We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip with captain captions.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Geneva Cruise Line

Lake Geneva Cruise Line
812 Wrigley Dr., Lake Geneva, WI
262 248 6206
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For the True Lake Geneva Experience, you have to get on the water! Beautiful estates, mansions and natural scenery that only be viewed from the lake unfold through a descriptive and insightful narrated tour or provide the backdrop for an unforgettable party or wedding celebration. With 8 boats that hold from 2 to 225, Lake Geneva Cruise Line is one of the areas premier attractions - including the World Famous Mailboat Tour. As seen on the Travel Channel, CBS News, and the Today Show; it is the only marine mail delivery of its type in the nation as the mailperson leaps onto the pier, places the mail in the mailbox and jumps back aboard the boat. The catch is - THE BOAT NEVER STOPS MOVING!
Monroe
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip with captain captions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

While we stayed at the Harbor Shores while in Lake Geneva we enjoyed the cruise of Lake Geneva and our captain shared his expertise of the surroundings of the houses on the shores; their famous owners, the history and background of the land and landscapes, and drinks were offered as well. Truly enjoyed the afternoon and would advise those staying at Lake Geneva to take in this worthwhile activity. Not only do you learn about the history of the area but you learn of the people in the area as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience on Lake Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    43
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fun experience, but a tight fit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took a Sunday afternoon cruise aboard the Walworth. We learned you have to get a spot on the right side in order to see the shoreline and mansions very well. And the plastic seats are placed extremely close together so it's not a terribly comfortable 2-hour ride. But they do have drinks, and the narration is informative and entertaining. Next time we will allow extra time to get in line early.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you found the seating a bit tight on this tour. Three of our boats do have padded chairs, some at tables with more space. I am happy to hear that you did enjoy the narration and libations at the bar. Please come back and join us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Cruise Line tour to remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We took 2 hours long tour. The area and attractions were very well explained. The staff was very courteous, the boat was very well maintained and clean. Seating could however be little more comfortable and cushioned. It was a delightful trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour. We take great pride in trying to make it a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just okay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped by Lake Geneva for about 3 hours and went on the half lake tour. The boat was fine, the crews were nice and friendly but didn't like the plastic chair and absolutely no interesting stories about the lake. But we like the city, alive and charming!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking one of our tours on Geneva Lake. As a courtesy to the owners of the beautiful estates on Geneva Lake, we do stick to the historic narration. Perhaps you would enjoy one of our meal tours, we do have padded chairs with table seating on the Grand Belle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAUKESHA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Packed Like Sardines”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went on the 2 hour Walworth tour and it was a very bad experience. You get to sit on plastic molded chairs that are crammed in rows so close that your knees touch the chair in front of you. We were asked not to move around because of how full the boast was. I was never so glad to get the heck off of that boat, and I travel extensively for business. The information was nice, and the captian was nice, but the people are packed in like sardines. NEVER AGAIN!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I'm sorry that you were not happy with the seating on the tour you took. If you do decide to come back and enjoy a fall color tour or other experience next season, you might consider the Grand Belle, Lady of the Lake or Duchess as there is seating at tables with padded chairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Geneva Cruise Line also viewed

 

Been to Lake Geneva Cruise Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Geneva Cruise Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.