there aren't many rooms you get an exclusivity that you don't get anywhere. Also, Bethany, the owner has decorated the room with grand elegance and impeccable attention to detail from the grand owstimer mattresses to the heated bathroom floors to the furnishings and texture on the walls. This place is beautiful inside and out and you will not find grand elegance of this caliber anywhere. Beyond this the staff is incredible from the hostesses to bartenders (especially nick and Jeremy) to the wonderful butler Jonathan. I must talk about how wonderful Jonathan is. I have never had a butler but if I did have one he would be like Jonathan. He along with the owners and home made our experience unforgettable! His professionalism, attention to needs, dependable service, care, and overall personality was the icing on the cake. He is not only fantastic at what he does he is a great person! I can't say enough good things about him or the staff. The environment was great because the owners are fantastic themselves! It was such a pleasure hanging out with Bethany and Andrew. They truly go out of their way to get you what you want and need. Their personal touch and dedication is unmatched by any hotel in this country or abroad. In addition to all of this the restaurant is great and serves great food and drinks. And let me not fail to mention that the staff wears turn of the century outfits and you can participate by wearing one of the many eclectic hats they have and enjoy the fun in one of the many rooms in this mansion or outside facing lake Geneva in their cabanas or on the patio. Best experience ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Baker House instantly transports you back to a time when hospitality was individual and meant something with rooms that are beyond compare, whether its the comfy bed or the one of a kind showers in each room! Oh and the view! A sunset to close your day in the front lawn garden and waking up to the calming lakefront view. Service was individual with each staff member treating you like you were a guest in there home.
I wish I had more room to write!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

From the beautiful, intimate ambiance of this jewel, to the friendly staff, to the Incredible lake views, to the delicious food served ( Brunch is fabulous) we always seem to find our way to the Baker House where we know we will have a lovely evening and enjoy a night out in Lake Geneva. It is historic and beautifully maintained. I am always impressed with each visit and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates the very best. A must stay while in Lake Geneva!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west dundee, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Baker House is the nicest room I have ever stayed in. The bed and steam shower were amazing and the home and service were great. The home is beautiful and very cool to stay inn. The restaurant is great also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a steam shower if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is an historic mansion right on the Lake. They wear hats and period clothing at their very popular restaurant and started offering a few rooms up stairs for overnight guests about 2 years ago. I picked the steam shower vs. the soaking tub and was very impressed. I'd say this is more of an upscale B & B rather than a hotel. A butler greeted me at the door, carried my bags, brought me a cocktail and gave me a tour and filled me on on the history of the place. The rooms are newly restored and very fresh and appointed with antiques. The bathrooms are classic with modern and very upscale plumbing. If you are in this area, stay here instead of at a vanilla hotel. You'll be very glad you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Not only was everyone friendly, but the following were AMAZING

-our sheets were beyond soft and smelled beyond clean (nothing has ever smelled so clean)
-heated floors in the bathroom
-mouth watering food (from dessert to a sandwich to brunch) NO IMPERFECTIONS

BUTLER SERVICE (they were heart melting....simply such nice people - Matt and Shannon)

-I have traveled all over the world, but i never knew that paradise would only be 72 miles away from.
- its worth the honeymoon.. everyone MUST GO
- The view is to die for (amazing location, amazing room, amazing food...what more can u want?)

-This is one of those places where you'll have to look for an imperfection...good luck, i didn't find one

Room Tip: Champagne Suite....loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Baker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House

Address: 327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's NEWEST, MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion.Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco dining & cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms.BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Baker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.