We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice For Couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geneva Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Geneva Inn to your Saves list
Geneva Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   N2009 S Lakeshore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Good Choice For Couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We made a weeknight reservation recently and drove up to Lake Geneva on a Wednesday afternoon. The Inn is nicely located and easy to find wtih plenty of free parking. We received a warm, genuine welcome. The staff really were the most outstanding aspect of this property throughout our stay and made our time there more enjoyable. We were able to store our bicycles in their coat room which was convenient. The Inn is located a short walk from Barefoot Beach State Park along the lake but be advised that the beach is very narrow and the road is quite close by. We were in room 312 which did not have a lake view. There was a very large, evidently temporary, air conditioning apparatus occupying more than two spaces in the parking lot and it ran continually. Unfortunately, it was just below the balcony of our room which made sitting out on the balcony a less than pleasant experience. I wish the desk clerk had mentioned that fact when we were assigned to the room but the noise was not bad with the door closed and we determined that it was not worth changing rooms. Our room featured a large bathroom with a jetted tub and an oversize shower stall. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your kind comments.
We recommend the local municipal beaches for swimming, there are three within a few minutes drive; and our temporary air conditioning unit (an unfortunate necessity!) has been removed.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    40
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
85
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I was here in the wintertime and it was very nice. I had a Groupon deal and it was well- worth the money. The view of the Lake was awesome! I will be back...the restaurant was exquisite! I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at the Geneva Inn for the weekend. Surprised about the "waiting list" review, because I wanted a different type room than the one that was available and asked to be put on the waiting list to see if one opened up. I was told that wasn't possible...that I had to keep calling back because they don't keep a waiting list! Room (original type) was outdated, but clean (although having heavy, dark bedspreads seems questionable). Front desk staff were disorganized and disinterested, e.g., while waiting to pay for shop purchases, two desk personnel looked at me and continued on their way. Neither explained that I needed to move to a different location to pay - I eventually spotted a sign on the lower, opposite side of the counter. You go to the restaurant for a trip back in time, both the good and the bad aspects. Service is friendly, but can be overstretched. If you reserve here, it's all about the location and view. The balconies overlooking Lake Geneva are lovely.

Room Tip: Check whether your tub is in your room or your bathroom. Honeymooners may love the in-room tub, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our location and view!
We are sorry that you were not given immediate attention while waiting for your gift shop purchase; and I wish you had brought it to our attention at the time.
We take great pride in guest service and would have addressed the issue immediately.
Our policy with the waitlist is that we do our very best; we do not want to make promises we cannot deliver. We do put a note in the reservation about any preference and if the room requested became available we call at that time.
The Grandview Restaurant is widely known for great ambience, service and food, and we appreciate the many wonderful comments we receive from regular and new guests. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, and offer live piano music on Friday and Saturday evenings. We also serve on our lakeside patio weather permitting,. There is no other property with such an incredible location on Geneva Lake, and we will continue to strive to exceed expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great stay at Geneva Inn. When we check out, we asked if they had any rooms available on New Years Eve. The snooty older lady stated that they had no reservations available, but would put us on a "waiting list". We said great. We recieved a call stating that there was an opening for that night, and to call if we wanted the night. Unfortuniately, we could not, so we did not call back. A couple of days later, my wife came down with our credit card bill and stated we were charged for the night: $400.00. I called the Geneva Inn and was again talking to a very snooty woman, who stated that it was my fault for not cancelling. I explained to her, we were told we were put on waiting list and had NOT reserved anything. The woman told us that we had to call anyway and thus would not reverse the charges. Also, they had no authority to charge anything on our credit card. She did not care that she was going to lose a customer. We were and still remain very angry about their deceptive practices. We had hoped to be able to use this hotel as perhaps a monthly weekend getaway.

We would welcome a call from the manager to see if there is some way to resolve this in such a way as to KEEP us as guests.

Room Tip: " Choose a lake view." Watch your credit card
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We welcome constructive comments; we truly appreciate all of the positive comments we receive from our guests and we will continue to strive to provide exceptional guest service and luxurious surroundings.
We work very hard to make our guests happy, and a misunderstanding such as this could have been avoided had there been response to our phone message in the summer, or a response to the confirmation letter that we sent in November to all guests who were expected for New Years Eve.
We are a small Inn and we received many inquiries for New Years Eve; we were fully booked and we turned away other guests who wished to join us.
To clarify our "no show" policy: the credit card will not have been charged during the summer when the room was reserved, it will have been charged on New Years Eve.
We are very sorry for the situation and wish that we had been aware that these guests had made other plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel itself is in a quite part on the southeast side of the lake. Lake views are very nice, and the rooms are spacious. It's a little over-priced, and the restaurant is average at best, but it's a very nice place for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are definitely worth the extra price, although rooms in general a over-priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Used a Groupon to stay 3 nights in March. The whole experience was wonderful. The room was clean and very comfortable. I was by myself, which is sometimes and the staff went out of their way to make me feel at home. The continental breakfast included with the room was unexpectedly good. I had dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was excellent. The view of the lake from the restaurant is stunning. The room included a whirlpool tub, mini-fridge, crabtree and evelyn bath products, and a couple of bottles of water. My room overlooked the parking lot -- not the best view but I had a balcony and it was nice to sit out (it was an unusually warm day for march). Next time I'll pay extra for a lake view.

Room Tip: the views on the lake side are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I have stayed at many places over the last 15 years in lake geneva but the best of the best is geneva inn right on the lake,short drive or walk on a nice day! Not to be confused with the lake geneva inn, The geneva inn is the cleanest and most beautiful place in lake geneva,best staff they care about you,and will help you with all your needs.Also the grandview has the best food in lake geneva,if you cant get a room there try there restaurant!I enjoy all the inn has to offer as I tell all who ask try this place and they will not let you down.great rooms the best view and food the geneva inn has it all!

Room Tip: try lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.8 mi away
Geneva Ridge Resort
Geneva Ridge Resort
#10 of 14 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#6 of 14 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baker House
Baker House
#1 of 14 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
5.4 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#5 of 14 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
3.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Inn

Address: N2009 S Lakeshore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geneva Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only Hotel and Restaurant located directly on the breathtaking shores of Geneva Lake, The Geneva Inn and The Grandview Restaurant and Lounge offers unique features such as a private lake view patio for unforgettable outdoor events, two meeting rooms, great accommodations and first class dining.Free Breakfast,Free Parking, Free WiFi, Full Service Dining Room, Live Music Friday and Saturday Evenings, and Sunday Brunch.Boat Slips available for overnight Guests $30/ night. Bring your Boat and enjoy Geneva Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Geneva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Geneva Lake
Geneva Inn Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geneva Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.