We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good every time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness

Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness
45 Hillman Road, Lake Delton, WI 53965
608-254-6665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 restaurants in Lake Delton
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Somerset, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good every time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great menu. Fried dill pickles?! C'mon now!? The burgers are excellent and kids loved the frisbies that your food is served on that they get to keep. We stop there each time we are in the dells.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    189
    96
    46
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wanted a fun place with good food and service to take my kids for dinner in the Dells. We were staying at Chula Vista so the downtown Monks location would have been a shorter drive, but I was a bit worried that it would be too much of a bar scene for my kids. So we drove to the location by the Wilderness. It was well worth the drive!

Our waitress was friendly and provided great service. We ordered the deluxe nachos for an appetizer and it was HUGE! We finished it off, which meant that when our burgers arrived we only ate a couple of bites and had to box them to go. Everything was delicious!

This is a great family restaurant (they ask you if you want to be seated in the bar or the dining room when you arrive). The booths are very unique in that the backs are very, very high. You feel like you have a private area to eat when you are seated.

All around great place to enjoy dinner!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food and Service Great, But Kids Meals Are Way Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The waitress we had was absolutely fantastic. The food was very good. The only complaint we had was the outrageous prices on Kids Meals. $5.99 for a hot dog and small cup of applesauce is just not right; drinks are not included in at this price. However, the great service and food made it worth the visit.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Late Night Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Since we got in town late we decided to forego dinner until after the water parks closed for the evening. So around 10:30 we headed out to locate a place to grab dinner. First, we tried Marley's, found out that they stopped serving food at 10 pm (on a Friday), and then attempted to go to Buffalo Phil's, whose doors were locked. After nearly giving up, we ended up at Monk's at the Wilderness. I have dined here before, and knew we would get some good food. When we went in we were told only the bar was open, but the kitchen also remained open until midnight. They have ice cold Spotted Cow on tap, which is great. (Spotted Cow is brewed by New Glarus and only available in Wisconsin, and is a must-try.) Both of our burgers were great, the service was warm, friendly, and fast and the prices aren't too bad for being at a resort. This restaurant is a must for a quality late-night meal, to watch virtually any sporting event, or to get an ice cold brew.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
“Best Food in the Dells!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was by far, the best food and best service we had while we were in the Dells!! We went to the "Wilderness" location. We each had something different and all of our meals were great!! Our waitress Olivia was amazing!! She was always ready to fill our "needs" without hovering and had a wonderful and fun personality. We will definitely make it our first stop when we return to the Dells! Thanks for the food and the fun!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.