We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fields at the Wilderness

Fields at the Wilderness
511 E Adams St, Lake Delton, WI 53965
(608) 253-1400
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 24 restaurants in Lake Delton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Field's at the Wilderness is truly the gem of the Midwest. The 36-foot ceilings, fireplaces, indoor water features and exposition kitchen should not be missed.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food is very good and the price is reasonable for this type of restaurant. Not really a family place but more of a fancy steak-house.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    89
    35
    17
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A special preThanksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We always enjoy a celebration at Field's. The food and service are the best in the Dells. The quiet is such a nice reprieve from a busy waterpark. The menu is varied, and all the selections are well done.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellent food but spendy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved the food and service. The staff were right on the spot to take care of you. The food was great the prime rib was perfect. Only down fall the prime rib was about 30 a plate. but so great! Old saying you get what you pay for!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Grizzley Gristle”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We've been to the Dells several times and decided to try Fields due to the coupon that we received with our hotel package - we thought it would be comparable to the Del-bar where we usually eat at least once a visit, but boy were we wrong. We went on a Sunday evening around 6:00pm and were seated promptly in a nice booth. The waitstaff was immediately attentive for our drink orders which were excellent. My husband ordered the steak soup to start as well as a wedge salad and the Porterhouse for his entree. I ordered the spinach salad and the shrimp scampi for my entree. The waiter brought the salads first, along with my husband's soup. Within 2-3 minutes the waiter brought out our entrees and placed them on the table even though we had barely started with the soup and salads. My husband's steak was difficult to eat due to the amount of gristle, he is a steak lover, but to him this was the worst ever. My shrimp scampi was actually more like a shrimp De jonghe, the shrimp were large and breaded on one side and over a bed of dry linguine noodles with a side dipping cup of butter on the plate, there was minimal flavor to say the least. Fine dining is an event and should not be rushed, flavorless, or difficult to eat. SKIP Fields and go to the DEL-BAR instead, you will not be dissappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service in a chic setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite restaurant anywhere( not just the Dells, or Wisconsin). It has it all- service, food and atmosphere.
The waitstaff well trained, friendly and professional. Food is delicious. You have to try the lobster bisque, the hot bacon salad dressing and the twice baked potatoes. It is primarily a steak house, but seafood options are also on the menu.
The atmosphere is elegant but laid back. A Frank Lloyd Wright style of Architecture, piano bar,gives it a Frank Sinatra style feel. There is a welcoming fireplace in the lobby when you arrive. It is pricey, but well worth it for a special meal. Has a romantic feel, but have seen families with kids there as well as large multigenerational parties.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fields at the Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Fields at the Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fields at the Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.