We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time for spring break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Geneva Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
“Had a great time for spring break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've been here a few times, and this time was great as usual. Took the kids on a mini-spring break trip (solo!, what was i thinking) but it was fantastic. The kids love the water park and the junior escapade activities, with the latter providing me a few hours to myself. Thanks again, and see you in golf season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. That is exactly the purpose of Kids R Grand - We are more than just babysitting! Our daily junior escapades and daily recreational center are created to inspire children to be creative and innovative and Mom gets some me time. I look forward to seeing you this summer.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    261
    112
    74
    55
See reviews for
314
553
30
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked overnight Mother-Daughter get-away trip another friend and daughter. Was suppose to be a Spring Break alternative with spa treatments, dinner and quiet retreat from crazy life. Well, it was anything but quiet retreat. Upon check-in we already noticed the place was "up for grabs" -- crowded lobby, bellmen pushing full cart loads of boxes & luggage, kids running around everywhere, and this was a Sunday at 1:00 in the afternoon!

We proceeded to the spa where is was more of the same... locker room was crowded and there were no benches to put your things on while undressing. We put on our white fluffy (?) robes and looked for the usual quiet room to sit, read and wait for appointment. No such thing exists at the Grand... the quiet room consists of 4 lounge chairs and a few arm chairs next to the jacuzzi. Nothing like relaxing in a chlorine infused, humid room. No magazines, no healthy snacks to nibble on and if you wanted something to drink there were little paper dixie cups (2 oz maybe) to fill with water. While the spa treatments were excellent the whole experience was overshadowed by the poor, poor, poor spa environment. Did I mention the kids running in and out of the the spa locker room? What resort spa allows children under the age of 16 in the facility anyway?! I understand that the fitness facility is located in the same building but certainly the resort can and should provide separate facilities for each... Now, do not even get me started on the noise level outside our sleeping room... On Monday morning, after spending a tidy sum for spa, room and dinner, I had to go home for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. My name is Brett Sundstrom and I am the Managing Director of the Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. I want to apologize that your expectations were not met during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing an environment where our guests may rekindle and renew. Our priority is to exceed expectations and provide a great experience, but it sounds as though we failed to hit the mark during your stay. I apologize for that. Your comments have been shared with my staff, so thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take your comments to heart, as your feedback will help us improve. As we continue to strive for excellence in service, I welcome the opportunity to speak to you more about your recent resort experience - I may be reached at 262-249-4713.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The property is beautiful. From the long winding drive thru the back of property.
The Staff was very accomodating. (Except for the Starbucks crew).
We upgraded to a lakeside which was on the lst floor with a patio. The room was either chilly or the heat was blowing down on us/not comfortable. Double beds that actually had springs and not very comfy. The most upsetting was the room was an adjoining and I'm quessing thru the door/wall we 'heard' the neighbors twice/ very embarrasing/ enough said!
The room was on an end of a long hallway with large entry/foyers and parents used this to let their children run up and down. Very loud and distracting. A lot of young children in restaurants, elevators, lobbies, grand hall etc...

Not the spot for couples wanting a quiet 'get away'
Not the spot for mother/daughter wanting a relaxing 'spa' weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. This particular weekend we did have a conference at the resort that catered toward children. Our priority is to provide you with a great experience, but it sounds as though we failed to hit the mark during your stay. I apologize for that. Your comments have been shared with my staff, so thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take your comments to heart, as your feedback will help us improve.

Sincerely

Brett Sundstrom
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent one night and two days here. The staff are helpful, but the rooms are something else:

1) The rooms are supposed to be non-smoking. However, the people in the rooms next to us decided that smoking was a good idea in their rooms. When I complained to the front desk, they promised to send security to investigate. That never happened, because in the middle of the night I could smell second hand smoke seeping into my room.

2) Most of the clientele are rowdy.... Hey nothing better than getting woken up in the middle of the night by someone in the rooms next to you being loud.

3) Rooms are not kept nice. Lifted up the toilet seat only to find yellow, dried urine stains.

So much for a luxury resort. Will I stay there again, most likely NOT!!!!!

Room Tip: Only tip I have is don't waste your money..This is far from luxury..there are other better place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. My name is Brett Sundstrom and I am the Managing Director of the Grand Geneva Resort & Spa. Our priority is to provide you with a great experience, but it sounds as though we failed to hit the mark during your stay. I apologize for that. Your comments have been shared with my staff, so thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take your comments to heart, as your feedback will help us improve. As we continue to strive for excellence in service, I welcome the opportunity to speak to you more about your recent resort experience - I may be reached at 262-249-4713.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My son and I went for an overnight get-away. I used their "Kids are Grand" childcare - 2 hour minimum and he had a great time, good price. I used the salon for a makeup application appointment-very enjoyable. The room was on the first floor overlooking the lake/pond and was very clean and comfortable. The beds were soft and cozy without being mushy. They've recently upgraded the rooms and I think they've done a nice job. mini-fridge (with complimentary water), snack basket, and coffee maker in the room. We also had dinner and though the food was very good, the service was slow (due to the fact that there was one waitress for the entire area). We also used the pool my son had a great time. The hot tub was hot, but the bubbles weren't working. A maint. person did come and take a look at it but couldn't fix it. I feel everyone I had contact with there gave me great service and I feel we made the most of our time there and enjoyed a lot they had to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I was pleased to read that you and your son had a lovely overnight getaway. I want to apologize for the slow service in the restaurant as well as the poor conditions of the hot tub. I assure you that this is not the level of service or product that we provide at The Grand Geneva Resort and Spa. I am glad that the staff provided great service. I look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely

Brett Sundstrom
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our family of 5 booked a last-minute ski weekend here the beginning of March. Good timing too, as it was the last weekend the slopes were open for the season. The main resort is lovely, we stayed in one of the deluxe guest rooms and it was super nice and clean. The kids' favorite part was the tv in the bathroom mirror - they couldn't get enough of that! Regular-size guest rooms, but nice updated ammenities, nice linens. I was happy we booked a room in the main lodge, because we could walk indoors to 3 restaurants, get our Starbucks, go to indoor pool, ect. Enjoyed breakfast at Grand Dining room both days - great buffet with made to order omelettes! Made reservations one evening at Brissago, their italian restaurant, and it was delicious! Pricey, but worth it..they even give the kiddos Lego sets when they seat you - a huge hit! We spent a whole day at The Mountain Top, skiing, which was only a mile from the lodge. On Sunday, we drove a mile the other way to their indoor waterpark at the Timber Ridge Lodge. Kids can't wait to come back next year!

Room Tip: Stay at Grand Geneva main lodge if you want easy access to great restaurants, and more peace and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I am glad that your family enjoyed a great ski weekend with us at the Grand Geneva. Winter has been amazing this year and the Ski Hill re-opens this weekend through the end of the month. I am glad that the restaurant experiences exceeded you expectations. I hope you do not wait an entire year to return, your family would truly enjoy the resort this summer as well.

Kindest Regards -
Brett Sundstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Found a deal on-line and spent a Sunday night here. Wonderful experience from the time the valet greeted us until the time the front desk said good-bye the next morning. Everyone was very courteous and helpful. The bed was more softer than I am used to, but other than that our room was very comfortable. Even enjoyed the TV in the bathroom! That was a first for us! Ate breakfast at the Cafe and it was a lot of freshly made, good food for the money. And the view was spectacular even though it was overcast. Most definately will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I am glad that your stay was wonderful. The TVs in the mirrors are cool. I was pleased to read that the staff exceeded your expectations. The Grand Geneva is truly a resort for all seasons. During Christmas in the Country the resort is truly a Winter Wonderland. I look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.