We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Done right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Geneva Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Lincolnshire, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“New Years Done right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We go to the Grand Geneva a lot during the summer...this was our first trip in the "winter". the staff is always great and with the New Years Eve party..there was a lot going on. I went through the whole resort and there are a lot of things to do in their outdoor space. The sleding, skating and sking were all being used. I think it is a great family escape. The Chop House provides a great dinner

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I agree that the Grand Geneva is a resort for all seasons. I am honored that you selected the Grand Geneva Resort to celebrate your New Year’s holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    779
    228
    97
    69
    49
See reviews for
277
503
26
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The whole property was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The food was delicious. Buffets were reasonably priced and there were many options to choose from. We will go back next year for Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I agree that the Christmas in the Country experience is truly amazing. Thank you for spending your Christmas holiday with us. I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a fantastic getaway. We stayed at the Grand Geneva with our 1 yr old, 4 yr old and 6yr old. Its great to get away and go to a "kid friendly resort" and at the same time have luxury. There is a ton of stuff to do for every age! My 6 yr old and I went skiing on his birthday and he loved it. The other days were spend at the water park or indoor pool. The restaurants on the property are great and very accommodating. We are all gluten free and they were all aware of this kind of lifestyle and had many dining options. We stayed for 3 nights in a premiere suite. The only thing I can say is it was a bit loud at night in the hallways but Im not really sure what you can do about that. All around great stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I agree that the Grand Geneva resort is the perfect place for families to Rekindle and Renew. Thank you for recognizing our gluten free menu offerings. Our culinary team prides themselves on creating memorable dining experiences for all of our guest’s dietary needs. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have had the pleausure to stay at this wonderful resort many times. Each time the service and staff seem to get better and better. From Jayson in reservations to Kelly in the Grand cafe to Ed in the lobby bar to Amy in the Chophouse, you have customer service perfected!!! Thank you all for all you do for me and the many guests that are fortunate enough to have a "Grand experience"!!!
Each time we depart, we look forward and make plans to get back there as soon as possible..
Keep up the great job!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I want to thank you for sharing your kind praise for our associates, Jason, Ed, Kelly and Amy. At Marcus Hotels and resorts we are very proud of our hotels, but most proud of our associates who make a commitment to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences for all of our guests. We strive to be “People Pleasers” and are honored you choose to spend the weekend with us at Grand Geneva Resort and Spa.

I have shared your comments with Jason, Ed, Kelly and Amy as well as their managers. I always enjoy the opportunity to let people know that their good work is appreciated and recognized. Each of them was encouraged by your kind words.

Thank you for your candid feedback pertaining to your resort experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Grand Geneva is a perfect getaway weekend spot. The entire staff are always on their toes, providing you with wonderful service. I would recommend the Chop House and ask for Beth! The food was incredible and the service was tremendous.

Room Tip: Be sure to book dinner reservations early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I was pleased to read that you had a “Grand Experience” during your weekend visit. I have shared your comments with Beth and she was motivated by your appreciation.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Grand Geneva has been on my list of hotels to visit for many years and I finally had a chance to stay for several nights of post-Christmas relaxation. I would absolutely return. I particularly enjoyed sitting near the fire with the piano laying, drinking a cocktail from the Lobby Bar. There was a nice variety of food and drink options, from a quick cup of coffee at the Cafe to a terrific meal at the Chophouse, to a late night drink at the resort's "club" Evolve. The fitness facility was an added bonus and I was happy that I could use the Spa's sauna, steam room and whirlpool at any time.

The rooms have been updated and were quite spacious and soundproof between rooms. There were children in the room next to us and I never heard them. The hallways at times were noisy, but that quieted down relatively early in the evening. I loved the modern architecuture and the way the floor to ceiling windows throughout the resort framed the views of the lake and woods.

There are some areas where the resort could improve, but they would not stop me from staying again. The Lobby Bar was incorrectly staffed and it took a lot of work to get a drink, even when sitting at the bar. The WIFI was very slow in building 5 and I had to go to the Main Building to have a proper connection. Our massages were a disappointment. I was never given a form to fill out prior to the massage so I had to do it in the massage room, then during the massage I felt like more time was spent adjusting sheets and getting massage oil than actually giving me a massage. My partner described his massage as "clunky".

Still, the grounds at the Grand Geneva are beautiful and it offers families and couples a lot of entertainment options. I highly recommend a weekend getaway - there is something for everyone at the Grand Geneva.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed posting, your review will be beneficial to all of our future guests. I have shared your feedback with my management team in an effort to enhance our operating procedures as well as our training programs.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went to the Grand Geneva Resort for a week long business meeting. I was quite impressed with the serenity of the place, definitely great to get away from the day to day hassles...I had first a junior suite, but really far from the lobby and dark, so I ask for a better one, and they gave me a nice, very bright suite with a beautiful view on the pond and the golf course. Worth to ask pond-view rooms, the others face the parking lot...Food is average, they have a good sample of wines at the bar. The nicest place is the fire place outside (OK a gas fireplace but still worth to sit around), where you can chat with friends. if it is too cold, they will provide you a plaid. Finally, for the sports-fan, they have an amazing installation, with a great swimming pool for laps, indoor tennis courts and basket ball...and of course gym. All that to be followed by a spa that is well equipped, the attendant in the morning (forgot his name, sorry) was very customer-friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed posting your review will be beneficial to all of our future guests. I agree that the Grand Geneva is truly a resort for all seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.