We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly classically vintage modern and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Factory Restaurant

Cheese Factory Restaurant
521 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy. S, Lake Delton, WI 53965
(608) 253-6065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 restaurants in Lake Delton
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: We're a popular and frequent stop for families (some in the second generation!) craving healthier food and a respite from chain restaurants. We feature lunch and dinners served in a warm, well-lit, converted old cheese factory building surrounded by lush summer gardens. We offer freshly made, delicious vegan non-GMO meals made from scratch, a kids menu, scrumptious vegan non-GM0 bakery desserts, and fresh cappuccinos served at an old-fashioned soda fountain. Our friendly wait staff looks forward to your visit!! Find us one mile off I90/94, exit 92N or 89N - next to the Wilderness Resort, and just down the street from the Tanger Mall, Great Wolfe Lodge, Mt. Olympus and the Wilderness Resort. We're open all four seasons of the year. Check website for hours.
The Pas, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly classically vintage modern and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

dragged my carnivores here, and as soon as they seen the soda fountains and then ambience of the diner charm, the waiter recommended vanilla milkshakes...at breakfast, and the kids were in heaven, their pancakes were just like grandma's homemade, and my meatless sausages impressed me, not dry and really tasty, my son even ate them and didn't realize they were vegetarian.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    172
    52
    17
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I have traveled the world, this food is genuinely unique and euclectic. This is a must go to place. Better than any 5 star resteurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vegetarian food in a unique atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I remember entering the Cheese Factory for the first time. It was like entering a surreal 50's diner with the flair of a David Lynch movie (in a good way). The food is all vegetarian and excellent. They have an old fashioned soda fountain counter, although I've never sat at it. They also have an old jukebox that is free and plays old 45's. Think 50's! We had three different people wait on us and each was very pleasant. They even gave us desert for free, a delicious fudge brownie with ice cream.

I have tried their spanikopita and had an excellent curry dish. They also have great home made soups. There are different specials so the menu is always evolving. For the Dells area, it is definitely more culturally diverse in terms of food. Give it a chance even if you are not a vegetarian, you won't be disappointed. By the way, I am not a vegetarian!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were traveling with a vegetarian friend, and so decided to eat here. We were not expecting much, being avid meat eaters, but loved the food here. We had the grilled cheese, which was wonderful, the mediterranean medley, which was out of this world, with wonderful hummus, and two kids grilled cheeses. We all loved the food and the friendly service. We will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Odd experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

While visiting the Dells we were hoping for good Wisconsin fare. I visited this restaurant and while it was cute and nice inside, they did not have any meat on the menu. I only stayed and tried the food to give it a chance. I went with their promoted Rachel Ray's grilled cheese and salad. The salad was good and the grilled cheese was o.k. Service was a bit odd as the hostess went out of her way to tell everyone the food was very good while seating them. Then there was the weirdo music being played. Then the server spoke very quietly and acted weird. It made us feel uncomfortable. If you do not eat meat and want a strange experience, you might like this place, otherwise choose somewhere else as we will not be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Factory Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cheese Factory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese Factory Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.