We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Geneva Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Cary, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a great time as a family! we visited the waterpark. The food at Grand Geneva is amazing, Breakfast, lunch and dinner all excellent!!
They are super family friendly. we visited during Christmas and it was so beautifully decorated.
The beds were not as comfy as I would have liked but that is my personal preference.

Everything else was beyond excellent!!
we love Chef Mike

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    261
    112
    74
    55
See reviews for
314
553
30
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you dont look too close you may miss the imperfections but for the price of our stay I expect perfection. While I appreciated the friendly staff there are some changes that are needed to bring this property to higher standard which would be more in line with the total amount spent for 2 nights.

Here are our combined notes from our stay on January 4 -5th, 2014.

Saturday dinner buffet - the crab was of terrible quality and cold and not drained. The butter was cold as well. We frequent all you can eat crab dinners in the Chicago suburbs which provide hot just out of the pot high quality crab for the same price. For a resort I was very surprised with the poor quality of food.

- The bedroom in our suite was 80 degrees at night. The engineer who came to see us about it identified that there wasn't really anything he could do, and that the thermostats didn't control the temperature.

- The bedroom mattress was worn out. We paid quite a bit for the room and expected a good night sleep, which we did not get. For the price, I expected a bed, at least equivalent to the quality of Renaissance Hotels & Resorts.

- The spa floors were filthy. The "one" time I saw staff cleaning tile the floor he was using a towel under a broom... the same towels used by members to dry off. I know everything is washed... but Yuck! Buy the right equipment for the job, get a mop. The carpets were full of salt and dirt. Members were putting down towels to stand on while getting changed... buy a vacuum. My wife reported the same issues in the women's spa.

- At the front desk of the spa we were told slippers and robes were available in the spa for everyone. However unless you tracked someone down in the spa, they were not available. Even when my wife could locate someone, these items were not available.

- General maintenance: Mold and mildew around the edge of the the pool and hot tub, rust and mold on the steps into the pool, worn out mirror and broken lockers in the women's spa, broken fixtures.

- Hot tub: you have towels on the floors all around the hot tubs collecting germs, mold and mildew. This is an obvious design flaw with the hot tubs that you need to address. It's unsanitary conditions.

- I gave a rating of 3 because the cross country skiing was very enjoyable and even though we came late in the day 3pm, the staff was accommodating, friendly and helped us get some skiing in. The downhill skiing looked pretty good, even though we didn't get a chance to go. The lobby area was quite enjoyable for drinks and socializing... We enjoyed the music. Our waitress for breakfast was fantastic... good service, very friendly and helpful with all of our questions. The house cleaning staff did a good job and were all very friendly. They put up with a lot from the people staying from the race. The check-in staff was great even though they were overwhelmed with people checking in for the race... the free glass of champagne was a nice welcoming tough.

Room Tip: Find a room at the end of the resort to keep from hearing everyone pass your room in the late night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Grand Geneva. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience and would love the opportunity to speak to you via phone to discuss.

Best regards,


Tom Mason
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We attended a wedding in December at the Grand Geneva . What a wonderful experience!
We arrived early, and were able to enjoy the festive decorations and holiday cheer that were offered.
We had lunch at the lobby level restaurant, delicious! The staff was wonderful.
Our room accommodations were cozy and perfect. Very clean, and comfortable.
We would love to return as a family next season in order to enjoy all the Christmas festivities!
An outstanding experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This resort was perfect. I was here for a weekend, the room was great, everyone was friendly and helpful. The restaurants in the resort were excellent! The spa was great, very pampering and relaxing. The resort was within a 10 minute drive of the downtown area.

Room Tip: The lake view king room was great. Although the lake was frozen over, it was a great view! The Chop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend this place. My wife and I went with another couple for a few days after Christmas. To start, location is bad, not near downtown, not very secluded. Near walmart, Home Depot, and a couple gas stations. The facilities aren't great either. We planned to ski, visit the water park, rock climb, play tennis, and relax in the jacuzzi. Literally couldn't do any of that because it was either too crowded, of poor quality, or both. We sat in the room and played cards and drank. Restaurants and bars are way overpriced too. And the worst part about this place...absolutely overrun with kids. They were everywhere, like ants. In the pool, spa, restaurants, lobby, hallways. Every family had like 6 kids. It was a nightmare. This isn't really the resorts fault, but travelers should be aware. Don't go if you don't have kids, don't plan on doing anything worthwhile, and bring your wallet.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
It is disappointing for me to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Grand Geneva. We are very busy over the holidays as families find our facility a great place to get together to celebrate. We do offer a number of winter activities and the city of Lake Geneva is only about one mile away. It is a very quaint downtown with many shops, restaurants and a beautiful lake front. It's unfortunate you did not explore the area and hope you come back to take advantage of everything the Grand Geneva and the city have to offer.

Best regards,


Gerald Rappaport
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I attended the Kleinheinz-Amman Wedding in December at the Grand Geneva and could not have been happier. I was the day off coordinator for the wedding and I must say, working with Kate in Conference Services was such a breeze AND so much fun. We got to know each other instantly and the wedding was flawless. The staff that we worked with that day was great: shining the wood accents in the Ballroom, lowering the temperatures to ensure everyone was cool and not hot boxes, straightening the Christmas trees (which required what seemed like 20 foot ladders, sorry Kate) at my request, and putting the finishing touches on the rooms were just what I needed to make this event flawless. The decor of the hotel lended itself perfectly to the wedding. The wedding food was fantastic, compliments to the chefs! I had mushroom ravioli, which was perfect. My date to the wedding said this was her favorite wedding food of all time. And we go to a ton of weddings.
Having Santa and Mrs. Claus in the lobby whole carolers sang was impressive and a huge hit with many of the wedding guests.
The complimentary glasses of champagne at check-in were welcomed after a long day of driving to Wisconsin.
The night of the wedding there was a snow storm and after the reception, we went outside and took pictures and videos with all the Christmas lights near the hotel, added bonus!
One thing that was weird was the lobby bar. It seemed to not make sense with the rest of the hotel as it seemed to be a Euro club when we went in there. The night we werethere, there were two "ladies", gentleman hopping and it was just weird. Such a nice resort with a weird club.
The rooms were quite large and the view was great, even if it was a frozen lake. Seeing wildlife is always fun since the only wildlife I see in Chicago are dogs and pigeons, HAH!
Would I come back here? ABSOLUTELY! I think I will try it out in the summer or fall as the lake would be beautiful to see.
So thanks again to Kate in CS....she rocks and it's obvious she loves her job! Give her a raise!!!
PS--I hope the Chicago Blackhawks Gingerbread Ice Rink won the contest!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby or you may get lost in the maze to your room! You will know what I mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband, 3 year old son and I went to the Grand Geneva in June 2013. We had a wonderful time. I wanted an upscale hotel with a spa and we wanted a fun waterpark for my son. We got both by staying at the Grand Geneva. The pool at the grand geneva was great, not too crowded. The service at the pool was great as well. Timber ridge waterpark was really fun for our little guy. I think it's fairly small for a waterpark but probably good for the 7 and under set. Our suite at the grand geneva was beautiful. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.