We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sopra: An American Bistro

Sopra: An American Bistro
724 W. Main St., Lake Geneva, WI 53147
262-249-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 80 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Sopra, an American Bistro, the premier Lake Geneva dining experience. Ingredient-driven chef/owner, Simon Cumming, designs American bistro classics with a fresh, farm-to-table approach. Using the finest seasonal ingredients, you'll be treated to a fine dining experience, in a casual, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. In addition to the thoughtfully selected wine list, Sopra also boasts an extensive selection of micro-brew beers and a full selection of spirits, including specialty house martinis. Situated in the heart of downtown Lake Geneva, located within walking distance to The Cove and all Lake Geneva hotels. Also, easy driving distance from the Grand Geneva and Abbey Resort.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Upscale bistro. Table and bar seating. Nice menu. Pleasant staff. Moderate price. Conveniently located.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    17
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our waitress was wonderful! Great service and great food--pasta was a bit pricey, but it was a large portion and tasted very good! Nice outdoor seating area too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you are a foodie, don't miss Sopra!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Best food in Lake Geneva and rivals any top restaurant. My wife is total foodie and we both noticed the subtle ingredients and careful preparation. She had the duck and I had the lamb chops with kalamata olive topanade mashed potato and spinach. I started with the beet salad and a glass of Cabernet. We were full but had to try the pistachio gelato which was unbelievable.

Impeccably prepared dishes and excellent service. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weirdly Dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Kale Cesar salad? "Chopped Up" salad which isn't a chopped salad? Avocado Cucumber soup which wasn't soup.
The items on the menu sounded good and interesting but the reality didn't meet expectations. The soup was bland, oily, and was puréed to the consistency of dip. The kale Cesar was just bitter and wrong. The pastas were the bright side as was the lobster wontons. The problem with even the tasty pastas was the unexpected price. It has 2 dollar$ signs on trip advisor but our bill for a family of 4 with no drinks but tap water came to a whopping $120.00. The pasta dishes average around $20 and the full plate dinners are more like $30. The soup dip was $10. I wish I had skipped this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great restaurant, very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

great food, take reservations, right downtown and very convenient, staff sang happy birthday to me and treated everyone very special. nice menu selection, sort of loud in side but that is trendy right now.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sopra: An American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sopra: An American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sopra: An American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.