We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Off Season Mid Week $80 per couple / per night

Front of lake side home
Front of lake side home
Front of lake side home
Beautiful Lake Side Views
First Floor Kitchen/Dinning for 8
Ski Boarding
Patio overlooking the Lake
Lake Geneva
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nick K
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect BRO weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in April 2012

A group of about 10 of my friends, ages 23-25 wanted to get away from the Chicago scene and head up to Wisconsin for a weekend. Luckily we found At The Lake House for a place to stay while we were up there. The house was gigantic and beautifully decorated. It had a bathroom in each of the bedrooms and a kitchen upstairs and downstairs. The house comfortably fit 10 people. One of the best features was the huge upper balcony overlooking Lake Como. You will spend hours out there, it is that awesome. Make sure to check out the location of the house and all of the fun activities to do while out there. It was really a great time. And if you are hesitant about it being a bed and breakfast, please don't be. Mary is one of the nicest people you can meet, and she can also make a mean breakfast casserole. I highly recommend considering At The Lake House for a stay in the area.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The huge balcony
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ann Marie
TX
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2009
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2013
Thank you so much Ann! Hope you and the family are doing well in your new location! Will you be visiting Lake Geneva again this summer? Hope Neal and Madelyn are doing well. Be sure to thank Neal for his service to our country! Be well and many blessings to you all!

Mary and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nora
Florida
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2013
Thank you so much Nora! It was a pleasure hosting you and your family! I especially loved your grand daughters art work! I'll be getting a frame for it. And thank you for leaving the home so nice.... were you even there? Thank you again for visiting At The Lake House and we hope you get the chance to enjoy a summer visit !

All the Best,

Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
GEL062948
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful large house in a beautiful location, great for family get togethers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I was traveling with my husband, two adult children and their spouses and two grandchildren. The owners of this property went out of their way to make all of us feel comfortable. They were very helpful throughout our stay. The property was very well taken care of. The house has two separate 2- bedroom apartments, one on the first floor and one on the second floor, which made it great for everyone's privacy. Each bedroom had its own bath so that was also very convenient. One of the bedrooms had a steam shower and another one had a beautiful rain shower. We did a great deal of cooking in the well-stocked kitchens, which was fun to do together. We also used the large BBQ grill several times. The first floor has a den with two coaches that could be used single beds and it was nice for children to sleep there. The house is directly across from Lake Como. Therefore, the view from the first floor patio and second floor balcony was beautiful. We rented a pontoon boat for the week and we had a great time with the boat and tubing on the lake. The beach at Lake Como, about 1 miles away, was small, but free to the guests. There is small children's playground across the street of the house. The disadvantage to this house is that we had to drive about 10 minutes for a grocery store, The town of Lake Geneva and is about 10 minute drive away. The beach in Lake Geneva is beautiful but it does charge a daily entrance fee. There are many good restaurants in Lake Geneva but they were also about 10-15 minute drive away. In summary this beautiful house sits on beautiful quiet residential property along Lake Como. It was truly a wonderful retreat for everyone.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house had plenty of room for everyone. The owners were very helpful.
Liked least: We had to drive about 10 minutes for a grocery store.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2012
Oh Gloria, Thank you for the lovely review. Families like yours are why Andy and I built At The Lake House and there is nothing better than to hear that our guest had a great time away with their families! Looking forward to your visit next summer but for now I'm wanting a bit of snow! The lake is nearly frozen and in no time will be ready for fishing and snowmobiling. Many blessings to you and your family this holiday season! Take good care. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
chicago
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
EileenPH
Saint Louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely home on quiet lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We rented "At the Lakehouse" last week for our family vacation. The house is beautifully laid out and well equipped -- each bedroom had its own bathroom with plenty of extras. The home is new and on Lake Como, which is only a few miles from the town of Lake Geneva and the much larger Geneva Lake. Mary and Andy, our hosts, were wonderful to work with and could not do enough for us. The lake itself is very quiet, as well as very shallow so the water was warm. The beach is several blocks away, so we drove to swim, but we did use our kayak from the dock in front of the house. Since there is not a lot of boat traffic, it was a good lake for the beginning kayakers in our family.
The house is available to rent by the floor (two floors, each with full patio/balcony overlooking the peaceful lake and each with two bedrooms and baths; kitchen and dining/living rooms) or they rent out one bedroom at a time or , as we did, the whole house. We had many family members from the Chicago/Madison and Milwaukee areas join us for a day or two -- made for a great family reunion.

5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: how quiet and peaceful it was -- mostly full time residents in the area
Liked least: Having the beach be blocks from the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jacobsand...
San Diego,Ca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I loved this house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

What a beautiful contemporary B&B. I wanted to have a view of the lake and I did. There were 2 bedrooms, a den, living dinning combination, kitchen, and a very nice patio, I slept with the patio curtains open so I could see the beautiful lake when I woke up and felt very safe doing that. The walk in shower with 5 shower heads was my favorite. I want that at my house! The hostess gift was a very charming touch. I always tell my friends I am a drifter like Holly GoLigtley in Breakfast at Tiffanys and I received a charming notebbook with that cover. I loved it. Great beach down the street, nice walking, and the great bar grill, In The Drink with super tacos. Wonderful getaway with Mary she's awesome!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2011
Thank you so much Lynda! It was our pleasure having you visit our little pocket of La La Land. We do hope you got some well deserved down time. . . and hope to see you back perhaps to snow shoe across the lake to Mars for a warm beverage.... the lake is probably lovelier in the winter than in the summer... and visiting the fishermen in their ice shanties will warm you up throughout your walk.

Take good care and thank you again for staying At The Lake House!

Best wishes, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$320
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Mary K
12629036636
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing