We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied menu options - nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del-Bar

Del-Bar
800 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Lake Delton, WI 53940
(608) 253-1861
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Del-Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Lake Delton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Hiawatha Drive
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Varied menu options - nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We dined here recently with another couple. Service was great. Everyone got a different entrée and we all liked what we ordered. The flat iron steak special was good, but not great. I thought overall it was a bit pricey for the quality, but I think that it is typical of the Dells area. Overall it was a good dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    43
    25
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Surprising treat in the middle of waterpark chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

At the behest of my realtor, we made reservations on a Friday night for the Del-Bar while weekending in Wisconsin Dells. Thankfully, he knows more about food than he does about the school district my house resides in, because this was a really delicious evening.

The menu is "fancy supper club eclectic" with a lot of the usual faire you would expect along with some unique treats reserved for more high end restaurants. From the outside - it actually looks quite nice. Inside you get a similar feel - but the low ceilings, curved/padded upholstered chairs and rustic exposed brick reacquaint you with all that is right about Wisconsin dining.

We went with a few starters - difficult to pick from what seemed like a dozen things that would be excellent. The scallops were buttery, appropriately browned, and didn't seem to suffer any ills causing the rubberiness that plagues so many scallop appetizers. The predictable wisconsin cheese curds were quite good - the batter was light and the cheese was gooey. A mustard dip attempted to set them apart from typical deep fried bar food, but let's not get distracted. The surprise was the asparagus which were tempura battered to perfection and fried quickly which helped them maintain their composure and snap while adding a light crispy layer which perfectly soaked up the right amount of soy dipping sauce they came with. The only thing to be aware of is portion size. Personally, I think in many restaurants we've gotten too much focused on volume over quality. Here leans towards the quality side - scallops came with 2 (enough to have 4 people get a taste). Asparagus appetizer had 5 medium-large sized stalks.

The main course came with choice of potato and salad (in most cases). Typical offerings existed. The house salad was a nice mix of romaine and greens along with the bonus cherry tomato or slice of cucumber just to keep things interesting. Nothing spectacular but it is the quality that they've done the UNSPECTACULAR that impressed me. The greens were fresh. The dressing was house made (and excellent) and most importantly it was not overdressed. Didn't miss a mark. It was Friday - so we had a mix of the fish fry (NA cod) and the pan fried walleye which was a special. The walleye were larger filets so some of the bones were not able to fully cook out. Not entirely surprising, but always puts a damper on eating through a fish. The NA cod came with a nice batter (whoever they have back on the fryer must have an excellent cold batter going because everything maintained a nice, light feel), fresh cut fries (seemingly), and lemons (which some people oddly spray on their fish).

We passed on desert - though the schaum torte was extremely tempting given the relative rarity it shows up on restaurant menus. The selection was extensive and seems to cater to all post-dinner desires.

The drink/wine menus are sufficient, though not elite. The service was good - it is always a wild card given the options for employment in the dells. Nothing bad - but not entirely comfortable. I would say that keeps them at a 4/5. Would come back over and over again if I lived in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little pricey for the portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Service was excellent. But their hours didn't suit us. We were there at 8pm on a Friday night and they weren't serving ANY food already.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Delton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Deluxe dinner destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped last Saturday for dinner. The food was worth the wait,since it takes time to cook food like this. Service was great,with many check-backs to see how we were doing. It was a romantic dinner just for 2

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We made reservations on-line and entered in the comments section that we would be celebrating our anniversary. When we arrived at the hostess station and gave our name, she greeted us with "Happy Anniversary!" Nice touch. We were seated and our waitress brought us two complimentary glasses of champagne. So classy! Not once did we mention it after we arrived but they made our night feel special.

I ordered a ribeye and my husband the filet. This was one of the best steaks I have ever had. So tender, juicy and flavorful.

This was our first time here, but I plan on going back every time I am in town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del-Bar also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Del-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del-Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.