We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most pleasant expierience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness

Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness
45 Hillman Road, Lake Delton, WI 53965
608-254-6665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Lake Delton
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Mosinee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Most pleasant expierience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place was simply the best! The food was excellent, but the service was out of this world. The waiter knew everything about the selections and could point us to places and tastes that were exquisit! A definate must is you are in the Wisconsin Dells area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    110
    52
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as the Monk's downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We like the ease of being seated at this location. It's kid friendly at the Wilderness location. BUT the burgers are not the same as the ones at the downtown location. My burger was just not as tasty as it usually is. We will still go to Monks just drive a little further for the better tast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for the shuttle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food and atmosphere at Monks is awesome. I had the supreme nachos. It is an app, but is really a meal!! It is a mountain of chips, meat, cheese, onions, and black olives. It is just not poured on top of the chips either. There seems to be something on every chip. Awesome pico, guac, and sour cream. I had to take it home. I have been to both locations many times. We are staying at Wilderness on the Lake and they have a shuttle to the restaurtant. I really needed it this time having 3 Purple Monkeys. Do not even try to get them to tell you what is in there. I guess I will just have to experiment myself. Thought I tasted a bit of cotton candy but that can not be correct. Will be going back there tomorrow to try to figure it out again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the best, not the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

While staying at the Wilderness, my boyfriend and I ventured to Monk's one night, hoping to have a few beers and play some darts and pool. We were hoping since it was an actual bar/restaurant, it would be open later than the bars on the actual resort. Wrong. We each ordered a drink and nachos for an appetizer. The nachos weren't the best, and they had a bit of a kick to them. My boyfriend had no complaints and liked them a lot. Shortly after 11, we started playing a game of darts, and the bartender informed us he would be closing in about 15 minutes. Perhaps since it wasn't a weekend, they don't stay open unless there is more of a crowd. It was disappointing seeing as no other places on the resort were open either, but it is what it is!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
“Food Cooked the way i like it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Ordered a burger medium rare, Cooked perfect, most places cook their burgers medium. but this burger was nice and red.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.