We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Pet Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Geneva Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Pet Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and we had an amazing experience. The hotel room was clean and comfy and slept really well. We brought in a pet dog and paid $35/night - he got is own nice doggie bed and a treat.

The fitness and spa facility was awesome - there's so much to do there. Guests can play basketball, volleyball, ping pong, there's a full size gym with free group exercise classes. I didn't use the spa, but the restrooms have facilities you'd find in a spa such a hot bath and a sauna. I wish the hotel could lend exercise clothes and shoes as I didn't have work out clothes when we went.

The only thing I didn't like about the hotel are the restaurants. The food and drinks were pretty pricey and I wasn't satisfied with the food. I suggest guests to go out of the hotel and explore the city - there's plenty of good restaurants and brunch places in Lake Geneva that serve good food.

I'd definitely visit again if I had another chance. I recommend booking on Groupon to get a good deal especially for longer stays.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    280
    115
    76
    59
See reviews for
352
578
30
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I will start by admitting that I have some sentimental attachment with this property, having visted many times as a child back when it was the Playboy Club. I was a child in the mid to late 70s, and my family had a 1-week a year vacation pacakge, so lots of wonderful memories. I also made it up a few times when in College when it was the Americana - then it was not quite as nice, but still fun for the memories.

After about a 20 year absence, I have visted twice recently (Summer and Fall) wife my family, and I am quite pleased to advise that this property is awesome!!! It is frankly nicer, though perhaps a bit more congested with the new Water Park and additional hotels, than it ever was -- even during its Playboy heyday (though sans the Bunnies - althought there is a small "shrine" with many Playboy-era Hotel artifacts that really cool!).

- The ROOM ACCOMODATIONS are great, and typically include a balcony - see attached picture, and the Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired architecture is super cool and retro!.
- The GRAND GENEVA CLUB is wonderful, albeit for a modest upcharge. The Club offers all-inclusive breakfast (that changes from day to day), and at night has snacks and alcohol. Nice! It almost keeps you at the Resort 24/7 if you wish.
- The LOCATION is phenomenal - both nearby to Chicago (and Milwaukee and Rockford), and the GROUNDS are immaculate. I am not a golfer, but we did go for a nice nature walk. The is also a great FREE TROLLEY bus tour that tells you "tons of fun stuff" that informs about the history of the property - did you know that Guns n Roses and many other bands actually recorded albums at a studio that used to reside within the main hotel property?. Also there is a Trolley Tour of Downtown Lake Geneva, though that is slight fee.

We went with our family of 3, including our 8-year old son. He LOVED the outdoor swimming pool (nice bar too) during Summer, and when we returned in Fall, the indoor pool is quite nice as well. He also really enjoyed the Water Park. Thus, it's great for family! Having said that, I could easily see a weekend get-a-way with the college buddies as well, so its quite flexible for a wonderful weekend.

The only slight knock is that it's a tiny bit pricey, but this can be alleviated with a multi-night discounted stay, and the RESERVATION people are also very, very friendly and helpful (mine actually lived down the street from me in Chicago for a while).

Bottom line is that for a quick weekend trip from Chicago, this can't be beat. I must also add that we stoped at the Brat Stop on the way. All in all, a wonderful 4-Star Resort in the Midwest. Who'd a thunk it???

We can't wait to go back to see the Winter Holiday lights - which are also supposed to be superb! :)

Room Tip: The WATER PARK at the nearb hotel that is also on premises if GREAT for Kids. The GRAND GENEVA CLUB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Room was great, very clean and well stocked. The resort staff is so accommodating and friendly, everyone makes a point of greeting you and making you feel welcome. The restaurants are wonderful, food and drink was delicious! We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently attended a family reunion at the hotel. The hotel and its amenities are outstanding. It was most unfortunate that the hotel did not arrange for our family members to be in a block of rooms in close proximity to each other - in spite of that having been requested by the family members organizing the event.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The grounds are lovely, breathtaking in the fall. I was initially put in a room that faced the parking lot and they were working on the roof. The smell of tar was really stinking up the room (the vat was right outside the window). The front desk changed me to a room across the hall, it was nice and had a better view. The service and the food in the restaurants was very good. I was in the farthest building in the main resort and it was quite a trip - long halls, up and down stairs to the main entrance and restaurants. Overall it was a very good experience and I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble physically getting around I would call and let them know. I kept thinking there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brimfield, il
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were very impressed with the Lodge accommodations. The lobby felt like walking into a scene from White Christmas, and just need Bing Crosby to break into song. Fireplaces, Xmas trees, a welcome glass of Champagne or Cider. Our receptionist asked if we were celebrating anything, and we advised her it was our anniversary. She instantly upgraded us to a Junior Suite and shortly after arriving to our room; room service brought us Chocolate Covered Strawberries and a bottle of Champagne as a gift from the hotel. The room was very nice, gas fireplace, couch, 2 chairs, small bar area, nice kingsize bed, and an adequate bathroom. We did not stay to use the resort, so the resort fee of $15 was not welcomed, but the room rate and hospitality made up for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently attended the Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association Conference at this hotel. This resort/hotel is beautiful and the customer service is outstanding. I found the room temperature in my room to be a little hotter than I would like but could not turn the room temperature down any lower. I called the front desk and was informed that the thermostat that time of year was programmed so I could not turn on the air to make the room cooler. However, they asked if I would like a fan for my room. I said that would be appreciated and within ten minutes, they brought a fan to my room. The food is outstanding and the Lounge was quite comfortable with delicious cocktails. The staff was always very friendly and helpful and the entire experience was delightful. I highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Geneva! It is great to know our "People Pleasing People" philosphy is in place. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Gerald Rappaport
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.