We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plaza Motel
304 S Wells Street, Lake Geneva, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just returned from Lake Geneva and had a wonderful time! The owners Bob and Hanna could not have been more accommodating :)
The room was very nice with fridge and microwave. Plenty of towels!!! Perfect if you want to be close to downtown, esp. by the Lake Shore path.
The owners found out why we were there (to walk around Lake Geneva in a day...yea we did it!) They gave us a pamphlet for a guide......even offered for us to call them and they would come and pick us up if we could not complete the shore path trail WOW!!!!
Highly recommend...........thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Good location for walking downtown, but the room smelled and it was FREEZING!!! You would think they would turn on the heat before guests checked in to their room. Our dogs wouldn't settle down and the room smelled like mold. Outside the bugs swarmed us while walking our dogs. Nasty! Literally while sitting on the bed I felt itchy brcause I felt like bugs would be crawling on me soon. Wouldn't stay here ever again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A small, pet friendly motel in a quite neighborhood. Very conveniently located, only a short walk from the lake and downtown. Friendly and accommodating owner. Microwave and refrigerator. Spacious bathroom. We parked the car when we got there and did not need it for the entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Reading some of the comments we had mixed thoughts. BUT- we have been so happily surprised. The room is spacious, the furniture is in great shape- maybe 70's- BUT I like that you can rub the vinyl down instead of sitting on a plush chair that hasn'tt been cleaned in weeks. Table, fridge w freezer and microwave. Older, CLEAN bathroom, newer berber carpet. SUPER nice man at check in- I think owner. Only 2 blocks from the water and one from a park with BBQ grills AND they let us bring our furry family member- of the full dog size. :). So far we are over impressed. This is not the Four Seasons or Inter continental. I travel with work and normally stay at the high end of chains. In regards to a great, clean, hospitable place- that even allows big, friendly dogs in Lake Geneva- I couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here with a friend and it was exactly what we wanted - super close to downtown lake geneva (so we could walk), had a nice outdoor pool, was clean, fridge in room, nice management - would def stay here again. It's def outdated but still worth the money compared to the rest of them.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

After Staying at the Plaza Motel consistently for 4 years I highly recommend staying there. I make regular fall trips to Lake Geneva for windsurfing, cycling, kayaking, golf, etc. I’ve stayed in the local motels and as well as some high end water front sites. The popularity of Lake Geneva definitely causes peaks and valleys in the rates, i.e., a nearby Jimmy Buffet concert kicked up rates for one weekend visit, but that’s the beauty of capitalism and supply and demand. All vacancy prices reflected supply and demand that weekend.

The Plaza has always provided clean, comfortable accommodations at a very fair price. All that aside, I especially like the owners Bob and Hanna. They have always been welcoming and helpful. I’m comfortable saying that the Plaza is a family run business run by nice hard working people. For all my visits to Lake Geneva and the Plaza is always the first place I check for availability.
Mark S. Wheaton Illinois

Room Tip: This is one of the classic drive up motels. If you can get a first story room it's a breeze to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Drove into town without reservations. Found this place to be the wonderfully priced considering how close it is to the lake and downtown and its condition. We did shop around at quite a few places when we got in. It is a motel and on the motel scale, I do give it a 5 out of 5. When you stay at a motel, you do need to put yourself into perspective. If you want a resort or luxury hotel, pay for one. The rooms ARE nice and clean. There is a swimming pool too. If you're plan is to enjoy time at the lake and check out it's surroundings, this is the best for a roof over your head and a parking space. :) We will be planning on staying here again. Oh yeah.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room if you're checking around. They should be accommodating. Especially ask to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#11 of 14 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Baker House
Baker House
#1 of 14 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Geneva Ridge Resort
Geneva Ridge Resort
#10 of 14 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#9 of 14 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#7 of 14 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motel

Address: 304 S Wells Street, Lake Geneva, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Plaza Motel to your Saves list