We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plaza Motel
Save Saved
You added Plaza Motel to your Saves list
304 S Wells Street, Lake Geneva, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Quite location and only Five minutes walk to the downtown. Room was pretty clean and simple. Room included towel, fridge, tv. This place was great price and really nice owner too. They let us kept are bike inside the room. No ice machine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's going to be extremely difficult to write this review without profanity!!! We booked a weekend at the plaza motel for a family reunion. We drove 3 1/2 hours to Lake Geneva and found the motel.
When we were ready to turn in for the night, my wife started having an allergic reaction. (She's allergic to dogs.) Upon further examination, the bedsheets were covered in dog hair. We decided to take the bedding to the office. When we were taking the sheets off, we heard the couple upstairs spending quality time. when we asked the guy in the office for clean sheets he acted offended, he told us we could leave. we told him how long we drove and asked if there were any rooms available where pets weren't allowed. He gave us three keys, one of which was the key to the room directly above us where we just heard the people doing their business!!! We inspected the rooms and ALL of them were covered in dog hair. The office guy started freaking out on us because we were pulling the blankets down to inspect the sheets even though he told us we could. We told him we would just take the room, and when we went downstairs to retrieve our belongings and bring them upstairs. There was a used condom laying on our floor that obviously fell out while we were taking the bedding off. Apparently changing sheets must be overrated.... He said he would talk to the girls who clean the rooms, but I don't think they exist. After all, they just tried to rent me a room where people just finished having sex, they wouldn't have had time to change the sheets. I'm surprised The bed was made.We immediately asked for a refund and after dealing with this drama until midnight we decided not to look elsewhere. We drove back home.

Room Tip: Don't go here if you have allergies. Actually, don't go here unless you're paying by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Reasonably priced compared to other nearby hotels and resorts. Only about a 5 minute walk to downtown Lake Geneva, the Rivera, and Geneva Lake. They've got a pool with a nice gazebo where you can relax. Was glad that they are pet friendly too. There's a park about a block away where you can take your dog for longer walks. It's close to a McDonalds, Burger King, KFC, and Culvers. Not far from many other restaurants and bars as well. It is a little dated, but it is a motel so there were no surprises. The owners are friendly and always around. Wi-Fi connections did not work all the time, but we really did not need it much. We've stayed twice this summer already and would not hesitate to go back. Would love to have a coffee maker in the room. There is a fridge and microwave so we were able to make simple breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just returned from Lake Geneva and had a wonderful time! The owners Bob and Hanna could not have been more accommodating :)
The room was very nice with fridge and microwave. Plenty of towels!!! Perfect if you want to be close to downtown, esp. by the Lake Shore path.
The owners found out why we were there (to walk around Lake Geneva in a day...yea we did it!) They gave us a pamphlet for a guide......even offered for us to call them and they would come and pick us up if we could not complete the shore path trail WOW!!!!
Highly recommend...........thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Good location for walking downtown, but the room smelled and it was FREEZING!!! You would think they would turn on the heat before guests checked in to their room. Our dogs wouldn't settle down and the room smelled like mold. Outside the bugs swarmed us while walking our dogs. Nasty! Literally while sitting on the bed I felt itchy brcause I felt like bugs would be crawling on me soon. Wouldn't stay here ever again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A small, pet friendly motel in a quite neighborhood. Very conveniently located, only a short walk from the lake and downtown. Friendly and accommodating owner. Microwave and refrigerator. Spacious bathroom. We parked the car when we got there and did not need it for the entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Reading some of the comments we had mixed thoughts. BUT- we have been so happily surprised. The room is spacious, the furniture is in great shape- maybe 70's- BUT I like that you can rub the vinyl down instead of sitting on a plush chair that hasn'tt been cleaned in weeks. Table, fridge w freezer and microwave. Older, CLEAN bathroom, newer berber carpet. SUPER nice man at check in- I think owner. Only 2 blocks from the water and one from a park with BBQ grills AND they let us bring our furry family member- of the full dog size. :). So far we are over impressed. This is not the Four Seasons or Inter continental. I travel with work and normally stay at the high end of chains. In regards to a great, clean, hospitable place- that even allows big, friendly dogs in Lake Geneva- I couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motel

Address: 304 S Wells Street, Lake Geneva, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.