We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fields at the Wilderness

Fields at the Wilderness
511 E Adams St, Lake Delton, WI 53965
(608) 253-1400
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fields at the Wilderness is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Lake Delton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Field's at the Wilderness is truly the gem of the Midwest. The 36-foot ceilings, fireplaces, indoor water features and exposition kitchen should not be missed.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food is very good and the price is reasonable for this type of restaurant. Not really a family place but more of a fancy steak-house.

Visited January 2013
Thank pdtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A special preThanksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We always enjoy a celebration at Field's. The food and service are the best in the Dells. The quiet is such a nice reprieve from a busy waterpark. The menu is varied, and all the selections are well done.

Visited November 2012
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“excellent food but spendy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved the food and service. The staff were right on the spot to take care of you. The food was great the prime rib was perfect. Only down fall the prime rib was about 30 a plate. but so great! Old saying you get what you pay for!

Visited March 2013
Thank rinker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grizzley Gristle”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We've been to the Dells several times and decided to try Fields due to the coupon that we received with our hotel package - we thought it would be comparable to the Del-bar where we usually eat at least once a visit, but boy were we wrong. We went on a Sunday evening around 6:00pm and were seated promptly in a nice booth. The waitstaff was immediately attentive for our drink orders which were excellent. My husband ordered the steak soup to start as well as a wedge salad and the Porterhouse for his entree. I ordered the spinach salad and the shrimp scampi for my entree. The waiter brought the salads first, along with my husband's soup. Within 2-3 minutes the waiter brought out our entrees and placed them on the table even though we had barely started with the soup and salads. My husband's steak was difficult to eat due to the amount of gristle, he is a steak lover, but to him this was the worst ever. My shrimp scampi was actually more like a shrimp De jonghe, the shrimp were large and breaded on one side and over a bed of dry linguine noodles with a side dipping cup of butter on the plate, there was minimal flavor to say the least. Fine dining is an event and should not be rushed, flavorless, or difficult to eat. SKIP Fields and go to the DEL-BAR instead, you will not be dissappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Thank LemonLimeInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service in a chic setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite restaurant anywhere( not just the Dells, or Wisconsin). It has it all- service, food and atmosphere.
The waitstaff well trained, friendly and professional. Food is delicious. You have to try the lobster bisque, the hot bacon salad dressing and the twice baked potatoes. It is primarily a steak house, but seafood options are also on the menu.
The atmosphere is elegant but laid back. A Frank Lloyd Wright style of Architecture, piano bar,gives it a Frank Sinatra style feel. There is a welcoming fireplace in the lobby when you arrive. It is pricey, but well worth it for a special meal. Has a romantic feel, but have seen families with kids there as well as large multigenerational parties.

Thank Gwenbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fields at the Wilderness also viewed


Been to Fields at the Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing