We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Purple Monkey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness

Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness
45 Hillman Road, Lake Delton, WI 53965
608-254-6665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 restaurants in Lake Delton
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved the Purple Monkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having a cheeseburger and Purple Monkey while in the Dells is a must.
I was seated quickly, waited on quickly an I was able to use the shutter to and from my Condo on the Lake

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    197
    104
    49
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good sportsbar atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were staying at the Kalahari and upon recommendation of a friend went to Monks for dinner. I went with my wife and 2 kids (9&14). All of us thought the food was good and reasonably priced. Kids had burgers, my wife had a wrap and I had a salad. We would probably go again but it would't be our first choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome for the second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is our second time at Monks and our second time at the Dells. Whenever we go to the Dells, this is the first place my family asks to stop to eat. It really has a terrific sport's bar atmosphere. The first thing you'll notice is the outstanding customer service: smiling faces, upbeat, and happy to assist you. Then get ready for the great food. We loved the hot pretzel appetizer - we needed two orders for our table of 2 adults and 2 teens. Then came the burgers and hot sandwiches - always delicious. The kids liked the seasoned fries, while I loved the sweet potatoe fries. Great food and great service, consistently.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmospher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We took the shuttle from Glacier Canyon to Monk's. We ate in the bar area and loved the atmosphere. Beer on tap was very reasonable and the server really knew the beers. Food was excellent. They also have a specials menu with seasonal food, check it out because it all looked very good. My husband had a burger and I had a wrap with sweet potatoes fries. Yum! Would certainly return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I went to Monks for the first time a year ago, and have been back 4 times since then. I make it a point to get to Monks whenever I'm in the Dells. I love the laid back atmosphere of this casual sports bar. Great food and tall beers. Can't beat it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill at the Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.