We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice alternative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Factory Restaurant

Cheese Factory Restaurant
521 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy S, Lake Delton, WI 53965
(608) 253-6065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Lake Delton
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: We're a popular and frequent stop for families (some in the second generation!) craving healthier food and a respite from chain restaurants. We feature lunch and dinners served in a warm, well-lit, converted old cheese factory building surrounded by lush summer gardens. We offer freshly made, delicious vegan non-GMO meals made from scratch, a kids menu, scrumptious vegan non-GM0 bakery desserts, and fresh cappuccinos served at an old-fashioned soda fountain. Our friendly wait staff looks forward to your visit!! Find us one mile off I90/94, exit 92N or 89N - next to the Wilderness Resort, and just down the street from the Tanger Mall, Great Wolfe Lodge, Mt. Olympus and the Wilderness Resort. We're open all four seasons of the year. Check website for hours.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great healthy alternative to the usual vacation options. The first night in the dells we did the obligatory pizza night. we of course woke up the next morning feeling like cows so the next night we decided to treat our bodies right and were excited to find this restaurant across the street from our resort. we are not vegetarians but we do enjoy eating healthy food. this place was perfect. we have a 3 and 4 year old who enjoyed their meals as well. great service. european feel to the restaurant. we will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    58
    19
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprised to find a veggie restaurant in the Dells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had their trademark Grilled Cheese Sandwich which was a little below what I expected (I'm blaming not quite in season tomatoes). Overall a very nice place and good atmosphere, just be prepared to wait. This isn't mass-produced like Denny's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great New Years Day Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a most enjoyable lunch. Fast service. Attentive friendly server. Excellent coffee from the espresso bar. Best veggie burger ever. Side dish of veggies grilled to perfection. Delicious apple pie desert, with real whip cream.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place doesn't serve meat and I'm a meat eater...but I went anyway. The food was delicious. I had the big cheese sandwich and blueberry pie. All I can say is wow! If you're in the area, this is a must.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Favorite Dells Restaurant! Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The real fountain/barrista bar is fabulous even if you don't do Veggie! Also, stop for a heavenly dessert after your meat feeding somewhere else for a surprisingly tasty array of treats. I am a flan fanatic and just love theirs. The liitle kids have happy cupcakes with all kinds of gooey messy nummy on top.
The Crustini Douxelles makes me salivate. I'm sad it is now just an app but find it perfect for a lunch.
The added East Indian specials are wonderful. My hub loved his and I stole some bread and cucumber yoghurt sauce which needs lemon but is verrrrry good.
My son had delish bean burrito. He ate the whole huge meal!
My daughterhad the Eggs Benedict and cleaned her entire plate for the first time ever!

Stop here if you enjoy out of the ordinary food. A must!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Factory Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cheese Factory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese Factory Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.