We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST IN THE DELLS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Factory Restaurant

Cheese Factory Restaurant
521 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy. S, Lake Delton, WI 53965
(608) 253-6065
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 24 restaurants in Lake Delton
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: We're a popular and frequent stop for families (some in the second generation!) craving healthier food and a respite from chain restaurants. We feature lunch and dinners served in a warm, well-lit, converted old cheese factory building surrounded by lush summer gardens. We offer freshly made, delicious vegan non-GMO meals made from scratch, a kids menu, scrumptious vegan non-GM0 bakery desserts, and fresh cappuccinos served at an old-fashioned soda fountain. Our friendly wait staff looks forward to your visit!! Find us one mile off I90/94, exit 92N or 89N - next to the Wilderness Resort, and just down the street from the Tanger Mall, Great Wolfe Lodge, Mt. Olympus and the Wilderness Resort. We're open all four seasons of the year. Check website for hours.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“BEST IN THE DELLS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is my new favorite restaurant in the Dells. Went in with a party of 6, none of us are vegetarian, but we were all amazed with the quality and variety of food. We all tried something different and then shared. We had Thai, Italian ,German, and American cuisines all in one place. The dessert was to die for! The best I've had in a long time and many choices to choose from. This place also has an old-fashioned soda bar. So, you can have a cherry coke the real way with Grenadine. And they have great coffee! It really is a great atmosphere and place to dine. It is not commercialized and packed full of people but it should be!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    163
    48
    17
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Food....below average in everything else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We went into this restaurant not knowing that it was a vegetarian restaurant. We are not vegetarians but decided to give it a try. I got the Mushroom Stroganoff and my mom got the ravioli. The food was the best we ever tasted!

But.....the service was very slow. Must have been there 15 minutes before the waiter even came to take our order. It took a long time to get our food and when we got it, it was cold. We told them it was cold. They said they would make us fresh

The waiter then came back and said that someone had turned off the warmer where they hold food and that's why it was cold. It must have sat back there a long time.

When they brought the food to us they told us they just microwaved it instead of making fresh because it would take too long. For the cost of the food, they should have made fresh.

Overpriced
Poor Service
Food Delicious

Would never go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnhart, MO
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“MUST try the grilled cheese sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We decided to have a grilled cheese sandwich at the Cheese Factory and we were NOT disappointed. It was to die for...perfectly toasted bread and the cheese was melted just right. Be sure to have dessert, too!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My family eats there every other Sunday, it is very enjoyable. The place is well kept and very clean. The staff is polite. The food is great, love the Thai bananas.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast I did not have a problem with it being vegetarian. I thought noone could screw up eggs. My wife and I both ordered esspresso that took forever to get. Nothing special. We both had the American omelette. Eggs overcooked, dry, very little cheese and served lukewarm. Don't waste your time and money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Factory Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cheese Factory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese Factory Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.