We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Water's Edge

The Water's Edge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Water's Edge
Save Saved
You added The Water's Edge to your Saves list
W4232 West End Rd, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

I come to Lake Geneva every year but wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown.Marge and Dom have a great place and couldn't be more delightful, my husband and I enjoyed our weekend. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable. All the rooms upstairs tastefully decorated, the shower was great. DVD ' s available,the great room was beautiful,what a view. We felt very comfortable, Dom and Marge have thought of everything! Food was great we will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We visit Lake Geneva every summer and we really enjoyed The Water's Edge. Marge is a great hostess. Lovely, peaceful setting on Lake Como.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Water'sEdge is an exceptional B&B -- likely one of the best anywhere. The rooms and suites are elegant, aesthetic, yet always comfortable, welcoming, and relaxing. The bathroom in Lakeview featured a 3-directional shower and was equipped with every conceivable amenity you'd ever want, especially if you left home in a hurry.
Coffee Table and other books are available in a spacious, comfortable, large living room: and they are very interesting.
Breakfasts are creative, exquisite, and delicious - prepared and served by Dom & Marge; and, an array of after dinner liquors just adds to the pleasure and relaxation that's inescapable there, especially on the deck at sunset.
If that weren't enough, Marge and Dom are delightful, engaging, but never intrusive.
Their stories of the home's history is another fascination.
Given all that you get here ( the comfort, value, cost ), the evidence is in: this may well be the planet's best B&B buy.

Room Tip: a fine restaurant is just a 3-minute walk down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We really liked this B&B! The house is very nicely decorated and nicely appointed. We stayed in the Lake Como Suite which, as others have reviewed, is like a small apartment! It has a great view of the water from the spacious deck...lots of great light in this room. We did see most of the other rooms and they were all equally as nice as the one we stayed in. A lot of the rooms are very large with two bedrooms that could accomodate many different groups of people (couples, friends, family etc.). The common living areas of the house were very pleasant to lounge around in as well. Lots of DVD's available to borrow, a cocktail area, bottled water & snacks as well as a very lovely dining area and outdoor eating/seating area as well. The breakfasts were tasty as well as filling! The owners were very friendly, easy going and made us feel comfortable right away. I definitley agree with some others who have stayed here that staying on Lake Como is very peaceful and yet is still close to all the attractions Lake Geneva has to offer. We will absolutely stay here again and would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing & enjoyable getaway with that personal touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Water's Edge B&B. This b&b had many amenities, including a delicious breakfast with juice and coffee, bottled water, an evening wine reception or provisions for a mixed drink, a dish of candy, games, DVDs, tourism information and more. We enjoyed eating breakfast at our own table on the deck just yards from the water of Lake Como. Dom (one of the inn keepers) was particularly accommodating as he helped us find a great restaurant and gave us an interesting historical tour of his home in regards to a notorious Chicago gangster!

We stayed in the Lake Como suite with our good friends (another couple). Staying in this unit was like staying in a cozy old cottage. It was simple, cute and very clean. We loved the beautiful view and having our own deck right off the water. We did see the Bugs Moran suite and loved the decor. The bathroom was very nice as well! The unit was very clean but smelled like an air freshener. Being sensitive to smells, I was glad not to be staying in that particular unit. The peeked into the units above the Lake Como Suite and they were simple, cute and clean as well.

I would highly recommend staying at the Water's Edge B&B. The location of being on quiet Lake Como but being very close to Lake Geneva was ideal for us. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Based on the positive reviews on TA, I was looking forward to our visit here. Unfortunately, it really was not what I'd hoped it would be. Most other reviewers were happy with their experience, and ours was not all negative. The lakefront location and the views are great. The hostess tried to be helpful However, overall it was disappointing for us. For the right people, this could be an enjoyable place to stay.

The positives: Great location and views. Price OK for the size of room, but the condition was not good. Had the condition been good, it would have been a bargain. The hostess was helpful.

The negatives: There was no wireless internet access available to guests because they did not know the password. When I made the reservation, I specifically asked if they had internet access, and was told that they did.

The room was in need of an overhaul, with the condition of things approaching shabby. Three light bulbs were missing. They were replaced, but it just demonstrates poor maintenance.

The floor of the bathtub was dangerously slippery, especially when using the liquid soap they provided (no bar soap). There was no rubber mat to avoid an accident.

The television reception was poor.

The freezer had old food in it from other visitors.

When I made the reservation, we agreed on french toast for breakfast because someone in our party didn't like egg dishes. For breakfast, we had an egg dish.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

What a great place. We recently stayed three nights in a suite -- with enough room for 2 adults and 2 children. The beds were comfortable, and the Inn is right on Lake Como, so if you are interested in visiting Lake Geneva, but would like a break from the hustle and bustle of the area, I would recommend staying here. You are only 10 minute drive, max, from Lake Geneva, but you are on a smaller lake, not as much boat traffic. You can sit out on a deck and enjoy the lake side views. Great restaraunt right next door. I agree with the other reviews, breakfasts were great.

They have a large selection of DVDs, and a wonderful communal living area that looks out over the lake.

I would recommend this place to my friends in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water's Edge

Address: W4232 West End Rd, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.