We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Geneva Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Waukegan, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Found a deal on-line and spent a Sunday night here. Wonderful experience from the time the valet greeted us until the time the front desk said good-bye the next morning. Everyone was very courteous and helpful. The bed was more softer than I am used to, but other than that our room was very comfortable. Even enjoyed the TV in the bathroom! That was a first for us! Ate breakfast at the Cafe and it was a lot of freshly made, good food for the money. And the view was spectacular even though it was overcast. Most definately will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I am glad that your stay was wonderful. The TVs in the mirrors are cool. I was pleased to read that the staff exceeded your expectations. The Grand Geneva is truly a resort for all seasons. During Christmas in the Country the resort is truly a Winter Wonderland. I look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    793
    231
    97
    69
    50
See reviews for
283
509
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable night at the Grand Geneva. Room spotless and comfortable. Enjoyed coffee in the lobby by the fireplace while listening to the piano player. Took advantage of the exercise equipment and the spa. All in all very nice. We were there for my birthday which my husband must have mentioned to somebody--we had chocolates and champagne in the room--made it all the more special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting as well as your continued support. I am honored that you selected the Grand Geneva to celebrate your birthday and I am glad that you had a wonderful stay.

Sincerely,
Brett Sundstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Geneva. The attention to detail was very impressive. They offer check-in-ers a complimentary champaign drink while waiting. We were travelling with a small dog and they even provided her a treat as well as her own bed and bowl which they carried to the room. Since we had a dog they found a room on ground level with a garden to make walking the dog easier for us. Everything was great with the bed and room and room view. Two notes: 1)the breakfast buffet is expensive costing us almost $50 for two for eggs, toast and water. 2)This place used to be the Playboy Club that perhaps prized club members coming and going without notice. That spreadout floorplan means that there is a lot of walking. Not a problem for most but if you have any issues with walking, state so when you check in. We found many steps to get anywhere or even to get back to the parking lot. Just something to keep in mind. The Resort is otherwise first rate and one that I'd recommend.

Room Tip: If you have any issues with walking state so when you check in to save yourself steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I am glad that you and your pet were provided a “Grand Resort Experience”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Found a last minute deal for a three-day stay the week between Christmas and New Year's and loved it! We were two families - four adults and six teens - and everyone found something fun to do. In the end we wished we had stayed a couple more days to explore the area and enjoy the spa. It was about 2 hours away from Chicago so super accessible and convenient for us.

The front desk area is expansive and welcoming. We went during the Christmas holiday so the whole place was decorated inside and out, fun for the kids. The resort is well maintained with lots of room options. We ended up choosing double rooms in the main hotel but there are cabins, suites and condos as well. Our rooms were centrally located, short walk to the pool and just across the street from the spa which was a plus. Beds were super comfortable, rooms were modern, new and very clean. There is a hidden TV behind the bathroom mirror!

We skied and snowboarded at The Mountaintop ski hill on site. Lots of fun, convenient, perfect for beginners and there is one diamond run for more experienced people. Basic spa use is included in the cost of the room and is newer, clean and fabulous - pool, sauna, steam room, free snacks. It's for 16 and older so its nice for adults and teens.
Lake Geneva has a lot to offer in the summer, less in the winter but is still a beautiful, wooded area and the downtown is quaint with decent shopping and dining options. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. The Grand Geneva is truly a resort for all seasons. During Christmas in the Country the resort is truly a Winter Wonderland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I will start with my one complaint - the bed-way too soft! Aside from that the 2 nights 3 days I stayed left me wanting to be there another week!. So much to offer but the best offering is the first class treatment you receive from every employee. Was anything inexpensive? No, but I knew that going in. It is worth every penny. Had a facial & pedicure which was phenomenal!!!! Of course they try to sell you expensive products afterwards, but they aren't pushy about it like other places. Wish I could have taken advantage of the stables. The Ristorante Brissago
has awesome food - you must get the prawns & shells in Vodka cream sauce. Oh the sauce is light and not overwhelming. The French Toast w/Tahitian Vanilla is a good choice for breakfast at the Grand Cafe & the bacon was additionally fantastic. I will definitely stay again and even longer next time. Though I was with adult friends, the numerous families w/children were not "annoying or disturbing" like I have found at other places. Children well behaved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I was pleased to read that the staffs “People Pleasing People” service culture was evident during your stay. The resort does have amazing facilities but the staff is what truly distinguishes the Grand Geneva from all other resorts. I look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely
Brett Sundstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was my 15th year coming to stay for a 3 day conference. I have to say, it's not just for learning. I had a great time. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff is always friendly and accomodating to the guests needs. The food is always outstanding. I liked it this year so much that I want to schedule a getaway with my family too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting as well as your continued support. I was pleased to read that you had a great time at your conference. I look forward to your return visit with your family.

Sincerely
Brett Sundstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went for an early spring break trip with the intent of skiing. We were able to take advantage of a buy one night stay one night free deal, which was awesome. We brought our own cross country skis and ice skates and sled. They got a good 5 plus inches of snow the day we were there, so it was perfect timing. The facilities were great-the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that for our budget, the restaurants were a bit pricey when trying to feed a family of 4 for three days, but everyone we talked to who ate at one of them was very pleased with the food. The kids loved listening and talking to the piano player in the evenings as we sat by the fireplace. Housekeeping and other hotel staff were very accomodating to any request we had. The kids loved the pool and hot tub, but the ultimate "like" for the kids was the tv in the mirror in the bathroom. They now want one for our house! We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room facing the lake. Our room was courtside and we faced the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I was pleased to read that your family enjoyed their spring break vacation at the resort. Those bathroom TVs are quite amazing. The Grand Geneva is truly a resort for all seasons and I hope you are able to return this spring.

Sincerely
Brett Sundstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.