We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duffy's Cottages & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duffy's Cottages & Suites
W4086 Lake Shore Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Gosh I do not know where to begin. My boyfriend and I decided to take a much needed break from the real world for the weekend. The Duffys are down-to-earth and very personable. The cottage was so cozy and relaxing. We had an excellent view of Lake Como where people were ice fishing and engaged in other recreational activities. Local residents were so friendly. My boyfriend even barbecued in the cold! We enjoyed our stay there so much that we were not even "bummed out" after the Packers lost.... well, okay, maybe a little :(. We were so impressed how the Duffys thought of everything to make this a home away from home (this is huge since it takes a lot to impress my boyfriend). The place was so neat and clean that we were encouraged to leave it the way we found it. We are already organizing another trip there in the next couple of months. It is not enough space here to express how much I love this place. Thank you so much Mr. & Mrs. Duffy. See you soon! Will bring the fishing pole next time.....Glenda & Mark

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffy7100, Owner at Duffy's Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review, glad you enjoyed ... see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After reading all the reviews about Duffy's Cottage's, my fiance and I were really excited to get away from Illinois this past Labor Day weekend. I honestly have no idea who wrote the positive reviews below, but our experience was terrible to say the least. As soon as we arrived, the place was completely deserted and there was no one in sight. After about an hour and a half, one of the owners finally showed up, and was unapologetic about making us wait around to be let into our room. Once we got inside our "cottage" I instantly wanted to leave. The place is a dump, the room was completely outdated and looked like it hadn't been cleaned or used in years. Sheets were yellow and stained, shower knobs were covered in rust and it smelled of mildew. After getting settled my fiance and I went to explore the local area. There were absolutely NO activities within miles of this place. Downtown Lake Geneva happened to be way more than a "15 minute" walk and the pub that was boasted about below is full of drunks. Needless to say we ended up cutting our stay short and moved to Geneva Ridge Resort, which was a little more pricey, but completely worth every penny.
I do not recommend Duffy's Cottages to anyone, and I am pretty sure their "cottages and suites" should be looked at by health inspectors, this place is disgusting, the owners are rude and negligent, and this place is a scam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffy7100, Owner at Duffy's Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
This review is complete lies from start to finish.
This person has never stayed here ! I have a strong feeling it was submitted by an employee of another hotel in the area. We were in fact closed to the public on the dates mentioned in the review ... for a charity event, so they couldn't even pick the right weekend to lie about !

Please read our other reviews to get a true feel for our place ....thanks Duffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

It was a very short walk to the lake and only 15 minutes from downtown Lake Geneva. We got a fishing guide from Lake Geneva bait shop and had a good time with that as well. The autumn colors were great during our visit, we would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife, kids, grandkids and I spent a weekend at Duffy's last month {September, 2012}. We had a wonderful time, and our hosts could not have been better. The cabins are very clean and well-maintained, and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Downtown Lake Geneva is literally 10 minutes away, so there was something for everyone. We also made use of Duffy's dock, and spent Saturday fishing Lake Como. All in all, a great time, and great accommodations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

It has been almost a year, where has the time gone. I really do love this place. The charm, location, and of course the lovely owners! See you soon for a great Fall weekend (the best time of the year in that area if you ask me). Hopefully it isnt TOO late to book!

Room Tip: The smell of the trees, leaves, and the lake in the Fall is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our third time staying at Duffy's and have never had a bad experience. The rooms were clean and the recent upgrades to cabin 1 are really nice. It makes for a nice little weekend getaway for my wife and I when we need to get out of the Chicagoland area. Its also a great place to get a bunch of friends together to rent out the cabins and hang out. The Duffy's are really nice and have always been very helpful. In fact, everyone in Lake Como has been very welcoming every time we've stayed. We'll definitely be back and recommend it to anyone who is thinking about staying in the Lake Como/ Geneva area. Also, the full bar is a bonus.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 upgrades are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

With work, family, and everything thing in-between, it's rare for us to steal a weekend getaway but Duffy's Cottages was close enough to make it happen and far enough to feel like we actually went somewhere. Two nights went like lightning and we definitely need to come back! We like the outdoors but aren't big sports people, so it was perfect to be able to go for scenic walks around the lake and enjoy the brisk (very brisk) woodsy air barely 90 minutes from home. Lake Geneva is close for the standard touristy shopping (guys, you'll survive, ok?) The best was warming the barstools all evening and only having to walk about 15 yards to the cottage - Gary is a character and we had a great time. Plenty of Guinness, plus he served us this butterscotch Irish whisky that I'd never heard of but it was delicious!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duffy's Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffy's Cottages & Suites

Also Known As:
Duffy`s Cottages Hotel Lake Geneva
Duffy`s Cottages And Suites
Duffy`s Cottages Hotel
Duffys Pub And Cottage
Address: W4086 Lake Shore Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned business, our Hotel/Inn offers two bedroom kitchenette cottages-cabins and one bedroom suites on the peaceful North shore of Lake Como in Lake Geneva, WI. Centrally located just minutes from downtown Lake Geneva, Williams Bay, Delavan and Elkhorn. Each of the cottages have access to our pier, green space, picnic tables, BBQ and lake views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duffy's Cottages & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Duffy's Cottages & Suites to your Saves list