We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to escape...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Geneva Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to escape...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Once again Grand Geneva is a winner. We took advantage of a special Sunday pricing and escaped for a lovely, relaxing time. This time weather cooperated and we included some retail therapy in Lake Geneva as well as a lovely, informative hour cruise on the lake...followed by a quiet evening at the Grand. Breakfast was delish and oyr waitress delightful. Cudos to all the staff...job well done. Returned home relaxed n refreshed...plan to return...not soon enough!!

Room Tip: All rooms great but if you want a view request lake side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear susig60 – Thank you for your posting. I was glad to read that you were able to escape and rekindle and renew. I have shared your accolades with my team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    261
    111
    74
    55
See reviews for
314
553
30
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stated in a junior suite in the Grand Geneva from Thursday to Saturday in spring of 2013. The place and experience was very lovely.
PROS:
Excellent service and attention.
Clean and spacious rooms
Mirror TV in bathroom (not necessary but fun for guys)
A nice view (but of the Grand Geneva golf course and man-made lake).
Great parking.
Close but not too close to the busy tourist areas.
Luscious and green grounds.

CONS:
Not actually on Lake Geneva (which is 5-10 min away)
The alcohol drinks in the hotel bars are very weak.
Weekend gets much more busy and crowded during the warm months.
Occasional insect gets into the rooms and there are mosquitoes on the balcony at night

All in all I would do it again but definitely stay during the week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Trinitraveler13 – Thank you for your posting in regards to your Spring trip. I am glad that you had an excellent stay. I have shared your bar feedback with my F&B Director in an effort to enhance our beverage selections, operating procedures as well as our training programs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Geneva twice now for businesses conferences. Some have mentioned the navigation challenge through the buildings, I agree, it was challenging the first time I was there but it was much easier this time. As a business traveler I charge all of my electronics in the room and it usually is a difficulty trying to find enough outlets. That is not the case at the Grand Geneva, they made an effort to make sure plenty of outlets are accessible which I greatly appreciated. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The gymnasium and spa were a good surprise, much grander than I expected. I suggest you make your dinner reservations early because each stay I have had to eat elsewhere because I was told there was no room in the restaurants. Over all it is a very nice place to stay and I would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear actormann – Thank you for your recent posting. I am glad that you enjoyed our electronic friendly features of our guest rooms, the multi-media jack pack is also a great feature. A tip for all of our travelers is that our reservations team can assist you with reservations for all of our fabulous restaurants during your time of booking. You may also access restaurant reservations via opentable.com at your convenience. Actormann I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We (my husband, myself and two of our children) just spent two days at the Grand Geneva over the Father's Day weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Golf on the Brute course, massages at the Well Spa, lunch and lounging poolside and dinner at the Chophouse among other wonderful things were the absolute highlights. Guest services could not have been better. Can't bring ourselves to stay anywhere else when we're in Lake Geneva. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Loved the Lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Heimsoths – Thank you for your recent posting. I am honored that you selected the Grand Geneva to celebrate your Father’s Day Weekend and was excited to read that it exceeded your expectations. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This resort should be torn down and rebuilt from scratch! The buildings are old and run down with winding multi level hallways that require a GPS to help navigate. The grounds and location are beautiful and well maintained. Our room was nice enough but the bathroom was so small that you could barely move once you navigated over the toilet to get in. We tried to have breakfast but although half the tables were empty we were told there would be a half hour wait. We chose to eat in town instead. Foolishly we went back and tried lunch but again mostly empty but when seated all the guests were seated close together and with screaming kids we chose to leave. This was one of the most unsatisfactory stays we have experienced in our years of travel. I could go on but what is the point. Make a different selection while staying in Lake Geneva.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Furnman 10 – Thank you for your recent posting. I want to apologize for the poor restaurant experiences you were provided during your recent I assure you that this is not the level of service that we provide at The Grand Geneva Resort and Spa. As for our facility, all of our lobby, corridors, guestrooms and suites were recently renovated. Our Frank Lloyd Wright’s Taliesin design is characterized by long, low-style designs with open floor plans, overhanging eves, rows of windows and abstraction of form all promote a timeless design. You are correct when you reference the width of the campus compared to today’s more modern high rise hotels. I hope you will reconsider the Grand Geneva Resort the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mio, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff is one of the friendliest groups of people I have been associated with at any resort that I have traveled to in the last 25 years. A must stay if you need time to relax and get away. This is a full service resort with something for everyone adults and kids.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear leflerl – Thank you for your posting. I have shared your accolades with my team. I was pleased to read that our People Pleasing People service culture was evident during your visit. The Grand Geneva is truly a resort for all seasons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a one-bedroom deluxe Orange Lake timeshare unit on the resort property. Very nice, very clean. All new appliances. We enjoyed the pool and hot tubs. The staff is always very polite and helpful. The grounds are always well maintained. The main lodge pool area desperately needs updated especially the women's bathroom/changing area-too cramped, wet and messy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sandy S thank you for your feedback. For our future travelers this posting pertains to the Holiday Inn Club Vacations Complex on the grounds of the Grand Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.