We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not sure worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fields at the Wilderness

Fields at the Wilderness
511 E Adams St, Lake Delton, WI 53965
(608) 253-1400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fields at the Wilderness is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Lake Delton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Field's at the Wilderness is truly the gem of the Midwest. The 36-foot ceilings, fireplaces, indoor water features and exposition kitchen should not be missed.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but not sure worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I ate here for a nice night out on our mini getaway. We each had one drink and a steak meal, the total was apx $140. The nice part was that a salad or soup and potato were included in the price which is not always the case at steakhouses. I ordered the 8oz filet fields style which of course is a few bucks extra but sooo worth it. Fields style means it has a topping of parmesan cheese and mushrooms that were soaked in garlic very good!!!! I got the twice baked potato which was nothing special at all. My husband asked about mashed potatoes and not only were we told they didnt have them but the waiter didnt even ask the chef if they could be made, this was a little shocking but not the end of the world. The house pino grigio is yummy!!!!! I thought I wrote it down but now I cant find it so will have to call. Service was very very good (except the small mashed potato incident). Definitely a nice romantic spot for a good meal and great service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dakota144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A local recommended three places for us to have our Anniversary dinner: Fields, Copper Oak, and Del Bar. We certainly made the right choice with Fields at the Wilderness! The atmosphere in the restaurant was great, and it was a beautiful night time view across the pond to the wilderness cottages.

The servers were wonderful, and the steak is delicious. The lobster bisque was dynomite as well! The only thing that was slightly disappointing was that no one asked if we were celebrating a special ocassion. The hostess didn't ask when we made our reservation. No one asked when we walked in all dressed up. My husband even presented me with a single stem rose, and the rose was sitting on the table all through dinner. Even then, no one asked if we were celebrating anything. I suppose we could have taken it upon ourselves to speak up, but we thought it was kind of obvious.

Anyway, this place is by far the nicest restaurant in town, and I certainly recommend it if you are celebrating something special and are willing to shell out the cash to eat here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KLS101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is most likley the most elegant resturant in the Dells area. The food is well presented by a well trained staff. Always a pleasure to dress for dinner and not feel out of place. Food is always great as are the desserts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The service was top notch, and the food was great. The food is priced reasonably for the quality of everything. We went here for our anniversary, and we both agree it is one of the best we've been to.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ericknor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big city meal in the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First class, big-city type restaurant. Elegance and quality all in this location. Meats are of the finest cut and services is as good as it gets in 5-star restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fields at the Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Fields at the Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing