We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Water's Edge

The Water's Edge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Water's Edge
Save
You added The Water's Edge to your Saves list
W4232 West End Rd, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Des Plaines, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Water's Edge B&B (www.watersedgebb.com) was a charming place that my wife and I quite enjoyed. It is within yards of the lovely Lake Como and surroundings, and just a few minutes' drive from the town of Lake Geneva with its many shops and restaurants; there are also a few restaurants in walking distance. The common areas are spacious and well appointed; breakfasts are ample and delicious.

Each room has cable TV, a DVD player with a wide selection of disks you can borrow from the living room, and wifi (Marge will tell you the password - don't be confused when it sounds like an email address!). The well water tasted a little funny to us city folk, but bottled water is available in the dining room mini-fridge at no additional charge, along with a selection of snacks. We stayed in the Lake View Room, which did have a great view of the lake; its bathroom had a roomy shower stall with rubber mat and standard, handheld, and ceiling rain-type showerheads (this varies from room to room). The electric fireplace didn't seem to be operating at full capacity, but between it and the radiator we kept warm in the late October nights.

It may not make the very best first impression - there is some cosmetic maintenance that needs to be done - but I think you'll enjoy a stay here.

Room Tip: Each room is different - not all have a lake view - check www.watersedgebb.com and know what you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

They've done it again! that is, Marge & Dom Trumfio, providing a beautiful, restful, and charming getaway. They have got to be some of the most welcoming and cheerful people without ever being intrusive.
This B&B, right on Lake Como's shore, provides the comfort, relaxation, and satisfaction most of us are looking for -- a rejuvenating break from life's busy woes and stresses.
The rooms are very comfortable; the living room spacious with interesting books and a DVD player; and the breakfast dinning room looking out on the lake is bright and elegant without being over-bearing. Bathroom amenities are totally complete and comfortable, and each room with interest items of local and regional interest, like the Lighthouse Suite we've stayed in for the 2nd time.
This time, we arrived just after a fresh snowfall, revealing more of nature's natural beauty, adding even more charm and winter-scapes so appealing and beautiful, especially from the inside.
Then there's breakfast, prepared by Dom & Marge. Try Dom's French toast, served with pecan maple syrup and homemade sausage, preceded by just-prepared fresh fruit, a local pastry, and coffee.
I thought when we stayed here for the first time last summer, well, we just lucked out, and we hit Watersedge on a good time. Well, Listen Up: this is our 3rd visit, having spent Thanksgiving weekend here too, to get away from the hustle and bustle, and IT JUST GETS BETTER!
The verdict is in: Watersedge is still the planet's best B&B.

Room Tip: You're going to luck out with any room or suite you choose: they're all terrific, unique, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

I come to Lake Geneva every year but wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown.Marge and Dom have a great place and couldn't be more delightful, my husband and I enjoyed our weekend. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable. All the rooms upstairs tastefully decorated, the shower was great. DVD ' s available,the great room was beautiful,what a view. We felt very comfortable, Dom and Marge have thought of everything! Food was great we will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We visit Lake Geneva every summer and we really enjoyed The Water's Edge. Marge is a great hostess. Lovely, peaceful setting on Lake Como.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Water'sEdge is an exceptional B&B -- likely one of the best anywhere. The rooms and suites are elegant, aesthetic, yet always comfortable, welcoming, and relaxing. The bathroom in Lakeview featured a 3-directional shower and was equipped with every conceivable amenity you'd ever want, especially if you left home in a hurry.
Coffee Table and other books are available in a spacious, comfortable, large living room: and they are very interesting.
Breakfasts are creative, exquisite, and delicious - prepared and served by Dom & Marge; and, an array of after dinner liquors just adds to the pleasure and relaxation that's inescapable there, especially on the deck at sunset.
If that weren't enough, Marge and Dom are delightful, engaging, but never intrusive.
Their stories of the home's history is another fascination.
Given all that you get here ( the comfort, value, cost ), the evidence is in: this may well be the planet's best B&B buy.

Room Tip: a fine restaurant is just a 3-minute walk down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We really liked this B&B! The house is very nicely decorated and nicely appointed. We stayed in the Lake Como Suite which, as others have reviewed, is like a small apartment! It has a great view of the water from the spacious deck...lots of great light in this room. We did see most of the other rooms and they were all equally as nice as the one we stayed in. A lot of the rooms are very large with two bedrooms that could accomodate many different groups of people (couples, friends, family etc.). The common living areas of the house were very pleasant to lounge around in as well. Lots of DVD's available to borrow, a cocktail area, bottled water & snacks as well as a very lovely dining area and outdoor eating/seating area as well. The breakfasts were tasty as well as filling! The owners were very friendly, easy going and made us feel comfortable right away. I definitley agree with some others who have stayed here that staying on Lake Como is very peaceful and yet is still close to all the attractions Lake Geneva has to offer. We will absolutely stay here again and would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing & enjoyable getaway with that personal touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Water's Edge B&B. This b&b had many amenities, including a delicious breakfast with juice and coffee, bottled water, an evening wine reception or provisions for a mixed drink, a dish of candy, games, DVDs, tourism information and more. We enjoyed eating breakfast at our own table on the deck just yards from the water of Lake Como. Dom (one of the inn keepers) was particularly accommodating as he helped us find a great restaurant and gave us an interesting historical tour of his home in regards to a notorious Chicago gangster!

We stayed in the Lake Como suite with our good friends (another couple). Staying in this unit was like staying in a cozy old cottage. It was simple, cute and very clean. We loved the beautiful view and having our own deck right off the water. We did see the Bugs Moran suite and loved the decor. The bathroom was very nice as well! The unit was very clean but smelled like an air freshener. Being sensitive to smells, I was glad not to be staying in that particular unit. The peeked into the units above the Lake Como Suite and they were simple, cute and clean as well.

I would highly recommend staying at the Water's Edge B&B. The location of being on quiet Lake Como but being very close to Lake Geneva was ideal for us. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water's Edge

Address: W4232 West End Rd, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.