We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness

Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness
45 Hillman Road, Lake Delton, WI 53965
608-254-6665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Lake Delton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

this place has good burgers and a purple monkey drink is a must. on the weekends there is live music and a great place to watch sports the menu is pricey

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    116
    54
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good food close to the water park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

You can catch a shuttle to this restaurant. The food was pretty good. The kids meals were served in a frisbee, which they thought was cool.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have a bad habit of reading the bad reviews of places on tripadvisor first. So, I was leery at first, but then noticed that some of these reviews were made at peak season, and times. My experience was great. Friendly welcome, friendly wait staff. I chose to sit in the bar area to watch some football. I had my wife and 9 year old stepdaughter with. Was it loud? Yes! But so what! It's a sports bar, and I'm loud myself! Anyway--Monk's has a great beer selection, which made me happy. We ordered fried cheese curds to share. Plenty of them to share in the full order. Next was the hard part. Choosing a burger! The waitress was very helpful, and I ended up going with the Black n Blue burger. Sensational! All our meals were great! We liked it so much, we went back again before we left for home! Will be there when we return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindoro, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sportsbar Plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stopped here on our way to an event for a quick bite. The entrance is kind of tricky at night we were a bit confused on how to exit the street. But the seating was immediate the staff friendly and plenty of game viewing from all directions in the bar area. The nacho grande appetizer was excellent by all accounts at our table. Clean, well appointed, Badger room was very nice. We would stop again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Deadsville in November”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After outlet mall shopping, a friend & I went to Monks for a burger. The place was dead but then it is off season for the Dells. Because we were 1 table out of only 4 filled, we got great service. Burger was not all that great. I ordered it medium but it came well done. The bun wasn't all that fresh. Overall the experience was just okay. With so many places to eat in the Dells, I think we will try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonksBar, Public Relations Manager at Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness, we appreciate your honest feedback of our service and food. First, I'd like to apologize for your well done burger, our Monkburgers are what built a successful bar and grill and I am sorry it was not prepared to your satisfaction. However, a thank you in also in order for your kind words on our customer service. Slow season or not, it's a great compliment to hear customers are being cared for and are having positive experiences. If you'd like, please e-mail us at info@monksbarandgrill.com and your concerns about our burgers will be passed on to owners and management so it can be addressed with our staff. Thank you again for your feedback, it is always appreciated! Have a wonderful Holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.