We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the expense” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Geneva Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Geneva Inn
Save
You added Geneva Inn to your Saves list
N2009 S Lakeshore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not worth the expense”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

While the inn is very nice, it is not worth the expense. When we tried to check in (we were one hour early) we were met with a very rude desk clerk. That evening we ate at the restaurant I found a hair in my meal. I informed the waiter, who looked at me and said "Sorry" and walked off. He did not even offer to fix the problem. The breakfast staff were great and very helpful as were the housekeeping staff. As a note, I filled out the comment card last month, and have yet to hear from management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, and we appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our housekeeping and breakfast staff.
We are truly sorry to have disappointed you in other ways. We do our best to facilitate early check in if the room is ready and we are sorry that we did not give you the gracious reception that we aspire to offer each and every guest. Additionally, our dining room staff is expected to pay attention and respond to any guest concern and we are sorry that they did not respond appropriately to your complaint.
We have spoken with our front office and wait staff and reminded them that regardless of the situation we are to pay attention to guest comments and to remain kind and patient.
Over the years we have depended upon our guests to help us recognize our successes and address our shortfalls. We regret that we were not made aware of your concerns, as we did not receive a comment card. Please call at your convenience and ask to speak with a manager if there is anything else you would like to share, as guest satisfaction is very important to us and we hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
76
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Geneva Inn was extremely clean and very inviting. We stayed in a lake front suite, we used all the amenities, which included the whirlpool tub in the bedroom. The soaps and shampoos even smelled good and didn't make your skin feel dry afterwards. We kept the door to our room opened most of the night. The view of the lake was wonderful from our balcony. It was great having a ceiling fan on while you sleep. The coffee was on every floor right outside of our room. It was just such a wonderful and romantic experience. We were treated great by the entire staff. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious as well. We utilized the bar also, and they make a great marguerite. I definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, I recommend doing it in a room with a view of the lake. It is enjoyable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights to celebrate our birthdays. We picked a lake facing room with a king bed. While we didn't use the whirlpool in the bedroom we were happy with the size of the room and the bathroom. Excellent shower. Wifi is good, no sign on needed. Excellent continental breakfast is included, with fresh fruit, pastries, cold cuts and cheeses. We really took advantage of our room's balcony to relax and view the lake. A bottle of water and chocolates were delivered each evening. Short drive into town. The shore trail is quite a hike, however. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We made our reservation here based on the recommendation of a friend. It did not disappoint. We checked in and I could tell by what they said that they had made notes of our conversation when I made my reservation. Service was friendly. Room was clean and spacious. The 4 poster king bed was huge and was great for my tall husband. We enjoyed a bottle of wine on the porch off the room. The 'turn down' service was great. The morning continental breakfast was very filling - fruit, meat, 2 juices and various breads. The view of the lake was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was looking for a place to celebrate a belated Birthday stay with my BFF , close by (within an hours drive) and stumbled upon a Living Social special. I was not disappointed. From the front desk staff to the breakfast wait staff, we were treated with the type of service and hospitality I am used to at a Marriott or comparable property. We were given an upgrade to a lakeview suite with 2 rooms, (king bed in each) fireplace, and view of Lake Como. The outdoor pool was warm and right next to the outdoor bar (which we did not use). Loved the comp Shuttle service (Steve was GREAT) and it came in handy since we started with cocktails before dinner and didn't think it was very wise to be driving. Breakfast (included in our special) was one of the best I've had in a long time - fresh veggies in the omlet- my only complaint was the length of time it took to get our meal as we were just about the only people in the restaurant. Our server was very attentive and apologized for the wait. The only other complaint, no fault of the hotel, was the construction that was a bit inconvenient. Overall , I was impressed with the hotel and would definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCK FALLS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife & I have stayed here many times, always a lake view. We have the nice breakfast with a view of the lake in the dining room. We haven't tried the the dinner in the dining room because of the cost. We will stay again..

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The view is what you go for in this hotel. In general room was very nice and clean. My only struggle was the value. Given the hefty price tag I would expect a bit more. The things that stood out besides the view were breakfast and the "quiet door." I decided to order eggs versus opting for the continental breakfast. The cost $6.00. This was very refreshing to not have to pay $23.00 for breakfast. My room was right by the lobby and I was a bit concerned about noise. At night they closed a door at end of hall between lobby and rooms. This was very nice as it kept things quiet despite location.

That being said make sure to request a room on higher floors away from restaurant. My balcony looked right into the restaurant, not ideal to say the least.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geneva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Inn

Address: N2009 S Lakeshore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only Hotel and Restaurant located directly on the breathtaking shores of Geneva Lake, The Geneva Inn and The Grandview Restaurant and Lounge offers unique features such as a private lake view patio for unforgettable outdoor events, two meeting rooms, great accommodations and first class dining.Free Breakfast,Free Parking, Free WiFi, Full Service Dining Room, Live Music Friday and Saturday Evenings, and Sunday Brunch.Boat Slips available for overnight Guests $30/ night. Bring your Boat and enjoy Geneva Lake! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Geneva Lake
Geneva Inn Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geneva Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.